Spin?

I put the question mark there because I haven’t spun much at all. Remember the Fleece to Fair Isle? If you do, then you’re one step ahead of me. I have that one poor skein. And I did chart out the pattern for the main part of the sweater. Which has vague similarities to this. I say vague because mine is going to have skulls. Not like you couldn’t have figured that one out. So that’s where that stands. I’m bored with grey and I keep getting pretty colored fibers in the mail.

I belong to Hello Yarn’s club and this was the last one:
hyclub_lanternfest
Lantern Festival Corriedale. I did a 2 ply. For half of a second I thought of predrafting it all in one piece so there were long color separations but I love the mix of colors. I decided to strip and predraft and I have this fun bright mixed up yarn. I’m not sure what it’s destined to be. It’s DK-worsted and possibly will be a sweater yoke at some point.

I also belong to Abby’s fiber batt club:
July
abbyclub_bluebatts
And August
abbyclub_crazyluxbat
I know I haven’t spun them yet. I can’t decide HOW I want to spin them. Well, the blues are going to be for my Mom so I suppose I should wait to find out how she wants me to spin them. The tan just arrived and I would have done it if I hadn’t been on to trying out the Heathers I’ve been producing:
heatheryarn
Have you ever been so giddy and silly about a fiber that you start spinning without thinking. And you continue spinning feeling all giddy about the fiber and the color and the texture and the feel and the colors and and and….. And you end up with something that is underspun or overspun. Yeah, well, that’s where I am with this one. It’s a tad underspun and certainly not even. But it is pretty just the same:
heatherbattyarn_close
I keep looking at the Reid Sweater that Amy finished and thinking a heathered yarn for the Baby Boogie would be really nice in that sweater.

Luckily that is my excuse to get another batt. Yes I know I can add more twist. Like I said, this is my excuse to buy another batt from myself. I just don’t know which colorway. These are a few that I’ve been working on:
heatherbatts5
You can’t see the heatherness in them all but they are all a nice varied heather color. Of course there are more to come.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Spin?

  1. Don’t know if you’ve seen this yet?

    http://www.ravelry.com/projects/theladywyvern/skullflake

    I also saw a skull fairisle cardie somewhere recently but can’t remember where.

  2. Joni says:

    You’re always so busy, it’s not surprising that you haven’t spun as much as you planned to. I think I’d have a hard time spinning that much grey too, with all the color you have around you. Grey is a favorite with me, but not a color I actually spin much.

    Your heathered batts are killing me! Sooo pretty. For that matter, the sparkly ones too–that picture is so appealing, and I know how nice your work is. I’m determined to take more spinning time once we get home, and seriously–I’m hoping for like, 2 hours every day. (Don’t laugh!) We’ll see. ;)

  3. Jennifer says:

    Very pretty batts. I can see the heathering!

  4. Dianna says:

    I LOVE your heathered skein! Are you going to make a heather club, too????

  5. Sara says:

    The Hello Yarn skein is so freaking beautiful… I am such a sucker for barber pole type 2 ply- I just love the mixing of two different colors!

  6. Tonia says:

    Some lovely fiber pr0n you have there.

    I say go for the purple. Pueple isn’t my favorite color, but something just drawls me to it.

  7. Gina House says:

    Those batts are beautiful!!! You have such a great eye for color, Amy! And…oh, those yarns and fibers you got…mmmm….

  8. Suzie says:

    Way way beeyoutiful lantern yarn stuff (too lazy to scroll up and see real name.

    I would snorgle it. Fer sure. Tewtally. I might even forget to give it back. You better not let me–darn.

  9. I think that some of my best yarns are the ones where I just sort of let go and allowed the giddiness to take over. If nothing else, the memory of the spinning is so pleasant that I love working with the finished product! :)

  10. Amy says:

    I love that Lantern Festival yarn! That heather color will make a great Reid, go for it! Those heather-y bats are heavenly. I love the blue one on the bottom row.

  11. Arleta says:

    Ooh, that sweater would look fantastic with skulls!

  12. Lucia says:

    What’s wrong with being underspun? It’s better than being wound too tight.

    Hey, do you have any more of that pink and green stuff I bought Miss B at Fiber Frolic?

Leave a Reply

