Currently…

What’s on the needles these days?

The Mittens that I were so obsessed with a couple of weeks ago have been sitting in the bag. I was obsessed with the spinning and casting on…. and now….. I’ve dumped the exquisite handspun fair mittens for gift knitting. .

I have a couple of visiting children (my niece and nephew to be exact). They just moved from California to Rhode Island (before California they lived in Hawaii). Needless to say, they are in need of winter gear. Any knitter’s first thought might be that these kids need mittens and hats.

For Mister K:
mrk_hatmittens
I had the hat almost done previously (and I have no idea what yarn it is, there was no ball band). I didn’t think I had enough of the white for the mittens so the hand part of the mittens were done with Paton’s Sheltand Chunky.

Miss M:
missm_mittens1
She also chose Paton’s Shetland Chunky in a blue tweed. The wrists are done in Paton’s Divine. I haven’t started her hat yet, as soon as the mittens are done, I’ll get to the hat.

Hopefully before the head home I’ll get it all done, but at least now I know what’s going to fit them. I made one other mitten in the grey Paton’s because I though Mister K would rather have all grey. Nope, he liked the other set. So once I finish the grey ones, I’ll send it on with them too so their Mom can use them or they’ll have a spare.

I also have a couple of sweaters going. One, amazingly, is an old WIP. Kepler. I almost ripped it because I just couldn’t decide what to do with it. Then Mom came over and slipped on the half finished sleeve. She liked it. Thus solving my other issue of wanting to make her a sweater but not liking the original pattern I had done with the worsted Big Ball yarn of mine. So I finished that sleeve, made the second one, and started the body (twice). The original body was calculated wrong and so I had to redo it with less stitches. It’s well on it’s way now though:
wip_kepler_sleeves

The second sweater hasn’t really gotten underway yet. Technically I suppose I can’t call it a WIP. I came up with a new colorway and I wrote the pattern over the past few days. I have the yarn balled, it’s sitting in a tote with the needles, but there isn’t a single stitch on the needles:
yarn_jack
I’ll hopefully be casting on over the weekend.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Currently…

  1. Amy says:

    Those kids absolutely need warm things! I had to add Kepler to my ever expanding list of things to knit. Thanks alot :P

  2. DebbieB says:

    Love that woodland color. Can’t wait to see what you knit with it.

    You are crazy-fast with those mittens.

  3. Zonda says:

    Love the hat/mitten combo in black. Is that Paton’s divine on the lower part/cuff and hat? Love the woodland color also, is it one of your colorways?

  4. Gina House says:

    Great mittens!!! I have two sets of mittens in mind for my big/little guys and have yet to cast on. Luscious new colorway!!!

  5. PuppyMomma says:

    That new yarn color, its called Sarah right? I want to snorgle it.

  6. Tanya says:

    How sweet of you to whip something up for them. And you’ve given me some ideas with what to do with the Patons Divine and Shetland Tweed (exact same colors as yours) that I have in my stash.

  7. naomi says:

    Oooh, I like that new colorway.

  8. Jennifer says:

    What a beautiful colorway! Kepler is a sweater that never made it to my needles. I like it, but just got distracted by too many other projects.

  9. Tonia says:

    After being in both of those warm climates they will for sure need the hat and mittens.

    Glad that you have your mom sweater delema covered. That is always a nice feeling.

Leave a Reply

