Drop Fix

Every now and then I read someone’s post about how they made a small mistake in lace or a cable or in something else on a sweater and they had to rip a bazillion rows to get back to where it was. I am so not willing to do that. I only drop the stitches I have to and work back up to where I was. It’s a common technique to do it this way. It’s not as hard as it sounds. So when I found a mistake in the lace on Baby Boogie’s sweater, I thought I’d show you how I fix these things.

My mistake is a missed yarn over in the pattern repeat several rows down:
dropfix_seemistake

I drop only the stitches I need to in order to get to the mistake. As in this lace, I have to drop more because of all the patterning. I decide to drop 9 stitches which is the whole lace insertion. I drop it down and pick up my 9 stitches with a set of DP’s that are the same size as my working needles.
dropfix_dropandpickedup

This is the key part. I follow the patterning working the knit rows and then the purl rows as I would for the whole sweater. The only difference is that I’m knitting only one small insertion instead of the whole sweater. I knit back and forth in the patterning rows so I don’t get mixed up. Just make sure to use the right row of dropped yarn.
dropfix_fixing
See the mistake has been fixed and now we’re just working up to where I was before I noticed the mistake.

Here the problem is all fixed:
dropfix_allbetter
You can’t tell there was a mistake, it blends right back in with the rest of the sweater.

And now I can move on to the other mistake I noticed:
dropfix_anotherone

Fixing mistakes really is as easy as all that. Just follow your patterning of knit and purl rows back up. Hopefully in the next few days I’ll find the time to block the sweater and buy some buttons. Tomorrow I’m updating the website so until that’s done, I don’t imagine I’ll be doing much else.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Drop Fix

  1. ErickaJo says:

    This technique, above all others, makes me feel like Einstein when I’m knitting. Knitting in itself is clever, but this? This is just something else. Everyone needs this technique. Thanks for posting it :)

  2. Manise says:

    Great post! Now I think I’ll be a bit braver and drop down next time I make aa mistake instead of the time consuming ripping back and reknitting.

  3. Karen says:

    It looks so easy when *you* do it!

  4. katrin says:

    this is GREAT!
    thanks so much for sharing your technique – i wouldn’t have imagined this in my wildest dreams! i’d have to unravel *everything* down to the mistake, but see… YOU make it so easy!
    your posting will save the day next time i realize a knitting mistake “down there”! ^-^

  5. Lora says:

    ok I freaked a bit when I saw the picture of the ripped out rows!! GOOD GRACIOUS! If I ever get an “error” like that I think I’ll just drive up to see you and let you fix it because surely I’ll pass out if I see my knitting like that! LMAO! Seriously though, I’ll hold on to this post for reference for sure!

  6. corey says:

    very clever! i’m definitely going to have to try this technique in the future!!

  7. Sonya says:

    I gasped when I saw that. I would need some serious hands on help. Do you make house calls??

  8. Bridget says:

    Very tricky! I’ve done cables with a crochet hook, but I haven’t tried this yet. I will be brave next time and give it a go.

  9. Sara says:

    Hot damn… I’ve never pictured it like this before and you’ve just made the light go on over my head. It IS that easy, isn’t it??

  10. Buffie says:

    I’ve been doing this technique for years, but I don’t think I could have explained as well or as simply as you do. I was thinking, “Yes, exactly!” while I was reading this post. Great tutorial.

  11. Amy says:

    I usualy leave mistakes when I find them because I didn’t want to rip all the way back. I will have to make a swatch and play around with this technique.

  12. knitizen says:

    you actually make that look like fun! remarkable. i’m strangely looking forward to trying this.

  13. Bad Hippie says:

    Wow. I’ve never heard anyone describe doing a fix in this manner. You make it look easy…and fun.

    Scary.

  14. Suzie says:

    Love the technique, sweater and mini tutorial.

    If I hadn’t just recently ripped the front of my socks (both, since I do 2xcirc) Multiple Times, getting the rows of yarn to be used in the wrong order Multiple Times, trying to come up with new and interesting ways to make that last stitch not all smooshy so that it doesn’t snag when I redo it Multiple Times, this process might still seem scary-ish.

    I made a syncopated hat from IK with some leftovers socks yarns–and the 14 yo boy actually stole it! and is wearing it!!!! Yay me!

  15. Rachel says:

    This is genius. I have started doing this more and more, but only a couple of stitches, a couple of row back, and using crotchet hook. I don’t know why it never occurred to me that I could use a separate set of needles! I am totally going to try this (possibly tonight). Thanks so much.
    –Rachel

Leave a Reply

