Munchkins

What kid doesn’t like Munchkins. You know, those doughnut holes covered in sugar that you can get at Dunkin Donuts. They’re a real treat but so full of fat and sugar. If you stack my munchkins up along side a real munckin doughnut hole, they aren’t going to win. These are a good alternative though. As an added plus, these are good for those on the raw food diet.

recipe_munchkins

1 large Banana mashed
1/2 cup of organic Peanut Butter
1/2 cup of flax seed (ground)

Mix it all together. Refridgerate for about an hour, any longer and it dries out. If it does dry out you can add some water. Make teaspoon sized balls of the mixture

Roll the mixture in something (or not)
Rollit in finely chopped dried fruit, chocolate chips (sugar free of course), coconut shavings, nuts, etc etc. Think of what the real munchkins are rolled in and come up with the healthy alternative for it. If your balls are dry and there isn’t much sticking to it, you can dunk them in a mixture of raw honey and water to moisten. A honey glaze would be really good all by itself.

KNITTING
I finished the knitting portion of the baby’s sweater:
bb_lacycardidone
Now to block it and find buttons…

My niece and nephew that I haven’t seen in years just showed up. So I’m going to go play and I’ll tell you about the next project later.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Munchkins

  1. Amanda says:

    hmm, i’ll have to try those munchkins!
    i met you at the cummington wool and fiber festival and you taught me how to spin… and yes, i have made some usable yarn… usable!!!
    i have been lurking since then. :)

  2. naomi says:

    Those’d probably be good with almond meal. Interesting idea.

  3. Julie says:

    Oh my, you certainly don’t want your balls to be dry; unless, of course, you’re into dipping them in honey ;-) I know, I’m bad.

  4. Heather says:

    OMG!! Julie — isn’t this a family show?!?!? lmao
    anyway, Amy’s FOOD BALLS sound really good — I’ll have to try them. Anything with peanut butter. mmmmm Have fun with those kiddo’s, Amy!

  5. Weaver says:

    Have fun playing, I’m off to buy bananas for a new fun treat that doesn’t involve turning on the oven. Thanks for the recipe

  6. Those munchkins sound pretty darned good! I’ve been fooling with the flax seed and working on using it as a sub. for various oils. This sounds like a very decadent way to enjoy the flax!

  7. Amy says:

    We used to make Moon Balls with powdered milk, peanut butter and honey. They were supper yummy! Yours sound very similar. I might have to give them a go :D

  8. Arleta says:

    Those munchkins look pretty yummy to me! Cute sweater. Have fun!

  9. Lady Sqrl says:

    **If your balls are dry and there isn’t much sticking to it, you can dunk them in a mixture of raw honey and water to moisten.**

    how does J. feel about this?

  10. Schrodinger says:

    The munchkins look (and sound) quite yummy.

  11. carrie says:

    That’s a very pretty baby sweater! Do you block the sleeves by putting anything in them? I have to block one, and I’m thinking of sliding a hanger in each sleeve….

  12. Chesley says:

    You finished the sweater already!?!? I love it. But now I feel like I need to move some of my WIPs along.

  13. Gina House says:

    Beautiful sweater…..and my favorite color…oh, I’m so in love!

Leave a Reply

