Stash Enhancing

I know what you’re thinking. What enhancing do I need? And I know some of you are giggling. It’s ok. I can take it.

I have a lot of nice yarn and not too much yarn that doesn’t get felty if it mistakenly gets tossed in the wash. Superwash just doesn’t cut it in the HOT wash and HOT dry. It’s ok for socks, they seem to bounce back. But when you do a sweater, it seems to make it mis-shaped just enough to not fit kids growing at the speed of light. For some reason I really want to knit little kid sweaters. Projects for me and anyone else have been cast aside. I want to knit for kids.

I found this Ella Rae Amity stuff in red and blue colorways:
stash_ellaraeamnityellaraestash

It’s strange. I have a hard time picking out variegated colors from someone else. Particularly from a company that ALL the variegateds colors are so strictly done. From ball to ball they’re likely to be just the same. Weird. Still, I was able to be relatively satisfied with these 2 colors.

I picked up a bunch of Sirdar Denim Tweed DK too. Some of it is already being used on a sweater. I have another bunch to make a striped sweater:
stash_sirdartweed

While we’re talking about stripes… I figured I’d chance another Cascade 220 superwash sweater:
cascadestripeysweater
The only new color is the blue, I had the brown in my stash already.

But while I was out with the Boogie Baby I had to get one more bunch for a sweater. She had on a really cute dress and it looked so good on her. I had to get the colors so I can design a fair isle.
encorepeachlovesweater

I’m going to also do a test with the Superwash DK I’m carrying.
sdk_dora
I want to see what it will withstand. I’ve made socks with it and cold washed, I just haven’t washed it in HOT yet. I’ll report back on what I find.

I hesitated to call of this stash enhancing because I have plans to make all these sweaters. Well, I bought 2 sweaters worth at a time…3 times. After the first time I almost put it all in “projects”. But with as many as I have now, I think I’m stuck putting it into stash. Hopefully I’ll be getting to it all soon. With fast growing kids, I don’t have too much of a leeway in the amounts. I did get extra but not too much extra. I need to get it all done within one year or run the risk of needing to find more yarn. I’m working down the body of the first sweater, it’s about time to pick out the next one.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Stash Enhancing

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Stash enhancing for kid size sweaters isn’t really stash enhancing. Its more like a stash ‘fluff-up’. No real guilt to be had.

  2. Joni says:

    Of all your newly acquired lovely yarns, I still think the skein of your own yarn is the prettiest. ;) I understand the urge to acquire other yarn though. And kid-sweaters are so much fun. It seems like a lot of knitting, with all the yarn put together, but kids’ stuff doesn’t take more than a few days does it? (Okay, a week because you work a lot)

  3. Sara says:

    Oh, you have totally made me want to start a sweater in brown and white…

    Your DK is so freaking pretty… I just want to roll in it!

  4. Can you ever have enough yarn, really? It’s an investment in future projects. Investments are a good thing. Responsible, even!

  5. Tonia says:

    You can never have enough yarn. ;) I love kid sized sweaters. They are a much quicker knit for sure.

  6. Heather says:

    I can’t wait to see Baby Boogie’s fair isle in those colors. It is going to be great!

  7. Weaver says:

    even though its too hot to sit without a fan blowing on me, I’ve been thinking sweaters too. and I knit a fingerless mitt at the Brewers Stitch and Pitch game the other day. Bring on the wool! and a fan, of course :)

  8. Amy says:

    They are all fantastic! I am trying to be good about stash enhancement right now, but that cascade looks so very yummy!

  9. Sonya says:

    Who are we to say you have too much yarn???? At times I think you can never have too much yarn. I think I just might go to the LYS and buy some for myself.

  10. Gina House says:

    I’m definitely giggling and even GASPING! You need YARN???? Ahhh! LOL! But, I know what you mean. That Cascade superwash is great and can’t wait to see what you make out of that lovely DK. Nice stash enhancement!

Leave a Reply

