Thursday

Thank you everyone for playing along in my contest. Most of you thought I had enough restraint to wait until Saturday to cast on. Saturday is a work day for me and I don’t think I knit at all on Saturday I was so tired. There were a few of though that did guess the right day. Thursday.

There weren’t that many of you so I put all the names in a bowl and let the Boogie Baby choose.
contest_namepick
I love that look on her face. It’s like she knows she’s picking the name for something good. And as for that blanket – yes, she almost always has it with her, and wrapped around her even in this 90F weather. uck.

This was the handoff, sort of:
contesthandoff
She decided that since she picked the name, she got to keep it. So I read the name off and let her keep it.

Joni won! It’s a good worsted weight Merino that could make some plush soakers. Congrats lady!

The Mitten:
mitonesivenos_start2
It’s a fun pattern and I really like how it looks. The only thing that irks me is that the cuff is so loose. It’s in the pattern that the cuff is 2 stitches wider than the hand. Normally I tuck the mitten under my sweater, I suppose with these I’ll be putting the mittens on top.

You would think I’d have more done on the mittens. I would have knit more if I hadn’t gotten distracted with the baby sweater or the baby herself.
bb_sweaterlace

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Thursday

  1. Joni says:

    The mitten is sooo pretty! That’s the kind of project I’d wake myself up in the middle of the night thinking about because I couldn’t wait to get up in the morning and see it in my hands again. I’m amazed that I won (thank you!) but I just knew you’d get it on the needles right away. ;)

  2. Heather says:

    Man, I was sooo close — but I knew you couldn’t resist! And heck, with mittens that great, who could blame you. The Baby Boogie is so cute with her blanket, too!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous mitten! I can’t remember what I said, but I knew you wouldn’t wait until the weekend. :-)

  4. Lynne E. says:

    Boogie Baby is simply too cute for words! Thanks for posting the picture.

  5. Beth S. says:

    Those mittens are going to be fantastic! :-)

  6. Roo says:

    OOOH I do heart those mittens! Maybe if I’m really good to my hands I can knit in the fall… *hoping hoping*

  7. Tonia says:

    Love the look on her face. Priceless. =)

    The mitten is very pretty. Love the pattern and the colors.

  8. Gina House says:

    Oh, man! I’m sick for a few days and I miss THREE posts! I LOVE the red sweater. I LOVE the mitten…oh, the mitten with your handspun. It’s fantastic! And the baby sweater is precious! I just want to squeeze Baby Boogie’s cheeks!

    BTW, I was so impressed with your sweater pattern in the new Knit Simple. It is so simple, but elegant. The sleeves are just the kind I like. I actually do have 2 skeins of the Elaine in my stash, but 2 will NOT fit over the boobs. Maybe I can find one or two more….. Hugs!

  9. Chesley says:

    Thursday – always a good day for knitting. =-)

    Love the mittens!

    ps- I need more yarn. Big surprise, hun?

  10. Ella says:

    a) I want your mitten. For whatever reason, I’m now color-work obsessed. It’s all I can do to finish a project and not start on my knee sock project…

    b) the baby is losing her baby face. Crazy. They grow up too quickly.

  11. Melissa says:

    Love the mitten, I would think you would want to pull them over top your sweater cuffs to show them off! they look great. that is a great baby sweater too, what pattern is it? the mittens too? Do tell.

Leave a Reply

