Beanssssss

The last time I posted a recipe it was for Tacos. Mmm Tacos. To go with them yu need refried beans. I started with 1 pound of Black beans. You can get the canned one but I like to cook mine because I can add a few spices in while cooking. Like cilantro and garlic.

Refried Black Beans.
1 lb of cooked beans.
peanut, vegetable or corn oil
garlic
Cilantro
Salt and Pepper
Cayenne Pepper

Heat up a frying pan (I use a flat bottom Wok style pan) add in about 1/4 cup of oil. Mash 3/4 of your beans (I blended mine). Into the hot oil add all your beans and spices. Mix it up and fry fry fry – that’s why they’re called refried. Continue cooking until it’s a nice pasty consistency. Serve hot.

I wish I had a photo for you but we ate it all.

FIBER TALK:
Knitting:

I can’t talk about knitting. I don’t want to give anything away. Did I start my Mittens or did I work on the kids sweater all weekend? You have the rest of today to comment on when or if you think I started my Mittens and get a chance at winning the handspun yarn.

Spinning:
I didn’t do much more than predraft the Hello Yarn Fiber club:
lanternfesticalpredraft
This is destined to be part of a sweater for Baby Boogie.

Why haven’t I been getting much done?
I’ve been spending lots of time on the shop. Which, by the way, there is a group of us getting together on Saturday August 4th. Not an organized group, just been chatting about it. So people are bringing their wheels and we’ll have a potluck supper. The expansion isn’t done, so we’ll be doing this group event in September to celebrate the shop biggening. Here’s where I am on it now:
shopbiggening1
By this Saturday the shelves and floor will all be painted and we’ll have a space to set up inside in case it rains. Plus I should have most of the stock of undyed fiber all in place. The space is larger than it looks here.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Beanssssss

  1. Larger than it looks? It looks huge!

  2. Weaver says:

    oh, I wanna be there soooo bad!! The husband won’t mind if I run over for a bit, right? Why, why, why isn’t Wisconsin closer to you? :) Guess I’ll just have to wait patiently for October (I’m totally bringing an empty suitcase so I have plenty of room for the return trip)

  3. Jennifer says:

    The Hello Yarn Fiber is gorgeous!

    The space is larger? It already looks quite spacious. Your store is going to look fantastic!

  4. PuppyMomma says:

    Why does it look like you got more fiber than me! I want more fiber! I want more room! I want more baby boogie! I want! I want! I want!

    (sorry, 3 days so far of 4 kids under the age of 10….)

  5. margene says:

    Your studio/shop looks so fabulous and roomy. I love Adrien’s fiber but could only handle one club. She (and you) do such great work!

  6. Monika says:

    I think you started the mitts this weekend. ;o)Although I can’t imagine how you do it. You’ve got so much on your plate! By the way, I’ve nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award. if you have a minute come over and see for yourself. ;o)

  7. Suzie says:

    Wait. What’s the contest? I guess 42!

    Love redbird–make me one?

    Way way way beautiful shop-iness–and again you make me wish I didn’t live in the most perfect place in the united states so’s I could be a bother, um, visit, you regularly…..

    (seriously, if I understand even a little bit, I don’t think you’ve cast on….)

  8. Heather says:

    mmmm…yummy bean recipe.
    And why oh why do I have to have a trillion things to do on the 4th??? I’m not even heading to Maine that day with the rest of my fam, since I have too much to do. Darn it, darn it, darn it.

  9. Tonia says:

    Love me some refied beans.

  10. Shanidy says:

    I vote for started the mittens. I let a project rest on the needles! I can never wait to start.

  11. DebbieB says:

    Ooooooo – look at all the room you have! How exciting – I love moving into new open space.

  12. i say you did cast on the mittens, on saturday.

  13. Dianna says:

    Wow has that space ever changed! You guys have done a lot of work to clear it out so much. Can’t wait to see the space when all is done…..what colors are you using in there? (Since you live, eat and breathe color, I am assuming there will be cool color in there somewhere!)

  14. Ella says:

    OMG! I can’t believe how much you’ve done to the space…it’s a miracle that you’ve updated the blog. Hopefully Tony and I can visit in the fall and see the new shop space in person!

  15. You can tally me in for a Digg. Thanks for posting this on your website!

Leave a Reply

