Red Bird Grounded.

redbird_done
Red Bird is done. Red Bird is going to be set in a box and wait until Baby Boogie fits in it. That’s right, Baby Boogie. It was supposed to be a sweater for the big girl but she’s decided she doesn’t like it. I knew this would happen.

Many times I swear I won’t knit her a sweater and then she begs and I give in. This time I thought I was being smart. She picked out the patterns, she tried it on at every step. I stay up late to put it together. Instead of being excited to have something new to wear, I hear “I don’t like it”. The only reason I’m remotely ok with it is that the little one will be able to wear it. I tell you, it certainly makes me not want to knit her a sweater again. At least not until she begs and I feel bad because Baby Boogie has gotten more sweaters. Stay tuned for the next saga. I truly am a sap.

I also decided that I need to finally cast one for a sweater for my soon to be new Niece.
babysweater_rmk
I’m using some Sirdar Denim Tweed I picked up at The Knitting Experience. The pattern is a lacy top down sweater from a book by Mary Rich Goodwin. I also picked up yarn to make Boogie Baby a sweater. I know she’ll wear it so I’ll cast on for hers soon.

I ripped a few things. I have a lot of WIP’s. If you’ve ever looked at my Ravelry notebook, you know. I’m ok with the amount, but there are times when I need to get real and realize why some are sitting there. Some I just don’t love anymore. There are just things that you get knitting and you don’t enjoy it. Why continue if you don’t enjoy or you know the end product won’t please you. My Mom’s sweater is one of those things.
momssweater_rippit
I’m not a big fan of garter and this one uses garter bands. I can’t finish this sweater and be happy with it. I only had half a sleeve done, it’s been ripped.

I have a contest for you
Do you want to win some handspun? Handpsun Merino?
yarn_forecast_b
A couple of you thought I was going to cast on for the Mitones Ivenos by the end of the week. I think some of you thought I wouldn’t make it to the end of Wednesday without casting on. Did I? You have through Monday to give me your guess. Comment here letting me know if I cast on or will cast on: Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Later.

All the people that guess the right answer will be have a chance to win the yarn. I’ll randomly select the winner and announce it Tuesday. That is of course unless only one person guesses right, then that will make it even easier. Guess away!

This entry was posted in family, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Red Bird Grounded.

  1. Bethe says:

    Well, since you did some ripping, I do think you cast on. I’ll guess Thursday.

  2. corey says:

    hmmm… i’m gonna guess that you made it until…. Friday!

  3. Weaver says:

    sorry to hear of the sweater woes, but glad that there is boogie baby to wear it. Maybe this it the week of the frog, cause I frogged a pair of socks, a pair of arm warmers and a moebius scarf this week. It actually felt good to get rid of them. the baby sweater looks lovely already.

  4. weaverknits says:

    Sunday. It will be Sunday.

  5. Elizabeth says:

    Thursday. Thursday is the day for new things because it is almost the weekend so you can fool yourself into thinking you made it through a whole week. At least, I can…!

  6. Heather says:

    That sweater is gorgeous! Woud it fit an eight year old? I’d be ok with her tryin it out for ya until Baby Boogie can wear it — in the name of knitting research, of course. lol
    I’m gonna guess a Wed. cast-on. when the moment grabs ya, it is hard to resist.
    (Did you get my e-mail the other day?)

  7. Annalea says:

    I love going through the old WIP pile and frogging things I no longer love. So cathartic.

    I’m guessing you’re casting on for the mittens on Sunday. Your mitten post had a lot of self-control in it. ;o)

    That’s a cute sweater . . . even if your dd doesn’t like it! Maybe she just needs some design training so she’ll like what she picks out. :o)

  8. Chante says:

    I don’t think you’ve casted on yet so I’m going to say Saturday.

    BTW, I love my itty bitty surprise. It’s on my knitting tote as we speak.

  9. Cheryl says:

    Well, it’s a good thing you have the baby, waiting for all these unloved knits! Kids are so weird about clothes. Things fall in and out of favor so quickly.

    Anyway, I’m guessing Friday.

  10. TheBon says:

    I’m going to guess Saturday.

  11. Rachel says:

    I think you cast on right after you finished the Red Bird sweater. So early Fri morning.

  12. Joni says:

    Ha ha ha! Awesome contest. I’m going to guess Thursday. ;)

  13. Milly says:

    I’m going to guess Friday.
    I love the sweater.

  14. DebbieB says:

    I think you cast on already.

    I would totally wear that sweater – it’s cute!

    And I’m with you – I’m not a garter fan.

  15. Ella says:

    Hmmm, I’m guessing Friday…

  16. Che' says:

    Dont you just LOVE how very female kids are! Gosh that is just incredible that shirt! As always fantastic work!

  17. Christa Z. says:

    Rotten kids, reminds me of myself ;^)
    Casting on in t-minus saturday minutes…just guessing.

  18. del says:

    I can’t believe she didn’t love that sweater, it’s perfect. Ah well…at least you can pass it on.

  19. Barb says:

    The sweater is gorgeous. She doesn’t know what she is missing.

    I think you will cast on Saturday:-) I don’t know why. I just think Saturday. Besides….Saturday is a good day to cast on. I have to work so I won’t be casting on anything.

  20. Brenda says:

    That sweater for your daughter is so cute! She’s crazy to not want to wear it. I hope she has a change of heart. Or you can save it and give it to her daughter some day….

    My guess is that you cast on Thursday and that you’re chugging away.

  21. Josiane says:

    Wow, Boogie Girl really is a difficult kid to knit for!
    Let’s see… I’d say Saturday is the day you will cast on.

  22. Dianna says:

    Ahhhh…. the life as a mother of a female type child! My sympathies! It gets worse before it gets better!

  23. annaberry says:

    Knowing you, you cast on and frogged part of one mitten already. You’ll start again on Sunday. :)

  24. amysbabies says:

    Why do they always do that! My son was head over heals in love with some yarn I was spinning last fall. Just happened to also be the most expensive blend I had spun up to that point. He BEGGED for a hat made from it, he wore it once and refused to ever wear it again! After some ranting and raving about how I had squeezed in time on Thanksgiving in between all the cooking and cleaning to knit it for him, I finaly gave up and gave it to his sister.

    And I guess Friday!

  25. Oh, I think you’ll cast on. But probably not until Monday. Isn’t it supposed to cool down a bit by then? Please, please, please let it cool down a bit by then!!

  26. Beth says:

    I’ve been in a casting-on mood lately too. Let’s say you lasted until Thursday before you gave in. :)

  27. Zonda says:

    Love the sweater, especially the color! I’m guessing Friday ;)

  28. Gigi says:

    The red sweater is lovely. Any chance she will change her mind?

    I’m going to guess Saturday. I think you held out during the week but caved today.

  29. Wendy says:

    Going with Friday, to have something to knit on the weekend.

    I’ve had good luck (so far) with the kiddoes wearing the handknits that they picked out everything for. DS is in the queue this year and he wants a sweater out of the same yarn I used for my Girl Scout cardigan, a new Wallaby. So I’m lucky; I’ve done this sweater twice before, he wore his old one, even though it was scratchy yarn and this won’t be and it’s bulky yarn, i.e. an even quicker knit. Now to find the budget to order from Knitpicks (and get free shipping). I really need that sock needle set…

  30. Tonia says:

    Well I can’t believe that she didn’t like it. What is wrong with that girl?

    I am going to say you cast on Wednesday.

  31. Julie says:

    Let’s see, you finished one; you frogged one; I’m guessing you already cast on. I’ll say you managed to wait until Thursday :)

  32. Rachel says:

    wow–that sweater is really nice…glad you have a back up for someone wearing it!

    It sounds like startitis is going around blogland (me included a couple weeks ago) so I’m going to say you started on Thursday.

    Great blog–though I’ve never commented, I’ve been here awhile and love reading your adventures and seeing your recipes!

  33. Glyn says:

    I’m going to guess that you cast on Saturday, so you could work all weekend on it. =)

  34. Jennifer says:

    I say Friday.

    She doesn’t like it? Oh, that’s frustrating. It is a lovely sweater, and Baby Boogie will get some wear out of it in a few years I’m sure.

  35. Manise says:

    You called this prediction of the Red Bird right on when you started it. Girls can be sooo fickle. Baby boogie will love it and elder Boogie will be jealous having forgotten she relinquished it.

  36. I have a daughter who is just as fickle. The boys, though, love anything I make them. She will probably love that sweater when you tell her it is for the baby. I am going to guess casting on Saturday because it is the first day of the weekend.

  37. I think that you were too damn busy working on that beautiful store to cast on last week. You were planning to cast on Sunday, but it was just too beautiful outside so you had to go frolic. Finally in the late hours of Sunday evening, with the weather cooling and children snoozing, you cast on. Do I get extra points for the weather detail? A friend of mine was visiting someone in Lewiston, Maine yesterday so I had the inside scoop in terms of weather. Sneaky, huh?

  38. Lisa says:

    Hmmm… I’m going against most of the other guesses and saying that you haven’t cast on yet for the mittens.

    By the way – love the newest fiber club colorway!

Leave a Reply

