I'm alive!

At least I think so.

Phew. I’ve either been working in the shop or I’ve been working on the club and wholesale orders. I feel like I should be working at warp speed. Yesterday I went to the dentist. This is significant because it was the middle of the day and I got to sit, nay lay! If she hadn’t been chopping the heck out of my gums I would have fallen asleep.

So, because I’m scattered and I can’t seem to come up with a coherent theme for a blog post, I’m going to post one little picture and then I need to label the rest of the club before the shop opens.
mitonesivenos-yarn

Way back in 2004 or 5 I posted that I got Andean knits and that I had dyed some BFL to make the mittens in it. Well, there they sat in a little box in the closet. Until one day last week. Something possessed me. I wanted to make some fair isle mittens (yes I think it was a hot day) but the ones I were working on didn’t cut it. I ripped them out and thought, and thought and thought. Then I remembered these. I spun and plied all the yarn, wash and set it all in one day, and then they’ve sat since.

I’ve been wrestling with myself over finishing projects. You know that’s not like me. I work hard and I should knit what I damn well please thank you very much. But I really want to get a few things done. We’ll see how long I hold out and if I actually finish anything before I cave and have to have these mittens. Mittens in July….

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I'm alive!

  1. Heather says:

    Those mittens are going to be fantastic — I love the choice of the pink. Got my club yesterday — great colors! Laid in bed last night trying to think of just what it wants to be. Guess what! I’m typing from my studio! I have a itty bitty propostion for ya, too — I’ll e-mail…

  2. Adrian says:

    They are going to be beautiful! Absolutely gorgeous.

    And yeah, you should know what you damn well please. That’s why the Tomten is hidden under a mound of other stuff in my knitting basket where I can ignore it.

  3. anj says:

    WOW. those will be gorgeous. I can see why it is hard to resist.

    Sending hugs!

  4. Julie says:

    I’m guessing they’re on your needles by week’s end :-)

  5. Tanya says:

    They pattern and the yarn is WAY too awesome to leave sitting in a box. Get thee to casting on.

  6. Jennifer says:

    Knitting mittens in July means warm and stylish hands come winter. I say go for it.

  7. Gina House says:

    I’m so glad you’re alive!!! (hug)

    And I am very excited that you’ll be knitting those mittens. Your handspun is really beautiful! All in one day, huh? You workaholic you!

    I love the colors you picked! I was actually thinking of starting hats and mittens very soon, too.

  8. Annalea says:

    Those are such pretty mittens; and the yarn is gorgeous. One of these days I’m going to have to break down and try some BFL. I’m afraid, though, that it’s going to ruin me on other wool forever . . . ;o)

    Glad to see that you’re alive!

  9. Monika says:

    Uuh, those mittens look fantastic. I hope you’ll find time to do all the knitting you like to do!

  10. Beth S. says:

    Summer is the best time to knit mittens! Get ’em done before you actually need ’em. :-)

  11. elizabeth says:

    Mittens in July are no more crazy than wool socks and you don’t see sock knitters slowing down their production just because it’s summertime! Love the colors, can’t wait to see what you do with them.

    btw – I was feeling really stressed about my ufos until I stumbled across someone’s Ravelry project list and they had like, four times the number of ufos that I do! Made me feel so much better.

  12. amysbabies says:

    those will be great lookin’ mittens!

  13. Ooh, those mittens will be gorgeous! I’ve wanted to learn how to knit mittens for a while, and they look like they’d be a fairly good way to learn Fair Isle.

    I hope your mouth isn’t hurting too badly!

  14. Doreen says:

    Mittens in July! Why you are right up there with the fashionistas putting the fall/winter wardrobes in the stores as we speak!! It’s 95 degrees – I think I’ll go try on some wool skirts and sweaters! Can’t wait to see how the mittens turn out!

  15. Joni says:

    Oh, this is a perfect time to knit mittens! On one hand (bad pun, I know) I’d be happy for you to see some FO’s ’cause I know how good that feels. On the other hand though…handspun mittens that you loved enough to spin up all in one day? I don’t know how long I’d be able to hold out.

  16. Lucia says:

    What gorgeous mittens! I am still way, way behind on my duty knitting — gotta plow through it so I can knit for me again.

  17. Rebekah says:

    those are such cool mittens! What is the pattern from?

  18. Mary-Heather says:

    Eegads, chopping at my gums? ACK! My back has this chill running up and down, it’s fascinating.

    Your mittens are going to be drop dead gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

