Sprout

sprout3
I finished the pattern.
You can get it HERE

I’m in love with the buttons I used:
sproutbuttonbead
I have a ton of painted wooden beads with no home. I’m going to make them all into buttons now.

I was going to start another shorti cardi and then I remembered that the Boogie Girl has a Birthday next weekend. I decided to covertly ask her about some designs I’m working on “wink wink”. She played along for a while and then she flat out said if you’re making it for me then I want a lacy pullover in bright red.

The jig was up. I pulled out the Barbara Walker books and we picked out a lacy design for the cuffs and the hem of the body. It’s not just lacy but it’s scalloped. And the sleeves will be bell sleeves. She likes this idea so she can run around like a big red lacy bird. I don’t know where she gets her ideas, but a big lacy red bird is what she wants to be.
wip_redbird

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Sprout

  1. Heather says:

    O.M.G. she is too funny — and smart!! Can’t wait to see what you come up with. Sounds like somthign my Baby girl would love. She and the boy took a couple hideous old fun fur scarved I crocheted (yes, I admit) and used them as bird wings, running all over the yard. Thanks for the cardi pattern! I can’t wait to cast it on!

  2. Weaver says:

    then a big lacy red bird she should be! I can’t wait to see it!

    I forgot to mention it yesterday but the cardi in great. I think I may have to pretend like I don’t have any other projects already in progress and give this a go :)

  3. Weaver says:

    ok, I didn’t look at the pattern until after I commented so now I have to add…

    Big sizes?!?!?! I knew I loved you! Thank you for not making me to think hard!! (cause we now that isn’t easy for me ;) )

    Now I’m totally going to make a cardi just for me!

  4. Bron says:

    I LOVE Sprout – those cable accents are great. I’m trying to decide if I could pull off a cropped cardi. Hmmmm…I don’t care – I’m off to print out the pattern. ::grin:::

    A big, red, lacy bird – too darling. :)

  5. Cheryl says:

    I wouldn’t mind being a big lacy red bird either.

  6. anj says:

    well she flits around enough. As long as she loves it you are good to go right?

  7. Julie says:

    Doesn’t every little girl need to be a big red lacy bird?

    Love the cardi! Guess I’m adding another item to the to-knit list :)

  8. Jennifer says:

    I think a big, red, lacy bird would be a fantastic thing to be!

    I like Sprout! Very cute. The buttons are awesome! Great idea.

  9. Marlena says:

    LOVE Sprout! It’s going right on my todo list, it’s just what my wardrobe needs.

  10. Manise says:

    Love sprout too- simple pretty and practical. Nice job!

    Can’t wait to see the big red lacey bird take flight!

  11. Sandy says:

    Thank you. I love it and shall make it.

    The Boogie Girl will look lovely as a red lacy bird.

  12. Lisa says:

    Thank you!!! I am printing right now :) I think this will be the perfect wear-in-San-Francisco-knit for my trip in 2 weeks!

  13. Beth S. says:

    It’s adorable. You’re right about the beads–they really are a lovely touch. And that’s just about the Best Green Ever, too. :-)

  14. Gina House says:

    Love the red lace!!! I must try some of that cotton ease. It looks so nice! I bet the birthday girl will look so sweet in it!

    And Sprout….I am really impressed. Such a great style! You rock!

  15. Amy says:

    I think that is a great way to use those beads. They look like they were made for that sweater. I can’t wait to see the lacy red bird either :D

  16. Leslie says:

    Thank you so much for the Sprout pattern. I’m going to modify it for Crystal Palace Waikiki yarn and US5 needles. It’s perfect for the amount of yarn I have! Also, your daughter is on pretty smart young lady!

  17. Maryellen says:

    You have to love a child who knows what she wants.

  18. Annalea says:

    Thanks so much for the pattern. :o) I can’t wait to make my own. I have some Nature Cotton sitting around that needs working up.

    I love the idea of your daughter’s pullover, and how kids come up with all kinds of ideas. Mine are always surprising me. (And I love that homeschooling means I get to be the one they tell them to!)

  19. Tonia says:

    Sprout looks great!!

    Isn’t it funny how kids can pick up on us trying to get info from them. They are so much smarter than people give them credit for.

    LOL About the big red bird. At least she didn’t want yellow. ;)

  20. Tanya says:

    Sprout is too cute! You are too talented for words. And where did you get that cute sheep shirt? I love it!

  21. Arleta says:

    Kids are just too smart! I love your Sprout. I should try one. I just need more time!

  22. SQRL says:

    *love* the shorti cardi, especially the cables on the raglans….

  23. Haddy says:

    I want to knit Sprout NOW! Love it! Thank you!

  24. Jessica says:

    Dooh! I wish you had been able to post some nifty way of keeping the knitting secret! I’ve passed round one of “What are you knitting, Mommy?….Yea, but what is it? Who’s it for?” I don’t remember my answers anymore…the birthday is only two weeks away and my non-child knitting hours are dwindling! I wonder who will win the next round–will I be crafty and come up with good replies or will I cave under pressure! :)

  25. DonnaC says:

    Thanks for sharing this great pattern. You had me hooked when I first made the Boogie tank, which seems to keep growing with my littest one.

  26. Faith says:

    This is so great! Mind if I link to it?

  27. schrodinger says:

    As well as knowing she’s smart, you also know she’ll be getting exactly what she wants – what fun figuring out the design together.

  28. Bad Hippie says:

    Frankly, I think being a big red lacy bird sounds like a great idea. And my birthday is next week – can you have a pullover ready for me, too? :)

    LOVE LOVE LOVE SPROUT! I can’t wait to find some yarn and go with it. Any replacement yarn ideas? I’m going to try to buy yarn at the LYS, and they don’t carry the stuff you used.

    Wow! It’s so pretty. And I bet the red pullover will be amazing, too.

  29. Karen says:

    Oh that’s going to be pretty!

    I love the beads/buttons you used on the cardi. I would have never thought of that!

  30. Christa Z. says:

    Thank you sooooo much for the really rad, and free pattern. It’s got to be the next thing on my needles.

  31. Terby says:

    Sprout is very cute! I don’t know if I can pull it off or not, but why not try – perfect for hot weather outside and cold air conditioning.

  32. Chesley says:

    I LOVE Sprout. Seriously cute and anyone could wear it and look fabulous. Thank you thank you thank you.

  33. kate says:

    Sprout is lovely. I must have it. And the big lacy red bird sweater. Too cool. Don’t you love a child’s crazy imagination? She’s a lucky girl. Of course, my son wants me to make him a tank top, he’s six. probably wouldn’t mind a little lace at this point:)

Leave a Reply

