Iced Tea or Me

Are you thinking, I’ve got to be some kind of moron to need a recipe for iced tea?
Ice tea can go beyond the simple sun tea or the ever populat, scoop and add water tea. I’m sure we all have favorite additives or favorit ways that we like to make iced tea. I’m going to post mine and I hope you comment with ideas too. Tea is one of the most refreshing ways to get fluids on a hot hot day. Plus, there is only so much water this gal can drink in a day before getting bored with it.

Old family favorite iced tea:

4Tbs instant tea
2Tbs Lemon Juice
1 Cup Sugar
2 quarts of water.
Mix it all up and serve as it is

My newest favorite
2 Tbs Good quality Green tea leaves
2 Tbs Good peppermint leaves
2 quarts of hot water
Steep for 4 hours or so at room temp or in the sun
add 1 dropper of Vanilla Creme Stevia Sweetener
Add ice and drink

Other favorites include:
Black berry leaf sun tea
Half Lemonade, Half tea
Orange flavored black tea
White tea with no flavoring or just a mild one.

Tell me yours.

Knitting news..
I finished the litte green cardi over the weekend.

I need to get the pattern sizing done and I’ll pass it along to all of you.
sprout_back
Not the most attractive photos I’ve ever had taken of myself. But I suppose it’s my fault for being excited at finishing it and telling Husbeast to take my photo in it. So he sat there and took a few photos. I guess he didn’t feel the same excitement I did. I’ll take a few photos on one of the dress forms so the details are easier to see.
sprout_front

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Iced Tea or Me

  1. Lucy says:

    Even with the non-excited pictures, it looks nice – can’t wait to see the pictures taken by someone who loves it :) Congrats!

  2. Bron says:

    Little Green Cardi is darling. :) Great color for you. As far as tea goes, I’m terribly adventurous with hot tea, but am boring with cold. (Lemon, no sugar.) Sheesh – I need to at least try some cold peppermint tea! Thanks for the inspiration….

  3. Heather says:

    oooh that is — dare I say it? — cute! love it. Can’t wait for the pattern. I bought some fresh lemons and a new CALMING herbal tea that I’m going to try to make some iced tea with. With Splenda — trying to cut down on the whole jittery thing, so I don’t think pure sugar would be such a great idea, hmm?

  4. Bad Hippie says:

    Cute, cute, cute!

    The cardi, not the tea recipe!

    Very cute!

  5. susan says:

    I like using loose Rooibos for iced tea. It’s slightly sweet even without any sugar. And the tea shop near my office sells a peach-flavored version that’s even sweeter (and yummy).

  6. Sammi says:

    Tea-wise, I think I’m most fond right now of a big pitcher of Ginger Black – I get the tea from Adagio, and it’s so tasty. I usually don’t add any sweetener, but if I do it’s only a touch for the whole pitcher.

    Yay for mini-cardi!

  7. Maryellen says:

    I drink gallons of ice tea year round. I like the lipton cold brew bags for they’re ease of use. Before that I boiled the old bags every morning. I used to do sun tea but when I moved to the south east I discovered that it went bad sometimes before I could get it back into the house. I add some sugar and lemoen to mine. I’ve made rasberry ice tea too by throughing a rasberry bag into the boil with the regular black tea. I drink earl grey everymorning hot but I’ve never tried it iced. Perhaps that should be one of my July adventures.

  8. Jennifer says:

    I like the little green cardi! It looks like a perfect spring sweater.

    I bought an iced tea maker this year. Essentially you put the water in the machine, put a lot of ice in the carafe, and then put the tea in a coffee filter inside a steeping cup that is cradled in the carafe. When you switch the machine on, the water is heated, sent over to the cup and then drips into all the ice in the carafe. Easy peasy. I don’t add anything to my iced tea and like all kinds. Grew up in a Chinese family where it was practically blasphemy to add sugar to tea.

  9. Karen says:

    Very cute little cardi!

  10. PuppyMomma says:

    I likes it. Plus its green, so I likes it double.

    And you look skinny!

  11. Lisa says:

    Our current favorite iced tea is Adagio’s lemon tea, brewed extra strong so it doesn’t get watery with the ice cubes.

    I love the little green cardi– can’t wait to see the pattern!!!! I have some yarn that might just be perfect.

  12. marta says:

    What a cute cardi! I have always loved iced tea. I’ve never tried the Stevia sweeteners. Since I am prone to migraines, I’ve used Sucralose (aspartame is a known trigger – it certainly does it for me). It’s funny – I’ll add Splenda at a restaurant and drink tea unsweetened at home. I like using my coffee pot to brew it. I’ve had trouble with the bags falling apart or leaking and they tend to stay together more in the coffee basket.

  13. nishanna says:

    i found a recipe for a tea punch for the 4th of july, looking for something special. My husband, purely meat and potatoes kind of guy has practically mainlined it. I’ve had to make it 3 times since i found the recipe.

    4 tea bags (be creative with flavors)
    1 giant sprig of mint
    4 large lemons
    1 lg orange
    orange juice
    sugar
    ice.
    1 pretty pitcher to put it all in

    Boil water for tea, let steep with mint. brew strong put minty tea in pitcher
    add sugar to taste
    add juice from lemons, slice lemons for garnish
    add orange juice
    slice orange for garnish
    add ice

    drink!

  14. Weaver says:

    when we lived in Alabama, we had a friend who would put a packet of Kool Aid lemonade into the pitcher of her ice tea maker.

    Our regular tea of choice is The Republic of Tea’s British Breakfast, but since we have a ton of other teas I usually add a small amount of any of them just for kicks. Three scoops of the British and one scoop of Rishi’s rooibus blueberry makes for some heavenly tea! We don’t sweeten here very often but when I do feel the urge, I go for a bit of powdered Stevia

  15. I would wear the crap out of that sweater. I absolutely love it.

    And what is it about asking other people to take pictures of ourselves in our FOs? I usually end up with pictures of me a) making a weird face and b) with only half my face in it.

  16. Marnie says:

    I make my tea in the fridge. It produce a clearer tea and avoids the risk of bacteria which can be produced when tea is brewed in the sun. I think that because you boil the water first, you are probably OK, but I think you should try the refrigerator version, you might be pleasantly surprised how effective it is.

    If you are ever near a trader joes, see if they have the pomegranate white tea bags. They make a wonderful tea, that I think is great unsweetened. I also like doing 3 parts black tea to 1 part part mint tea.

    The sweater is super cute and a great length. Love it.

  17. Marnie says:

    Oh, fyi, here’s an article on the risks of sun tea
    http://www.colostate.edu/orgs/safefood/NEWSLTR/v3n2s06.html

  18. Amy says:

    love the cardi! So very cute. I have trouble getting great pictures when it is somebody else taking them. We are a plain old Luzianne iced tea family, but all of these exotic tea flavors have me very intrigued! I might have to hunt them down

  19. Tonia says:

    It looks great!

  20. I like to let several bags of chai tea brew in the fridge for several hours, if not overnight. I then do about a half ‘n half mixture with vanilla soy milk. Very, very refreshing on a hot day! And I think we’re gonna need some of the refreshing starting tomorrow. I hear it’s gonna get hot!

    Loving the sweater! I couldn’t have resisted an instant photo either. And you look great, btw!

  21. Annalea says:

    Wow. I really like the cardi, Amy. Very very cute. I don’t suppose you’d want to include a 42″ size in the pattern? {wink} I can also do math, so no worries if it’s not in the works . . . ;o)

    My favorite summertime tea is 3 parts red raspberry leaf, 1 part alfalfa leaf, 1 part comfrey leaf, and a few dashes of peppermint. Steep 1 t. mixture to each 8oz water for 15 minutes in boiled water or until good and dark in the sun. Add lemon juice to taste, or honey or whatever. (I like it with just lemon, but I’m not into sweet drinks.) Super-packed with iron, potassium & phosphorous, excellent for digestive health and great for getting rid of menstrual cramps. ;o) I’ve been told that red raspberry tastes like black tea, but since I don’t drink black tea, I can’t vouch for that.

    Have a great Monday!

  22. Maia says:

    Cute cardi! I get very mixed results when I ask the hubbinator to take pictures. Last time I got a handful of fuzzy pics. They did look good on the camera (1 inch square).

    For tea, I like to take a small handful of Hibiscus flowers and steep them in boiling water. When they are almost cool, I strain them out and sweeten to taste. This is essentially the agua fresca found in Mexican restaurants called Jamaica.

  23. jacey says:

    you’re so fancy with your tea-making. I’m more of a throw the bags in pitcher and plop it on the front porch kinda gal. My favorite right now is trader joe’s sweet and spicy. It’s so freakin’ good. It doesn’t need anything additional, not even sugar (and I like my tea sweet).

    Well, that’s not totally true, the bit about me being a lazy tea-maker. If I’m pregnant, nursing, or sick (or any of my family is sick) I’m a big homemade herbal tea concocter. Like right now i’m drinking copious amounts of red raspberry leaf, stevia leaf, and fenugreek tea. Sometimes when the boy is sick, I’ll make a tea out of whatever herbs will help him, plus stevia, then make freezer pops out of it. Big hit.

    But on a daily basis, it’s the sweet and spicy stuff.

    shew. who knew I had so much to say about iced tea?

  24. Adrian says:

    I like these little cardigans you’ve been sporting, ma’am!

    My favorite iced tea- half and half Celestial Seasonings Sweet Coconut Thai Decaf and Honey Vanilla White Chai with vanilla soy milk. The other is just plain white peony with nothing added. Almost like water, but better.

  25. Jamisyn says:

    Very cute Cardi!! Love the color.

  26. Wendy says:

    Love the sweater, can’t wait! And I blogged a picture of my new FO taken by my 8 year old in a photo emergency this weekend, so I sympathize…

  27. Gina House says:

    You look beautiful!!!!

  28. Tea Laden says:

    I am glad to see you use loose tea leaves. Yes, tea bags are convenient but the flavor you achieve from loose leaf tea is far superior to that of tea bags.
    Thanks for the recipes.

    http://www.tealaden.com

  29. Kim says:

    love love love the sweater! My fav tea is yerba mate royale tea. It gives me energy, i can make it in hot or cold water and its zero in calories!!!!

  30. Kelly says:

    ohhhh I love sprout! The colour is perfectly me!

Leave a Reply

