Crabby?

Feeling crabby? Or like eating crab?
Normally when I make crab burgers I make them without a lot of spices and then make a sauce to go with them that’s a little tangier. I always did this because of other people that are eating them, this way they get to have the amount of tang they want. Well, I’ve come to learn that no one else eats them. I’m making them how I want.
kalecrabcakes

1 Can of lump crab
6 slices of bread, crumbled up
1/4 cup of minced onion
Fresh cilantro and parsley chopped
nayonaise or mayonaise
salt and pepper
Chilli pepper powder or paste
oil for frying

Mix it all up and taste it. Add more of whatever you think you need.
Make little patties and fry them. You can also broil them if you want to avoid the oils. I don’t overdo the oils though. Really I only use enough oil in the pan to keep the patties from sticking.

The Kale – I peal the leaves off the rough spine. I then stick it in the pan that I used for the crabcakes, add a little garlic salt and pepper. I cover it and let it wilt. It makes a good side for the crabcakes.

What happened in the knitting world?
I finished this:
boxedsweaterfinished
It’s supposed to be a sweater for Knitty to go with my article. It’s blocking now and hopefully I’ll get them some pictures soon. I feel like I haven’t had much for finished projects but really, this is my 3rd sweater in one month that I’ve finished but not one has been something I can show. I did spend the rest of my weekend working on projects I can show off:

Just to make Adrian happy, I picked up Boogie-Baltic again. And I quickly proceeded to make the front of the sweater…. Only to realize that I had already knit the front before I set the sweater aside for other projects.
baltic_2fronts
A sweater probably doesn’t need two fronts. If I had 2 fronts, it would be all well and good. Trust me, I tried to figure out how to make it work with 2 fronts. It doesn’t. So I ripped and knit a back. Just to keep with the momentum, I bound off the shoulders and did the neck too.
baltic_neckdone
I also picked up the stitches for the sleeve. Then as I was going along realizing this was hot in my lap, I wondered when I would wear it….. As good as it would feel to have this off the WIP list, I wanted a sweater I could wear now.

I’m working on this green thing:
sweater_greeny
It’s being done in Gedifra Wellness from my stash (60% cotton, 40% acrylic). I’m basing this design on a t-shirt I reconstructed. It was a henley tee that just didn’t fit well. I chopped it into a small elbow length severely cropped cardi. As cute as it is, I kept wishing it were a sweater. Hopefully it will be a sweater soon. I already have a desire to make several of these for myself in different colors, strictly to use up my cotton stash of course.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Crabby?

  1. trek says:

    Hey, look, another early Monday morning poster! Love the colors in your WIP pictures – very spring/summer.

  2. Cynthia says:

    MMM..Don’t ever put kale in the garbage disposal. It is equivalent to stuffing it with fishing line. I only did that once!

  3. Heather says:

    Great knits, as always. I’ve put my Poppy sweater on hold for just the same reason. Now that I finished Wicked, I’m fighting the urge to start something new, but there are far too many UFO’s still!

  4. Amy says:

    Love the sweaters. I bow to your FO-fu, Mine are starting to pile up and make nasty faces at me.

  5. Suzie says:

    But Amy honey?
    Crab?

    Isn’t that kind of. um. not vegan?

  6. Adrian says:

    I didn’t know you could eat crab. Mmmmmmm. Crab cakes rule. I’m glad we can both eat them.

    Yay, Baltic! Can you get that neck over your head? I’d invariably knit that too tight and not be able to.

  7. Jennifer says:

    Yummy, yummy crab! And the sweaters look good too.

  8. sidherian says:

    Hey you, I love the idea of the crab cakes. I also really really like the green yarn.

  9. Bron says:

    Hmmmmm…crab…..

    Love the sweaters – such pretty colors!

  10. Corrie says:

    I went looking for canned lump crab at the store and couldn’t find it. Any suggestions or maybe alternatives?

    We REALLY want those crabcakes.

Leave a Reply

