Individual Parms

In this house we love Egglplant parm. I think husbeast likes it more than chicken parm. Since he’s a fearless carnivore, it might just be the recipe rather than the vegetarian aspect. Since I became mostly vegan I have made them in individual portions instead of a big pan with a ton of cheese. I think this works out well. Husbeast is able to have his with regular dairy based cheese and I can have mine with out any cheese at all or with a soy based version.

There is always left over and if you make it this way you can save the eggplant leftovers to make individual parms later or you can make up all the individual servings making them easier to package for lunches or freeze for later.

indeggparm

Eggplant Parmesan
1 eggplant – large big purple one
bread crumbs or flour
Garlic powder
Salt and pepper
Good Spaghetti Sauce
Spinache leaves
Mozarella cheese (cow or soy)
Vegetable oil for frying.

Slice the eggplant into 1/2 inch slices. Salt both sides of each slice and set aside for 30 minutes. This step removes the bitterness form the eggplant. Rinse the eggplants well, don’t dry. Most versions of eggplant parm wil lahveyou dipping them in egg but since this is a vegan friendly version we use the water to help adhere the flour or the bread crumbs. I choose to do one or the other, using both won’t work. I season which ever I’m using with garlic, salt and pepper.

I dredge each slice in the flour or breadcrumbs and then I fry it until it’s golden. You could broil the egglant if you are avoiding the fried stuff.

I always put a little sauce down on the baking sheet first, then a slice of cooked eggplant, sauce, spinache leaves, cheese, eggplant., sauce, cheese.

Over the past weekend and actually for the past week or so, this has been the project.
sweaterknitscene
I know it doesn’t look like much. I messed up and that’s the piece that I eventually frogged. This is a sweater for commission so it’s about all I can show right now. I’m hoping to finish this today to give it time to block and dry so I can ship it off by Thursday.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Individual Parms

  1. Love eggplant parm! I haven’t made it in a while, though. Cooking for one tends to lead to avoiding big meals. But I like the idea of making individual servings then freezing them…this could make for a good project this week!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Big eggplant parm fans here too! Yummy!

  3. Amy says:

    I love the colors you are using in that project. Sending good knitting vibes your way so you get uninterupted knitting and a swift blocking!

  4. Tonia says:

    The parms look very tasty.

    Love the colors in the sweater. Here’s hoping that Baby Boogie takes a nice long nap so you can finish and block it.

  5. Sara says:

    I haven’t had eggplant parm in years… but gosh is it good!

  6. Nonnahs says:

    OK, I’m hungry! Thanks for the eggplant parm recipe. Individual parms- what a great idea!

  7. carrie says:

    Oh my gosh, when the Will Farrell video came up, I totally wasn’t expecting it, and I was drinking coffee. =/ So hilarious! I’m going to go send it to my husband, so he can share it around the office. LOL

  8. Arleta says:

    I’ve been looking for a good eggplant recipe. mmm

  9. Gina House says:

    Love the color combination on the knitted thingie. Gray and blue go so well together. Those eggplant parms look good!

  10. Bad Hippie says:

    That eggplant looks good. Makes me hungry, even though it’s 7 a.m. Seconds, please!

  11. alexa says:

    mmm…I made the eggplant parm last night. It was a huge hit. Thanks for the great recipe!

Leave a Reply

