Tour de Fleece

I didn’t join this last year. I was knitting designs for a book and had no time to think of join up. Really, I spent from March to August of last year designing and knitting. I think I did 7 different things. I lost count after 5. It was fun and I enjoyed working for the author. I’d do it again in a heartbeat. This year, I have one more commission sweater to complete for Knitscene and then I haven’t sent in any other proposals. I plan to take a month off to work on the shop and to relax. Or relax as much as a high strung, business owner and mother of 2 is able to do.

The month of July is all about spinning. I’ll of course be spinning for the the coopworth fair isle. I’m thinking with spinning every day for 2+ weeks I should have that sweater ready to cast on. Or maybe I’m dreaming. You know I dream big so we’ll see how far it goes.

If you’re thinking you want to join up go see Star’s Blog or check it out over at Craftster. There is also a Flicker group.

Check out the guidlines(not rules) – they’re easy. Really, if it’s not easy, you know I wouldn’t have joined up. Come play along.

1. Spin every day the Tour rides, if possible. Saturday July 7th through Sunday July 29th. Days of rest: Monday, July 16th, Tuesday July 24th. (Just like the actual tour)
2. Spin something challenging Wednesday July 25th. (The last hard climbing mountain stage in the Pyrenees – Col d’Aubisque)
3. Take a button if you want one. Then we can use the button on our blogs in show of solidarity. Take it from here or grab a clean one from the flickr pool.
4. Wear yellow on Sunday July 29th to announce victory. Why not wear yellow on any day you feel particularly successful? (Yellow is the color of the race leader in the Tour – but here we are all ‘race leaders’)
5. Other colors if desired: Green (sprinter – think FAST), Polka-dot (climber – as in uphill), and white (rookie)

Now about me and my sweater
I’ve been looking at this book:
swedishsweaters
The Alice Starmore one hasn’t come in yet so my opinions may change. Right now I’m leaning towards a swedish sweater something like :
swedishsweaters_dove
I really want to do corrugated ribbing and my own design in the fair isle part, but I really like the way this one looks as a whole. It may just be that it’s all in grey so I can really see my fleeces workign well with this. I don’t know if anyone but me finds this interesting but I’m going to keep posting about it. I really like to see my indecision thought process on how some of these things come about. Often designs just pop into my head, I sketch them, I swatch and there it is. Then there are those, like this baby, that keeps working around and around in my head. They morph and change on an almost hourly basis.  Hopefully I’ll settle on something before I cast on or there will be lots of frogging.

I’ll be starting to ship Club tomorrow so I won’t be posting. Have a great weekend.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Tour de Fleece

  1. Jennifer says:

    Tour de fleece, huh? I wonder if I could keep that up. Spinning everyday I mean. Will think on it.

  2. Tonia says:

    Well now that I have a wheel and have been spinning I can join this year. I am excited to spin every day. Though it probably won’t be during the race – more like after the boy goes to bed for the night.

    Good luck with your decisions for your sweater. I have heard that Alice’s books are amazing.

  3. margene says:

    That sounds like TOO MUCH FUN! I’m in!

  4. Amy says:

    Woo hoo, glad to hear you will be joining the Tour this year! I am rediculously excited about the month of July this year

  5. Annie Driscoll says:

    I really like that sweater from the Swedish Sweaters book–I bought the book about a year ago after seeing that one pattern. It reminds me of the Faroese patterns, which I also like.

    I think it’d be perfect for natural color fleeces. Go for it!

  6. Lucia says:

    Hmm, I’ve been doing way too little spinning lately; maybe this is just what I need to restart my spinning mojo, and maybe I could persuade Miss B to be my riding buddy — oh, except she’ll be away at camp most of the time. So much for that. But I think I will sign up.

    The sweater doesn’t really speak to me, but vive la difference!

  7. Ooo la la! I will have to look into this, as I need a kick in the pants to get back to spinning.

    Also, I received the Orchard merino/tencel blend and *I LOVE IT*. I’m using it to cast on a pair of socks today for the Summer of Socks, and I can’t wait to work with it.

    Thank you so much!!

  8. Dianna says:

    Since I am a lousy finisher, I’ll stand by to cheer you on with water bottles, Amy!

  9. Cheryl says:

    Hey, I did a Tour de Fleece last year, but it was different! It was here: http://wabisabi.typepad.com/le_tour_de_fleece/

    Now it looks like I’ll have to choose. Hmmm, I do like the button selection you have . . .

  10. Thanks much for this wonderful entry.

Leave a Reply

