DIP

But not just any dip. It’s a vegan friendly dip that tastes good. I’ve had a crab and artichoke dip that I’ve made for quite some time but no vegan equivalent. Not that I minded not eating the dip, but I thought it was about time I made something that I can eat too. Since I was making the crab dip for Husbeast (a father’s day request) I thought I’d make something else to bring to the BBQ.
beandip

Spinache and Artichoke Dip

2 big handfulls of fresh spinache – chopped
1/2 can of artichoke hearts – chopped
1-4 garlic cloves – minced
1/2 cup of onion – minced
1 can Cannelini white beans
1/4 cup Nayonaise or Veganaise
1/4 cup soy milk
salt and pepper

Preheat oven to 375F

Rinse the Cannelini beans and put them in the blender with the milk and the nayonaise. Blend them up well. If it’s too thick you may need a touch more milk but you don’t want it really soupy so watch how much you put in. Set it aside.

Saute the onions and garlic in a little bit of olive oil. You want them to brown(carmelize) just a tad. Add in the spinache and the artichoke hearts. Cook until the spinache has reduced.

Mix everything together. Add salt and pepper to taste.
I sprinkled some fake parmesan on the top. My Dad likes that junk so I figured I’d add a little bit. Although it’s not necessary it does add a little texture to the top. Bake it in the oven until it’s bubbly and the top is getting color.

Let it cool a bit and eat with crackers, pita points or veggies

In the Spinning world…..
Between MA Sheep and Wool and Maine Fiber Frolic, I was able to finish my Hello Yarn Club from last month:
bfl_cricket_hyclub
300 somthing yards of a light worsted. It’s very pretty.

I chose a batt to test out the little Norwegian after the Frolic:
vineyardbattspun
I made a 2 ply sport weight. The colors of the batt were wine, sage, and brown.

In taking the pictures of these, I realized how well they stick to the fireplace. They’ve been sticking there for a while.
fireplaceyarn
I’m thinking it would be interesting to cover the fireplace all in hanks of yarn. Of course I don’t think that idea will last oo long once it’s time to be burning wood again.

Once I finished the batt I decided I needed to really get going on Cosmo again so I can start on the others. I have alot of yarn to make before I can start that sweater. The original sweater idea was for a lite Lopi style of a sweater but now that I really want to spin a finer yarn, I’m thinking more along the Alice Starmore style of fair isle. I’m going to borrow the Starmore Fair Isle book to help me tie down the pattern I want to do. Who knows, I’ll probably change my mind twenty times before I’m even finished processing the fiber. Here’s the first bobbin (2 ounces or so) of Cosmo:
ficoopworth_cosmo

And in other news – These are the new Louet flyers!:
newflyer_louet
I’ll put them up in the shop soon. Or email me if you can’t wait. I have 3 in stock now.

This entry was posted in recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to DIP

  1. Sara says:

    I adore Spinach Artichoke dip!

    The spinning is fabulous… I especially love the way the greens mix in the Hello Yarn stuff.

    Ooh… new Louet flyers? I am so tempted!

  2. Julie says:

    Love your new decorating idea :)

  3. Amy says:

    I would love to see the looks on the faces of muggles who saw the fireplace all covered in skeins! Your yarns are beautiful too, I love the green one. I can’t wait to see your natural sweater too.

  4. Tonia says:

    The spinning is beautiful!! If you covered the fireplace in the yarn I wonder how long it would take the Boogie Baby to grab it and run off with it?. ;)

  5. schrodinger says:

    That handspun looks wonderful, but up in flames around the fireplace makes my heart want to just stop – YIKES.

  6. Gina House says:

    Gorgeous handspun….so lovely! Tickled me the way your yarn is stuck on the wall like that…it looks so good. I might have to copy you and be “yarn-tistic”.

    And….do you have a dip that has neither spinach nor artichoke in it? For us fussy girls out there? : p

  7. Cass says:

    YAY vegan dip recipe! thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

