Details

Someone asked me at the show about the wheels that I own and the wheels that I buy. First, the shop wheels are not MY wheels. They belong to the shop. My wheels are mine, they belong to me. There is a reason for each one of the wheels I have. Of course I carry wheels that I like to spin on, but there is a reason why I buy certain wheels for myself (whether I buy them from myself or someone else). The reason I prefer lately to buy the old wheels, is the details. Today, I’m going to explain why I chose the little Norwegian this past weekend.

This is the picture I showed on Monday:
norwegianwheel
You can’t really tell much about it or about it’s color from that photo. So many people that came by my booth were in love with a little black Norwegian wheel that the same people were selling. I stopped by thier booth on Sunday morning before we opened to try out Blacky. Blacky was nice, and so very pretty. She was in really good shape and spun really well, but we didn’t quite get along. I felt there was a hitch in her giddy up (read: the treadling had a little plunk). I liked her well enough but I was ready to walk off without her.

My Mom was still milling around and looking at them all (read: passive enabling) so I sat down and at the next Norwegian. The color was a nice reddish tone. In case you didn’t figure out, I’m a sucker for reds and blacks. The spinning was smooth. No hitch or plunk and she was just gorgeous. For a single treadle, there really was no dead area at all. The fiber sample that was with her was just not suited for her at all. It was a slubby novelty fiber and this little Norwegian wanted to spin thin yarns. Even with the fiber that was with her, I could spin a fairly fine yarn. I think she might have still been there, because of that slubby fiber (I’m not complaining). If I had any doubt about her, I would have grabbed a finer fiber. Even without doing that, I knew with the right fiber she would sing.

She looked like a brand spanking new wheel. So so pretty. Then Esther showed me this:
norwheellk
A two bobbin lazy kate that was all attached. You can see I’m pulling out the beautifully turned wooden peg that holds in one of the bobbins.

Mine.
That little bit hit me. I had to have it. I don’t know exactly why but I just had to have it. By the way – The sellers of the wheels are Nordic Weaves in Wiscasset Maine. They pick up old wheels and make them usable again. Really quite the artform. If anyone is interested I can get you a phone number and you can visit them. They sell these beauties out of their home and at shows.

I brought her to the booth for the day. Cheryl and Teresa got to spin a bit of one of my batts on her. They both spun a nice section of fine yarn so they can attest to her beauty. Really, how it operates is first on the list of why to get a wheel. At least in my mind it is. If it’s not a joy to spin, no matter how cute it is, I probably won’t buy it. Notice I said probably, I didn’t want to make any definite announcements. It’s not happened yet, but you never know when I might be overcome with the cute.

Once I got my little wheel home, I found so many other reasons she is perfect.
norwheel_footman
The top of the footman is so pretty and the top of the wheel upright. Oh my, the construction:
norwheel_wheeluprights
Ok, this little bit where the footman connects to the treadle:
norwheel_footmanconnect
Cotton.
I’ll be getting a nice piece of leather to change that out. It works great with the cotton, I just really need it to be leather. It’s all in the little details.

There was a little orifice hook that came with it. I didn’t really care for it. It was unusual and interesting and fit in the little hole quite well. I was willing to use it until I learned that my skully orifice hook fit there too:
norwheel_skullyholder
This wheel really was made for me. Some where, many many years ago, this wheel was made for me. I’d like to know more about her history. I think I have some digging to do.

I’m not the only one that appreciates how pretty it is. Baby Boogie spent some time yesterday petting it. Which is odd, for some reason I have been wanting to name it “Pony” and here BB is petting it like it’s a little pony:
norwheelinspection
She ran her hands all over the wheel. It really was as if she was appreciating the wheel. We all know Baby Boogie likes her fiber and yarn, it’s possible she’s starting to fall for the wheels too. Or it’s possible she was checking it out for potential animal homes. Yesterday (since I don’t get to spin on the usual work day) it could be seen with a whole host of barn yard friends.
norwheel_animals

I stayed up late Monday night spinning on this one (I’ve been working late so late spinning is all I get lately). I just enjoyed the spinning so much. I finished the 3 ounces and yesterday I plied it. Then I made the executive decision to spin the remainder of Cosmo and the rest of the fleeces on her. I started making Cosmo as a worsted/Aran yarn. I wanted a thick sweater. I think I’ll end up making the rest a sport weight yarn. It will still be crazy warm and then the fair isle can be a little more intricate. Ideas are swirling….

This entry was posted in spinning, wheel review. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Details

  1. Manise says:

    Congratulations! She’s beautiful! The built in Lazy Kate is really cool!

  2. margene says:

    She is amazing! Lucky you.

  3. Heather says:

    That really is one amazing wheel. And I agree about the leather — and the name! Ride the “Pony”, baby. Baby Boogie has great taste. MUST GO SPIN NOW! lol

  4. Sara says:

    It was Esther that I bought my S-10 from at SPA… I love the idea of having a wheel that has been used before. There’s just something special about it!

    I think “Pony” would be a PERFECT name!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Oh my! What a gorgeous wheel.

  6. LaBean says:

    I’ve got a lot of nerve, but maybe “Pony” isn’t the right name for her. How about something you’d NAME a pony.. ok maybe I have too vivid an imagination. I’ll hush now. But she’s definitely made for you!!

  7. Barbara says:

    I love her she is beautiful. Best of luck with her and hopefully you can find out some of her history how cool. I would love to learn how to spin and have a wheel. Maybe sometime in the near future I can get down there and get one of the lovely wheels you sell and try to figure it out.

  8. Amy says:

    I love tools that have a great story with them. It makes them more personal and special. That wheel already has a great story and if you are able to dig up the history, I am sure it will be a great addition to the story.

  9. Tonia says:

    She is so lovely. I so love the old wheels. They have so much character. She is deffinatly made for you that is for sure.

  10. That looks so much like this sweet little Norwegian I had to sell a while back. It was made by a man in Oregon who has since passed away, and I passed it along to a new spinner who lived down there. I miss it quite a lot – it was gorgeous. Your post has made me all nostalgic for that beautiful piece of equipment. :D

  11. Tanya says:

    That wheel would have come home with me too. What a beaut! And Baby Boogie doesn’t look much like a baby anymore :( Where did the time go? I’ll bet all of that curly hair is fun to tame.

  12. Arleta says:

    Ooh, gorgeous! And isn’t Baby B. getting big? Smart girl, knows where the animals would want to live. Hehe :)

  13. Rebekah says:

    It’s just lovely. Hmmm, I have a really old antique wheel that my great-grandparents found in their home when they moved in who knows how many ions ago. My mom had it partially redone at the Amish, but not done enough to spin, it basically needs the mother of all, treadle, footman, etc. Maybe someday it could be made to spin again.

  14. Dianna says:

    So I am not the only one who left FF with a new wheel…. what fleeces did you come away with? I have to admit their wheels were gorgeous. Glad I didn’t spin on any of them.

  15. Cheryl says:

    Well, I’m sort of envious! What a great spin that was. A smooth, fast wheel made for a nice thin yarn. Nice find!

  16. Kellee says:

    Oooh. Pretty.

    Those Nordic Weaves folks almost had me last year with a FANTASTIC Lithuanian castle-style wheel that was captivatingly tall and graceful for all it’s rustic, dark beauty. As a matter of fact, if I hadn’t gone home from Cummington with a new wheel just two weeks earlier, I’m sure I’d have totally fallen down.

  17. Carissa says:

    Thanks for the wonderful review! your’s came up a google search for a review of this wheel and it was just what I was looking for :) Thank you!

Leave a Reply

