Cosmo again

My favorite Coopworth Fleece lady, Nina, was at the Cummington show. I took off for a short run through the buildings and ended up chatting with Rita the whole time I had schedule myself gone. Husbeast watched the booth but he wasn’t familiar with the fiber stuff so I don’t think he was comfortable being there for an extended amount of time by himself. I can get to talking and lose track of time….. Husbeast was a good sport to help.

I found out Nina of <a href=”http://www.ruitfarmnorth.com/”>Ruit Farm North</a> and Botinacal Shades (Who is often near me at shows) will be right next to me at Fiber Frolic. Still I stayed and talked sheep, I had to. I like Nina and I love her fleeces. My parents and I keep talking about a barn and some animals so any chance I get to talk to someone about that dream, I take it.

I finished carding up the Cosmo fleece and have one large skein of worsted weight all ready to go.
cosmobasket2

I also started to wash Dafka and will start carding after the Frolic.
dafkawashed

I’ll be picking up 2 more fleeces at the Frolic this weekend. I’m getting a tan and a light silver. I’m so looking forward to having the full 4 colors here. I know I’ve had people asking but I’m not sure if I’ve talked about it here. My “Grand” plan is to make myself a new fall jacket in natural handspun fair isle. Natural? Yes, I’m not dyeing these guys, they will be all natural. I’ve got most of the pattern worked out in my head, I just need to get the rest of the fleeces turned into pretty pretty yarns. In my spare time of course, I’ll get it done. We won’t look at the WIPs and see how many other half finished sweaters I have……

I suppose you can really tell that I’m all about the process or I’d be more concerned with finishing something. I like wearing things but when I’m not knitting for a zine of some sort or a gift, I’m knitting to make me happy. Happy means I flit around from project to project until I settle on something that I’m enjoying knitting. Sometimes it’s easy and sometimes it’s not. It all dpends on the mood.

And for those that are curious I have photos of the “triple play” batts I’m making for the frolic.
Brights:
battsbasket4
and sparkles:
battsbasket3
and obviously I like burgundy, a whole basket with burgundy as one of the colors:
battsbasket1

I hurt my arm the other day or I’d have more done. I’m hoping in the next 2 days I’ll fill up at least one more basket and maybe get some specialty blends done. I’m loving the one I made for me so I’m going to try to make some for the show.

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Cosmo again

  1. Sara says:

    Sparkle batts… *squee* And the burgundy and turquiose together is GORGEOUS. Just for curiosity, how much will you be charging for each batt?

  2. Bad Hippie says:

    Pretty! Will you be selling sparkly batts online, or spinning them to sell in the store (online, of course!)

  3. Nan says:

    Ok your talking about getting lambs. Which of the four color does the girls want I’ll call Nina and put in my order

  4. Jennifer says:

    The batts are gorgeous!

  5. Heather says:

    OK, you must hide the burgundy basket until I get there! I’m figuring around ten. I mean it. lol
    Thrilled that you will have a great fiber source RIGHT NEXT TO YOU. Two stops for the price of one for me. YAY. Funny about the sweater plans. The ones I want to card, process, and knit are all natural colors, too. And, umm, what do we do for a living again? So thrilled — forecast says 4 days of sun! I may get my wool skirted after all.

  6. janine says:

    Oooh I second the request for sparkly batts on the website.

  7. Amy says:

    A natural colored coat sounds cool! I can’t wait to see it finished. Love the batts too, those are going to be a great addition to your already beautiful booth :D

  8. Julie says:

    I think a natural color coat will be gorgeous!

  9. Nonnahs says:

    Wow, look at all that fibery goodness! The burgundy basket- I want the whole thing!

  10. Tonia says:

    Ooooo it is all so lovely. Will you be selling your colored batts on line? Do you use a drum carder to blend the colors like that??

  11. Gina House says:

    HOLY FIBER! So beautiful! I love all the “sets” of fiber you have displayed. Like candy! Hope your arm feels better!

  12. Shanidy says:

    We NEED sparkle batts! I love the color combinations that you came up with!

  13. Teresa C says:

    Wow those batts are gorgeous, and I hope I have time this weekend to see you demo the rakestraw!

    Quick question: Do you have any BFL died in the Your Majesty colorway? I got the Romney from you in Cummington, and I love it. I was thinking something softer though. If you do-I’ll see you this weekend, if you don’t, don’t worry about it, I know I can get it later……:)

  14. Okay… I’m finally getting some time to look on blogs since this school year is finally, happily, almost done…. and those batts are sooo good looking and tempting they almost make me want to learn to spin. Almost. Maybe. Really tempted. You’re just a good fiber pusher, aren’t you? Making even the goody-two-shoes think twice about the stuff. ;)
    Sue
    p.s. love the new tattoo. good stuff, chica.

  15. Zonda says:

    Beautiful fibers there! Have a great weekend at the frolic!

  16. You know I’m going to start making goo-goo eyes at you and whispering “swap” again now, don’t you?

  17. weaverknits says:

    I’ll see you tomorrow at the Frolic! I can’t wait to see the booth!!!

  18. Kellee says:

    *sigh* You’re KILLING me. Killing me, I say. Look at those batts! And me not able to go all the way to the Frolic this year. :)

Leave a Reply

