New spindles…

You saw the new rakestraw already.
rakestrawspindle_mine
Here they all are
Maple, mahogany, Bloodwood, Zebrawood, Purpleheart, Bocote
rakestraws

I’m enjoying demonstrating this spindle. I look forward to having this thing going all weekend. The other cool thing is that they each come with a velvety pouch and instructions. Plus the makers are really sweet. I almost had a booth next to them at MASW but I decided a corner was best. I usually have a few friends stopping by so having a little extra elbow room (so I don’t poke my neighbors) is a good thing. Now I know why SPA put me in the corner, it was a good call.

Then an order of Greensleeves arrived. The Pink Ivory Mjolinor makes my heart beat fast. The way the wood looks is just incredible. And so I just had to have it. Yes, I had to buy it from the shop, I couldn’t help it. I explained to Abby yesterday that me owning a fiber store is like an alcoholic owning a bar. It’s all research…..
gs_mjolinors1
I’m working on carding up some fiber to mimic the colors. Of course I’ll be spinning it on her. I have part of it done already. I’ll be plying 2 different colors and 2 different fiber blends together.
mjolinorandyellow
The yellow is BFL, Sparkle, Silk, and Mohair.

But then I have a ton of new Damsel Moniques and Ethan’s Spindles. I have enough that some might actually be left after the Frolic unlike what happened at SPA.
gs_damselethan1

Speaking of carding I’m working up tons of batts. It looks as though we may finally get some sun today so I can get photos for you. I’m planning on having several big baskets of carded “doughnuts” for the frolic.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New spindles…

  1. Lora says:

    Such pretty spindles. Those ones from Greensleeves are just beautiful! That wood just screams “I am smooth as butta baby! SPIN ME!” haha Have fun at the Fiber Frolic this weekend!

  2. Sara says:

    You’re making it very difficult for me to not spend a fortune at your booth this weekend. *lol*

  3. Kristen says:

    oh my. I should pre-write the check now, filling in all but the amount.

    Do you still need a hand on Saturday? We’re going to plan on being back late Friday night (just decided that yesterday) so I can be your right hand gal if you’re still looking for another set of hands.

  4. Manise says:

    Several big baskets of carded “doughnuts”- now I’m *really* bumming I’m going to miss out this weekend. I’m going to have to wrangle someone I know who’s going into getting me a bunch of those. Perfect for spindle spinning. I’m finishing up my last one (of 6) from Sojourn on the Turkish spindle and wished I had more to make a brightly colored scarf.

  5. Heather says:

    Hey! Great news! (for me anyway) I’ll be heading to Frolic after all! Mom is takign the kids, and if the rain ever stops, I’m going to skirt all my wool to bring to be processed, so I’ll see you there! YAY!

  6. Tonia says:

    Lovely spindles. Guess I should be happy that you are too far away for me to go this weekend. ;)

  7. Roo says:

    I have to encourage my boy to make more spindles. He’s only got about 10 or so here, and a few half done. There’s blocks of wood that are singing to me LOUDLY that just need to be spindles for ME, but we need to have some to sell for Ana.

    AND – my drum carder is on it’s waaaaaaaaaaayyyyyy and it’s MIiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiine and I need to clean off the table so I can use iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit…

  8. Amy says:

    Oh my! I adore the Greensleeves spindle on the left! The texture of the grain is mezmerizing. Have a great time Frolicking :D

  9. HOLLYEQQ says:

    God I love that Rakestraw spindle. I would love to see it in action.
    Way cool.
    Have fun at the show!
    Holly

  10. margene says:

    I just LOVE my Damsel Monique and Mjolinor spindles! Not sure I’m ready for the Rakestraw! LOL

  11. Marcy says:

    StoppitStoppitStoppit! I’m not looking at new Greensleeves. No I’m not. Nonono.

  12. OH wow…oh, wowee-wow!!! ‘Twas a Greensleeves that started me on my spindling obsession back in February. I will fight this urge with all I have. But that may not be enough. I just love ’em so much!

  13. heather says:

    mmmmm, velvety pouch.

    *snerk*

Leave a Reply

