Love love love

Lots of love going around. Love of food and love of yarn.

The recipe today is for Fiddleheads. I don’t remember seeing these EVER when I lived on the left coast. Here in New England they are a seasonal treasure. Fiddleheads are the tips of the new ferns. If you click that link you’ll get more info, a photo, and more recipes. They taste like the best asparagus you’ve ever had, except without the stinky P. Honestly, I dont’ have any other way to describe their taste. Just try them, they’re good.
My recipe is simple and can be used without the pasta. I got the idea from talking to Jennifer Moore when I saw her this past week. If you want to see what I had done you can see that here.

Simple Fiddlehead Pasta (feeds 3)
fiddleheadpasta
1 vidalia onion chopped
8-10 ounce of crimini mushrooms sliced.
olive oil for cooking
2-4 cloves of garlic
juice of one lemon
Salt and Pepper
2cups of clean fiddleheads
3 cups of pasta (I used Brown Rice Rotini Pasta)
1/2 cup feta cheese (optional for those that are Vegan)

Saute the onions with the garlic and olive oil until glassy, add in the mushrooms and cook them down as well. Toss in the fiddleheads and cover to steam for about 6-7 minutes. You want the cooked but not mushy. Pull off the heat and add in the lemon juice. Salt and Pepper to taste. **don’t add in the lemon juice early, it will change the texture of the fiddleheads.**

Stir it into your cooked pasta. Sprinkle the crumbled feta over the top just before you serve. This is a good dish hot or room temperature for a picnic. But you need to hurry, fiddleheads are only available for a short time.

The love of yarn is for Tahki new Tweed
newtweedlove
I am tempted to run out and clean off LYS shelves. Wool, Viscose and Silk. It’s a cool yarn. And I don’t just mean cool as in Fonzie is cool – I mean it’s not a hot yarn to be sitting on my lap. I need to at least make a tank top out of this stuff.

The third love is for all of you and the love of the business I’m in. I don’t even know how to express how much more fun the yarn/fiber job is than the pottery one. Don’t get me wrong, I love pottery and in many ways I miss creating it on a daily basis. What I don’t miss is the lack of interaction with others. The yarn and fiber fields just hold so much more of a social aspect. It really is quite an amazing difference. Even through the web, I feel like I’m working with so many others when pottery really is a solo experience.

Case in point to the social fiberyness is all the visitors I had on Saturday. The Manch Vegas knitters and tagalongs came up for a visit on Saturday. It was great to see old and new faces. Really, the social aspect is amazing. Thank you guys for coming up. I left my camera home but Gina had her camera blazing.

And for all of you that are in love with the Kellebrationcolorway, I have a similar one called Burning Bush.
burningbush_bfl
I dyed a ton of this for the Frolic, I also dyed up some Kellebration. There are only subtle differences between the 2 colorways so I’ll let you decide.

This entry was posted in recipes, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Love love love

  1. Bad Hippie says:

    So, what did you have done? I suspect a new tat is in the works…pony up with the pictures!

    (Nice yarn, by the way. Kitty nose! Oh, how cute! Yummy kitty socks!)

  2. Manise says:

    I want that Burning Bush but can’t make it to Fiber Frolic. Can you set aside a braid for me?

  3. Julie says:

    The fiddlehead pasta looks YUMMY!

    I had a great time on Saturday. Thanks for the help with spinnig. I went home and did a little and can see that with a little practice, I’ll finally win the battle with the spindle :)

  4. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for that great description of the fiddlehead. I saw it in the local gourmet grocery store and saw it on another blog recently. I was curious about it. Now that you have described it as “Asparagus without the P Smell” – I think I’ll give it a try. The recipe looks yummy.

  5. Faith says:

    I’ve never been able to successfully cook fiddleheads- thanks for the recipe!

  6. Lora says:

    Saturday was very enjoyable!! Maybe one day you can come down here and knit with us!

  7. casey says:

    Mmm, fiddleheads. I have some in the fridge that need to be used up. Guess what I’m making for dinner? ;) Thanks for the recipe!

    I’ve been throwing them into stir-fries, but somehow I didn’t think to toss them with pasta. Duh!

  8. Amy says:

    I love the new colorway! Some day I will make the journey to the festivals. Living in the SouthWest makes it an epic journey that must be properly prepared for (and I just used my travel allowance for quite some time)

  9. Gina House says:

    Had a fantastic time on Saturday!!! What fun!

    That dish sounds yummy…never had fiddlesticks before!

    Check out my blog for pics from our visit….

    Many hugs! (and love that Tahki yarn….much better than a super bulky wool!)

  10. Jennifer says:

    Sounds like you had a great time! The Burning Bush colorway is gorgeous!

  11. TheBon says:

    I really miss fiddleheads. Mmmm. You’re right, they just don’t have them on the left coast. My dad froze some last year so that when we came home to visit my left-coast Boy could try them. He pronounced them delicious.

  12. Tonia says:

    Ummmm food, fiber and friends – old and new. Sounds like a great weekend.

  13. Lori says:

    Oh, we have fiddlehead ferns on the left coast here in Oregon. I adore them. We even serve them at the restaurant where I work. Alas, it’s a short season!

  14. Roo says:

    *drooling* For the food, the fiber and the tatts.

    Evan’s fasting right now – I have a feeling I’ll be dashing around looking for fiddleheads this weekend.

    And I’m seriously overdue for ink. But I’m betting that’s going to have to wait until fall, cuz I just don’t see me finding time till then. (Where I want to get my next one is an hour and a half away)

  15. Arleta says:

    Love your new tat! I have a Celtic protection circle around my kids’ initials. It needs work, though.

    Mmm, fiddle head ferns. I should have got some last time I was in the woods looking for mushrooms.

  16. Hi boys! says:

    Great boysd132e2dd4788c5ae1f19983b93249bd6

Leave a Reply

