Where do I start?

I didn’t bring my camera with me to Cummington Sheep and Woolcraft Festival. It was probably a good thing, though. I would have spent all my time taking photos. So many of you that I knew and so many that I knew in name only. I love seeing all of you that I know and it was great meeting those that I didn’t know. And it was great to hear that so many more are going to come visit me at Fiber Frolic. Did I mention that I have a double space at the Frolic and there will be a whole bunch of wheels set up. At least one of each of the companies I carry. And I will have some yarn from Hello Yarn if she remembers to send it up.

I honestly don’t know how to put a fiber festival into words. Even if people didn’t buy, it’s so great to have people come up and chat about spinning and yarn and fibers. It’s incredible. I spend most of the time around the house and shop. I still talk about yarn and fiber but I think everyone else is getting tired of it. You that come to the shows, you listen and you talk about fibers and yarns too. It’s nice. So don’t think you have to shop if you are coming by my booth, but you do need to talk about fibers and yarns to me, or listen to me blather on.

I can’t possibly walk away from a fiber show without having fallen into purchasing something. This show, the big purchase was the fleece from Foxhill farm. Adrian told me about them and she was so so so right. The fleeces are fan-freakin-tastic.
fleece_cummington07
This is a piece from Rye (white Cormo) and Ester (grey Cormo Romney). I love love love these fleeces. This really is the time when you need feel-o-vision. I’m working on it, but it’s just not right yet. I can’t wait to get working on these. I’m going to make a few really nice blends fro the shop. And of course I will have to keep some for myself.

The other big buy was new spindles for the shop.
rakestrawspindle_mine
This is the one that I brought home for myself to learn to work with it. I bought 10 more shop. They are a really interesting spindle and I just love the idea. I have to know how to spin with everything so I just had to bring these into the shop. I’ll be unpacking the load tomorrow when I work in the shop so I’ll take a picture of all the ones that I got.

There really is so much else I would love to talk about but I haven’t the time. I need to get some shipping done today and then I have an afternoon appointment. There will be more later. I hope you all had a great sunny weekend too. I’m way way way behind on reading blogs. If I told you all I had to do between now and June 20 you’d know I was insane and you’d understand. I hope to catch up soon.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Where do I start?

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    Do tell what you think about the Rakestraw Spindle once you’ve had the time to spin on it! They look so interesting and I hear you can spin in tight spaces, like the car and stuff….

  2. Arleta says:

    What a neat looking spindle. I understand the busy thing. The last week of school here is unbelievable! I just keep reminding myself, it’s almost summer.

  3. elisa says:

    The Rakestraw spindle is really fascinating. Probably I should figure out how to use the spindles I have first (or maybe I shouldn’t. I am easily swayed).

    I am soooo glad I was able to buy the Victoria from you. I’ve loved every second of spinning time I’ve had on her so far, and I giggle each time I look at her. :)

    Cummington is by far my favorite festival, and I was thrilled that you were a vendor. I love seeing the stock in your booth empty out over the course of a weekend (that is, as long as I’ve already been there to get my fix).

  4. Lucy says:

    I’d heard of your stuff before, but never seen them – I was so excited to see you early on saturday with my two girls before the booth got crowded, and then I came back later to buy and I could barely get in there! I loved the stuff so much I got some for me and some for a couple of swaps… Now I get to look back through the blog during the week… fun to meet you!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Let us know what you think of that new spindle! I’m intrigued with the design.

  6. Val says:

    It was nice meeting you and your yarn is beautiful! Cirilia’s blog – http://skrillaknots.blogspot.com – has the photo of us and our rad hair.

  7. Val says:

    oops, wrong url for the photo. It’s http://skrillaknits.blogspot.com/

  8. Kat says:

    I wish I could have gone to a fiber festival this year, but it’s not in the cards. I’m so happy you had fun, though!

    For the cormo you’re going to post in the shop, will any of it be washed locks? If so, I’m totally interested! :)

  9. Kat says:

    Oh, yeah. The brown fleece is especially lovely. :)

  10. Tonia says:

    Sounds like a great time. There is afiber festival this coming weekend that I am wanting to go to. I hope that I can make it.

    Isn’t cormo so lovely. I just got a pound of it in a white/cream color. I can’t wait to spin it up.

  11. Tonia says:

    Love the cormo.

  12. Tonia says:

    Sounds like a good time.

    I so love the cormo.

  13. Tonia says:

    Sounds like a great time. There is a fiber festival that I want to go to this coming weekend. I so hope that I can get there.

    Isn’t cormo lovely. I have a pound waiting for me to spin it. It is a white/creme color. I just keep looking at it and petting it. ;)

  14. Tonia says:

    Love the cormo. I have some that I am petting at the moment. I don’t want to spin it because I am afraid that it will all be gone. ;)

    Sounds like you had a great time.

  15. Beth S. says:

    It was lovely to meet you! :-) And I’m glad you got to do a little shopping of your own… it looks like you scored some excellent fleece. Congrats!

    I bought a gorgeous Greensleeves spindle from you on Saturday, and you put a little puff of some very nice grey fiber in the bag to cushion it. Do you remember what kind of wool that was? It spun up beautifully.

  16. Sara says:

    I am so excited to see you at the Frolic… and kind of grateful I won’t have a lot of cash with me- otherwise I would come home with not only your yarn, but with one of your wheels, too!!

  17. Tonia says:

    Sounds like a great time.

    Love the cormo.

  18. Tonia says:

    Sounds like you had a great time.

    Cormo…..yummy

  19. Wendy says:

    Freaking gorgeous fine crimp, o yeah, I need me some squish-o-vision, stat!

  20. Gina House says:

    Cool spindles! And love that fiber! Oh, the crimp is awesome and so soft looking. I love Cormo. Sounds like it was a blast. Missed seeing you! Sorry I couldn’t make it….family decided to come up at the last minute. Darn it.

  21. Karen says:

    I’ll be curious to hear how you like the Rakestraw too. It was wonderful to finally meet you on Saturday! You had the busiest booth there!

  22. Suzanne says:

    It was so nice to meet you on Saturday. I already wound my yarn from the shawl kit I bought and have to stop myself from casting on before I finish a retirement gift for my boss (your name twin). I was glad I went to your booth first thing.

  23. Cool new spindle! I’m just so fascinated with them now…

    And I really want to find a fleece. I haven’t processed raw wool in a looong time. I just didn’t have the urge. But, for some reason, I’d like to do some washing and carding this summer. Probably all inspired by your pretty cormo/romney! That is just lovely. I just need to decide what I’d like to work with…

  24. Heather says:

    Sounds fantastic! Unfortunately, I won’t be seeing you when the Manchester group makes their trip as it is DD’s birthday, but I will see you at the Fiber Frolic! YAY! Can’t wait to see how that funky new spindle works. Very mysterious.

  25. mia says:

    I bought some of your fiber at Cummington, and I had a great time chatting with you about how best to spin it up. I can’t wait to get started, but really should work through some other stuff that is on the wheel currently. Anyway, keep up the good work and I’ll be checking your store site once your festival schedule calms down!

  26. Annalea says:

    Wow . . . what an interesting spindle. I’ll be watching for more info on how that odd-looking thing actually works. ;o)

  27. Annalea says:

    Oh, and those are gorgeous fleeces. I love those two colors blended together–even better when the singles are distinctly different blends. Multi-colored barber-pole yarn isn’t my favorite, but barber-pole striping in natural shades is to die for. . . .

  28. Helen says:

    It was great to finally meet you at the show. I’ve been eyeballing the yarns I bought from you and wondering what they will become. :)

Leave a Reply

