Food??

Who cares about food when you have fiber?
I have no recipe for you. I kept meaning to make an enchilada recipe I have swirling around in my head but I kept getting busy. Getting ready for MA sheep and wool. Preparing to go to NH, mothers day and well, I was just plain consumed with the idea of the new wheel. I should probably warn you. I have 2 shows close together and with club shipping the week before one and close after the other, recipes and postings may be wonky or scarce. We’ll see what I can keep up with over the next couple of weeks. This all also means that there will be no new fiber in the online shop until June. I will however still do customs. I’ll be putting up a button on the wool page so you can order customs.

NHSW
When I said that you should say hi and lavish me with fiber gifts. I didn’t actually mean it. Ok, I’m not complaining, not in the slightest. Gina brought me fibers.
ginafiber
Aren’t they gorgeous? I’ve started to spin the pink on – Madra’s Cocktail. I don’t have much time for spinning right now but it is beautiful and about lace weight. So it will take me a while.
madrasonbobbin
Yes, that is on the new wheel. There are sme thicker spots, this is the first fiber I put on the wheel so there were some adjustments before it was doing what I wanted, but not much.

And Heather gave me some awesome stitch markers:
piratebootymarkers
Argggh matey. I’ll have my knitting scared into submission. I did have skully stitch markers but they all had bows on them. Now these are much tougher. grrrrr.

Speaking of skulls. I did get to stop and talk briefly with Tom of Golding Spindles. You know, the man that made Sparrow for me. I never stopped long at the Golding booth. I was never really interested before. I did stop to meet Tom and to thank him once again for a great spindle. The booth was unfortunately packed and I had a baby strapped to me. Hopefully I’ll have a chance to stop in and visit at the Fiber Frolic. I hear he has some new spindles that are “must see” spindles.

I think the girls had a good time too
nhswalpaca
They got to see animals and the abby got to ride all day. That’s the easy life. Even though she did scream and claw a few times. She wanted to walk but she wanted to walk all by herself. From 1 year old right on up to a teenager in a matter of months.

It was great to see so many of you. I couldn’t even name all of you an link to all. It was great seeing you again. This is the show that I get to see Miss Pippi but we didn’t get to spend much time together. I promise I’ll be up to VT this summer to see you lady.

Finally, the magnificent Juno had my wheel. Here he is sitting with Gus and Bettie.
wheels_nathabitat
The big guy is Husbeast sized. Jensen is taller than Bettie and Bettie is up about a foot off the ground. Jensen is older than I originally thought but still not a bad deal. I need to do something about the mother of all and this winter he will be totally refinished. I actually have plans to get my Dad to help me turn more bobbins and possibly a new flyer, I want bigger bobbins. They don’t need to be huge but I’d like them to be at least as big as the Ashford 2 ouncers. If you want to see the bobbin now – look up -the Madras is being spun on Jensen.

This entry was posted in family, life, spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Food??

  1. Manise says:

    It was great seeing you on Saturday- kind of crazy, but fun! Looking forward to seeing you in Cummington.

  2. Manise says:

    Oh, and congrats on the new wheel. It is beastie sized!

  3. Arleta says:

    What fun!!

    Your girls sure are growing fast! My kids are too. Growing right out of clothes that actually fit!

  4. katrin says:

    wow, the pink yarn is BEAUTIFUL!!!
    what will you make from it?

    and i adore your new stitch markers… yo-ho! a pirate’s life for me!

  5. Amy O' says:

    I missed you on Saturday – I will say that I did stop by the Golding booth, not once but twice… the 2nd time was at about 4:35 when I was having “Golding Envy” and just HAD to go buy one then and there… no waiting until MA… and I knew what I wanted – the Celtic Knot spindle… do I love it? YES! Hopefully I’ll make it out to MA and see you there (I have a small budget, but I am sure I can squeeze something out for my Spunky habit!)

  6. Sara says:

    Can’t wait to stop and see you at the Frolic! You know, if it would be easier you can hold my club fiber until the Frolic…

    The pink yarn is so awesome!

  7. Amy says:

    I love the picture with the younglings. It sounds like you guys had a great day! I sure wish I lived on the East Coast because all these festivals and frolics sound like so much fun!

  8. Jennifer says:

    Your new wheel is gorgeous!

  9. Gina House says:

    I LOVE the new wheel!!! The color is so elegant. It’s amazing to see the Madras being spun up…woo-hoo! Hope you enjoy it.

    It was super, as always, to see you (didn’t have to stalk this time! LOL!) and will be seeing you soon…in June…with the group.

    Your little girls are adorable and I wanted to take them home with me….I need girlish companionship….

    Many hugs and happy spinning!

  10. Juno says:

    It spins well? I’m so happy to see it assembled and in place.
    Generally, I think wheels like to be in small herds like that. Sociable creatures.

  11. Dianna says:

    While you are getting acquainted with the Jensen, you’ve been tagged. The rules are in my evening post tonight, so check them out & play along! Take care, Amy.

  12. JessaLu says:

    I enjoyed meeting the genius behind 90% of my fiber stash – you have a gorgeous family! :o)

    I hope you are enjoying the new wheel!

  13. Alison says:

    Beautiful wheel!

    And I’ve seen the new Goldings; they are indeed lovely!

  14. Tonia says:

    Yay for gifted fibers. They are beautiful. Looks like you all had a great time. Love the stitch markers. :) Glad that the new wheel got to you. It is lovely.

Leave a Reply

