BIG

I have big things for you today. Or maybe they’re big things for me.

Number 1 big thing
I won a wheel. It’s in NJ. That’s right. Silly me bid on an ebay wheel in NJ that is pick up only. Anyone coming up from NJ for a fiber even that want’s to pick up a giant wheel for me?? Or will I be making a long drive south? I bid on it and bid low because I really have wanted this wheel for a long time. But then as I calculated the drive time, I began to wish someone would out bid me. So no one in NJ wanted a Jensen? Will someone in NJ want to drive the Jensen north? I’ll be at NHSW, MA SW and ME Fiber Frolic.

Number 2 big thing
Big Portabello mushroom caps. Meat for the vegetarian. It has a great texture and it is one of the few non-meatish meaty things that really grill well. Don’t even talk to me about griling Boca Burgers, they get so dry on the grill. Not that I won’t still eat them…

bigmushroomrecipe

Bascially we’re going to grill a cap and then fill it up.
Brush off any dirt on the cap – then brush it with olive oil and grill the sucker.
Then stuff it.
Nana’s Recipe:
Spinache, sun dried tomatoes, garlic and onions.
Rice Recipe (shown above):
Spinache, brown rice, soy replacement product or tofu (if you need that extra protein kick), onions, more mushrooms.

Basically you cook up one of the stuffing recipes and once the mushrooms are grilled, you stuff them. I know I didn’t give you ingredient amounts. It all depends on how many you make and having left over stuffing really isn’t a tragedy. It’s nice to eat by itself too.

Big thing number 3
I did a huge amount of knitting last week.
I bought yarn last week for a Baby Boogie sweater. Over the weekend I got a good bunch of it done. I devised a pattern that has no sewing! It’s freakin incredible. The pattern pages are at least one page longer than normal and there are a few more ends to weave in (dang stripes) but I really am happy with the sweater.
stripesforbb
I hope I get it done in the next couple of days. Although it’s supposed to be nice weather, this is supposed to be her spring sweater. I know, nothing like cutting it close.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to BIG

  1. adrienne says:

    wow, it’s looking great! I’d be happy with it too!

  2. Julie says:

    Great looking sweater, and FAST knitting!

  3. Heather says:

    I loooove no sew sweaters. As for the wheel, maybe you can arrange an old fire-bucket-brigade type relay with it? NJ to CT, CT to MA, MA to NH, Nh to ME????? I wonder…

  4. I want you to know that I came THIS close to bidding on that very wheel, thinking, “Surely I could find SOMEBODY to pick it up and hold on to it for me for a while.”

    Of course, the closest person would probably be my mother, who would probably say “No, not until you’ve picked up some of OUR spinning and weaving equipment from this house…”

  5. Joni says:

    Pockets, and no sewing?! Very cool. I’ll admit I giggled when I read that you bought the yarn for it, but then I remembered that it’s a great feat to have made most of a groovy sweater with new yarn already! ;)

  6. Karen says:

    Oh lucky you! I love Jenson’s! I am not near NJ though. Besides…if I picked it up, it might not make it to your house.

    Cute sweater! I am not a fan of sewing up sweaters either.

  7. carrie says:

    Oh, excellent sweater! I love the pockets. I bet my kids would love one. No sewing, ay? Sounds good!

  8. carrie says:

    My last comment disappeared =( Anyway, I love your sweater. It’s really cute. Nice job figuring out how to make it with no seaming up! Sweet!

  9. Jennifer says:

    Congrats on the new wheel!

    Mmmm, Portobellos… Yummy.

  10. Susan says:

    Well, I won’t be coming from NJ, but I will be at NHSW on Saturday so maybe I’ll see you there. If someone can get the wheel to Boston by Friday afternoon, I will bring it with me to NHSW.

  11. Weaver says:

    NJ is between Wisconsin and you, right? :) I could just tell the husband that I have to help out a friend right? “I just have to pick something up and drop it off, honey. No big deal.” Ok, so I’m probably not much help, huh? Thanks for reminding me of the mushrooms, I’m definitely going to have to get some this week. The sweater looks great!

  12. Hey, if you gotta go to Jersey, it might as well be for a Jensen, right? ;) I do love my Jensen…

    I grill Boca burgers on the George Foreman grill with a bit of oil and that seems to work much better than anything else I’ve tried if you time it all right. But I think I need to try the mushrooms. I’m not normally a fan, but everyone tells me that the Portabellos work really well. And let’s face it, anything with stuffing is going to be good!

  13. Tonia says:

    Wow that is some fast knitting. It is really cute.

    I hope that someone can get your wheel for you. There have been so many on eBay that I wanted, but they have been pick up only. Good luck on getting it somehow.

  14. Sara says:

    I do hope that someone can help with the wheel… oh! Do you think that maybe someone on Ravelry is from that area?? Maybe you can post something in the discussion forum?

    Love the baby sweater… the stripes are awesome!

  15. weaverknits says:

    Will you have a booth at the Fiber Frolic? I’ll be there and would love to see a whole pile of your yarn in one place!

  16. Annalea says:

    Now that’s a sweater pattern I’d be interested in. :o) I h-a-t-e sewing up!

  17. Gina House says:

    That sweater looks GREAT!!!! Congrats on winning the wheel!

  18. Amy says:

    That sweater is cute! I love the idea of no seaming too.

    If your bucket brigade needs an Arizona leg, I would be happy to step in ;D

  19. Carolyn says:

    Adrian mentioned this to me, since I live in NY right on the NJ border. I’m about 20-30 minutes from Paramus, and if you can get the seller or someone to get it there, or near there, I’ll go pick it up and bring it to the MA Sheep fair at the end of the month. Let me know if I can help.

  20. Dianna says:

    Want to be my personal chef? Love the BB sweater – can’t wait to see her modeling it!

  21. Jersey says:

    I know this sounds crazy, but where is it in NJ? Perhaps I could meet Carolyn somewhere in time for the MA sheep fair?

    I’d like to help you, and I’m a resident of NJ. Just saw your post & thought I’d comment.

  22. Roo says:

    Lemme know if you can’t get the wheel up. I *might* be able to help. Probably depends on where in NJ.

  23. Emily says:

    Oh, ebay… my brother once drove from Madison WI to Bloomington IN to pick up a giant mixing board (for his recording studio) that he bought on ebay. He refused to disclose how much the gas and hotel receipts for the trip were.
    From the looks of the comments, Im sure you’ll get it eventually though!!

  24. HEATHER says:

    uh, drive to Jersey and then VISIT!!!!!! NO BOYS ALLOWED!

  25. Arleta says:

    Mmmm. Those portabellos sound good!

    Congrats on the wheel, I hope you figure out a good (cheap) way to get it to ya!

    Nice sweater, too. Jeeze, you’re a busy woman!

Leave a Reply

