Mittens

I finished my club yarn for April and I made mittens.
babymittens
They don’t look like mittens?
I see mittens.
Ok, I had every intention of making them into mittens for the Boogie Baby. There are a few over at the club blog that make the yarn and then knit with yarn before the next club arrives that I wanted to do it too. What’s really sad is that I have the fiber 1-2 months before anyone else has it and I still hadn’t found the time to make it into anything.

The yarn sat next to my chair for a long time. I kept looking at it. I could see mittens. The yarn fits so well on the baby. I can see the mittens there. Still, somehow, they never materialized into actual mittens. I think sleep is beginning to cut into my knitting time.

Details..
Navajo 3 ply done in the Club fiber for April – “Strawberry Fields” Corriedale.
clubyarn_strawberry

This entry was posted in Knitting, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mittens

  1. ErickaJo says:

    Well, don’t worry. With any luck, we’re past the time for mittens, and little hands grow fast.

    I was actually at home when the post guy showed up with my fiber, and it being my first month in the club, I wasn’t quite sure what I had ordered to precipitate a package. Then I saw your name, and, well, another post person who thinks I’m nuts. They’ve got to have a club by now. I should make them tshirts :D Gorgeous colors. They totally make me think of spring berry picking with my family… the wild strawberries you can find in clearings in Maine, but only if you’ve paid attention to where the flowers were.

    Is it bad that I want to buy some new bobbins so I can spin another thing before I’m done the first?

  2. Nan says:

    I see you can make that happy little girl of your pose any way you want here too. How about using her older sister next time. Ha Ha

  3. Beth says:

    I finally finished plying my Dandy Lion yarn but it not mittens (or anything else) yet either. After all my novice Navajo plying worries, it turned out OK. Whacking it against the wall really does help.

  4. Julie says:

    I received my April yarn the other day and it is just GORGEOUS! Love, love, love it.

  5. Bad Hippie says:

    I see mittens! Pretty, pretty mittens!

  6. Joni says:

    Aw, but you’ve been so busy. Well, you’re always so busy. lol The yarn will make very nice mittens. Mitered mittens would be so perfect.

  7. Kate says:

    I see mittens! And a princess! :)

  8. Gina House says:

    Fantastic handspun! They DO look like mittens!

  9. Adrienne says:

    Tee hee, too cute!

  10. Chante says:

    I must say that this was my first time receiving your club fiber and it was all that I thought it would be. It arrived on Monday, so I had no choice but to spin a little of it up. Well a little turned into half (because I split the whole roving down the middle). It was so irresitable that last night I had no choice but to spin up the other half. I had to force myself to go to bed and wait for today to ply the two together. The minutes here at work are not going by fast enough. Is it 4 o’clock yet?

  11. PuppyMomma says:

    Gee. I was thinking baby handcuffs. But mittens work too.

  12. Jennifer says:

    That is going to make lovely mittens! Strawberry fields looks so lovely spun up.

  13. Marnie says:

    Well, it looks to me like Baby Boogie (so cute!) is simply helping you twist your skein for display purposes. She looks mighty helpful.
    The colorway is fantastic.

  14. Amy says:

    Those will be cute little mittens no matter when they are finished. How could they be anything but cute on such a cutie pie :D

  15. margene says:

    I tested it out last night and NP too. Love it, just love it!

  16. Tonia says:

    The colors are so pretty. Looks like the baby really likes it too. =) Yes I can see the mittens too. ;)

  17. Wendy says:

    Started the Dandy Lion yesterday (finally!). I’ve told my DD about Strawberry Fields and she has requested mittens, too, so we’ll be in it together (eventually). But with my terrible case of startitis, who knows!

  18. Sara says:

    Oh, how pretty! I can’t wait to play with mine!

  19. Holly says:

    She looks so happy it would have been mean to take away her joy and turn it into mittens before cold weather. And then she may want a hat anyway!
    But the colors look really her.

  20. Amy says:

    oooh so pretty. I can’t wait to see mine. Of course I don’t know when I will get to spin this batch since I am still catching up with all the lovies over the last few months when I wasn’t spinning much.

  21. Lynne E. says:

    A novice spinner, I haven’t started on either Strawberry Fields or Dandy Lion, but I’m really glad that I joined the Club! It’s a delight to open each package.

  22. weaverknits says:

    Holy CRAP!!! I just joined your fiber club after going on the club blog and seeing all the different things people have been creating. I’ve been a fan of your work for a while, and it was just time to get a regular fix. CAN’T WAIT!!!

  23. LaBean says:

    “I think sleep is beginning to cut into my knitting time.”
    That made me laugh out loud. I know what that’s like, really. I don’t know if I see mittens, but I love the yarn!

  24. Faith says:

    Mmmmmm, I can almost taste the strawberries…I’m continually surprised and pleased with the creativity you put into dying. And your colorway names are the best!

  25. Oh now there’s next year’s holiday card!!!! That is the cutest thing I’ve seen in I-don’t-know-how-long!

    And the yarn is pretty darned nice, too. Corriedale is one of my favorites!

Leave a Reply

