Hunza miracle!?

Have you gotten the spam about the miracle weight loss that you can achieve by eating Hunza bread? I make no such claims. I was interested in this bread because it’s wheat free. I make a good wheat free bread. That’s all I’m claiming here.

My Recipe:
1.5 cups Buckwheat flour
.25 cup Soy protein flour
3 tsp Baking Powder
2 tbs Honey
1 tbs Barley Malt or Molasses
1 pinch each of nutmeg, cinnamon, sea salt
2Tbs Olive oil
.25 cups of water (or more as necessary)
Optional
Chopped nuts and dried fruit.

Basically you just blend all the ingredients together. I meant to measure out the water for you but I forgot. I have a tendency to just put all the ingredients in without measuring. Spread the mix out about .5 inches thick on a greased (sprayed lightly with olive oil) cookie sheet. I bake it for about 20 minutes at 350F. The bread is chewy. If you’ve ever cooked with buckwheat, you know you don’t get that light fluffy texture that you get with wheat. Today I took half the bread out and left the other half in the warm oven (oven is now off). I want to see how it will dry out. It would be an interesting alternative to granola bars.

Today’s bread had no dried fruit or nuts in it, although it’s really good that way. I wanted to make breakfast pizza.
hunzapizza
I made the bread then I spread with my tofu “cream cheese” and topped with fresh fruit. This is one of my favorite breakfasts. And since the bread is really filling, you don’t need to eat a lot to feel full.

I spent most of the weekend working. Still I was able to finish up my green socks.
wip_pulsations1
Pattern: Pulsations (coming soon)
Yarn: Spunky Super Nova
Color: Pulse
Needle: US2
I did a big no-no. I finished one sock and didn’t immediately cast on for number 2. It’s anyone’s guess when number 2 will actually get finished.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hunza miracle!?

  1. Wendy says:

    Finished my DD’s teacher socks in Super Nova and they are delicious! Lucky I made them in the color she likes and not purple…or green…or orange. I might have to do them again!

  2. Amy says:

    oh no, Second Sock Syndrome strikes again! LOL It is a beautiful sock and that color is fantastic. Those berries look fantastic too! I might have to get some of those at the store today. You always seem to post recipies on the days that I go shopping. I am sure it is some deep conspiracy.

  3. LaBean says:

    You will finish the mate to that sock in 2 weeks. :) Everyone’s into lace socks lately. Or so it seems. I’ve just cast on for some ScrapSocks… using Koigu and something else I can’t remember the name of.. Here’s hoping the beanlet appreciates them.

  4. Gina House says:

    I am in LOVE with the new sock pattern. As soon as you’ve got it done, I’m knittin’ it! I just finished one, too…called “Tipsy”. I forced myself to cast on for the second and did 5 rows. Hopefully, I can keep going with it….you know how it is with SSS! Great color, too!

  5. Joni says:

    I really like the sock. It looks like a fun knit, too. :) So…what did you put on the needles, after you finished the sock, if you didn’t cast on for its mate?

  6. adrienne says:

    Beautiful sock!!!!

  7. DonnaC says:

    Thanks for the great recipe! We love tofu cream cheese here. I”m wheat-free and dh and son are dairy free, so we all try to do both. I was never diagnosed with celiacs but after 40 years of IBS I decided to try going wheat-free and I’ve never felt better. Your sock looks terrific.

  8. That looks absolutely delicious. I usually just have coffee for breakfast.

  9. Jennifer says:

    Yummy breakfast pizza! That would be fun to do with my kids.

    I love the sock.

  10. Sara says:

    Gorgeous lace pattern… the sock looks great! I have the same issue with second sock syndrome and I *did* cast on for the second immediately. I just keep moving it from room to room hoping it will knit itself in the middle of the night.

  11. Tonia says:

    Love the sock!!!

  12. elizabeth says:

    Tell me about your tofu cream cheese! I’m looking for ways to increase low-fat protein in a vegetarian diet – not easy, even if you eat dairy (as I do). Thanks!

  13. A chum recommended me to read this site, brill post, fanstatic read… keep up the nice work!

  14. I really appreciate this thread. I wish more nutritionists knew of the good that Miracle Fruit offers. Anyway, I just wanted to say great info!

Leave a Reply

