Into Space

I’ve been catching myself sitting inside my head staring out into space. I had been doing this alot. Until the day I caught myself and mentioned something to husbeast. I don’t think he thinks much that I do is weird so I’m not sure he noticed me sitting on the couch, kids in bed, hands idle….

I explained: Brown needs to be finished soon but I passed any joy of working on it. The yarn has so many knots in it, I was just unhappy with it. I need to finish it this week though. Still I was blocked because I really wanted to knit socks or spin.

His answer: So knit something else.

I said: But I really need to finish Brown.

He said matter of factly: So just finish brown.

I sat there in space for a few more minutes and then I almost finished brown. All thats left is the neck and weaving in the multitude of ends from the knotty yarn (acrylic doesn’t spit splice).
wip_brownad
I’ve been doing an inch on the neck a day. At this rate, I won’t meet my deadline. I’m going to do my best to finish her up today. Steam block and have her out tomorrow.

I did do some work on another knit. Mostly from having to leave the house and sit places bored where I can’t bring the sweater.
wip_slushrpm
It’s not an impressive amount of work, but there you have it.

Tonight is roller skating with the girl scouts. I think they’re going to try and get me out skating. If I manage to keep my butt planted in a corner, I’ll be knitting.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Into Space

  1. Joni says:

    I love the simplicity of the answers a man will give. It can be maddening, but they can be right too. Best of luck in finishing up Brown today! Maybe when you get to the ends you can have a speed contest with yourself, to make it a little less maddening.

    Groovy socks. ;)

  2. Adrian says:

    What in the crap are you knitting with brown acrylic?

  3. Tonia says:

    Sorry that Brown is giving you such trouble. Hopefully it will be over quickly. Love the socks.

  4. Jennifer says:

    Husbeast sounds like RM. Men…

  5. margene says:

    Just powering through to the end can be tough. It will be nice to have it out of your hair. Enjoy the skates tonight;-)

  6. Amy says:

    The feeling of relief when it is all done with will be so sweet! I hate working on a deadline, it sucks all the joy out of creating.

  7. Gina House says:

    Amy, I hear you….I’ve been feeling the exact same way for two weeks. Can’t seem to get excited, motivated or “into” whatever I’m doing or trying to finish. Just keep looking at the wheel and my knitting bag with partial loathing…partial longing. Hope you get your funk back! Love the socks!

    P.S. THANK YOU for buying my headband pattern…WUV YOU!

  8. Nonnahs says:

    You gotta love how guys just make it all sound so simple. ;)

  9. carrie says:

    I wonder why we’re all having a problem finishing things up. Is it because we want to move on and get into spring? New beginnings? Anyway, I’m where you’re at with a sweater that just needs the neck band. I KNOW I should sit down and finish that durned thing… nice socks, by the way!

  10. K2Karen says:

    Here’s a tip that works for me when I’m stuck like that. Grab a kitchen timer. Pick a reasonable chunk of time–even if it is only 5 minutes. Work on brown for 5 minutes. Then set the timer for the same increment and work on something–anything–more fun. Then it is back to brown. I find I can do anything for 5 minutes, even if it is distasteful.

  11. You can do it! Bye-bye brown!

  12. I just read Adrian’s comment- bwahahahaha!

  13. Arleta says:

    You can do it!

    Adrian’s funny ~ hehehe

  14. Sara says:

    You can do it!!

    But I completely know what you’re saying… I think that is why I still have so many unfinished projects. Starting a new one is so much more entertaining than finishing one!

Leave a Reply

