Taxman Stirfry

Well, I’m sure many of you know what today is. Taxes are due in. I heard that collective groan. In honor of the taxman coming and taking all our money, today’s recipe is all about Ramen.

Any flavor Ramen will do. We’re going to toss the flavor packet. If you’ve ever lived on Ramen, you know the flavor packets get old quick. Ramen is relatively good with Spaghetti sauce. Anything you can use noodles for you can use Ramen. Did you know that Ramen also makes a decent crunchy topper to a cabbage salad? Today’s recipe has an Asian flair.

Take your Ramen and crunch it up with your hands, put it in a bowl and cover with water, let it soak for a few minutes. Then fry it up with Soy sauce. Voila – asian noodles.

If you still have enough money to buy vegetables, you can make the Taxman Stirfry
taxmanstirfry

1 onion chopped
Garlic minced – 2-8 cloves (I like garlic ok)
Snow peas – large handful
6-8 ounces of sliced mushrooms
Julienned Carrots – 2-3 large carrots
1 sm sliced and halved – zuchinni and summer squash
Chopped Napa Cabbage about 1 cup
Broccoli florets about 1 cup
1-2 Tbs soy sauce
1-2Tbs Sesame oil
1 Tbs vegetable oil (yes both)
3 packages of Ramen (discard the flavor packet)
Optional –
1.tofu, marinated tempeh, chicken, beef, or shrimp.
2. crushed peanuts.
3. red pepper flakes

Crush* then soak your Ramen until it’s noodley. *You can leave your ramen whole, it just makes it harder to eat.
Saute your onions and garlic in vegetable oil – not a ton. If you are adding in a protein item, do it now, then add in all your other veggies in order of the time it takes them to cook. You don’t want them to be mushy, they’re best left with a little crunch. Now add in your sesame oil and soy sauce. Drain your Ramen and add that. Fry it up a bit and there you go! You can top with some crushed peanuts or sesame seeds for more asian stirfry flair.

Taxman this year gave us a small refund. We were able to get a few vegetables and a new member of the family:
mswashie

I love Ms. Washie the dishwasher. Husbeast wanted a new TV. But I could watch Ms. Washie work all day long.
lovemswashie

And because I’ve been pre-occupied with the workings of a dishwasher (I’ve never had one, ever) I forgot to tell you all about a new online yarn shop – WOOLGIRL. Go check it out. She carries my yarn as well as yarn from many other small businesses. It’s a cool shop. Yarn yarn everwhere. My favorite kind of store.

This entry was posted in life, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Taxman Stirfry

  1. pippi says:

    !!!!!!!!!
    Ms. Washie!!!
    Details! Details!!

    I love that picture of you staring longingly into her eyes.
    TLA!

    How awesome!!!

  2. Weaver says:

    we almost got a Ms Washie with our tax refund too, but I bought yarn instead. I like to pretend like doing the dishes is exercise so I can sit and play with fiber without feeling guilty. Have fun with Ms Washie! She looks like a wonderful new addition!

  3. Joni says:

    Woooohooooooo! Congratulations on the dishwasher. I’m very happy for you and your hands. :)

  4. Brenda says:

    I moved into this house two years ago and it had a dishwasher!! Yeah, my first dishwasher EVER. I’m in love with my washie also. It’s a miracle every time I open it with clean dishes and just put them in the cabinets. Yipee!!!

  5. Jennifer says:

    Yay! A dishwasher! I love mine. May you have many happy washes with yours.

  6. Amy says:

    YAY DISHWASHER!! We got one of those last year. This year we are getting a washer and dryer, if they ever finish the house *grumble grumble*

  7. Sara says:

    Dishwashers are wonderful… we finally got our hooked up this year and I love it!

  8. Tonia says:

    Yay for Ms Washie!!! I would so love to have a dishwasher too and so would my hands =)

    What a great use for Ramen noodles. Thanks for the tip.

  9. susan says:

    Actually, you can stop stressing about your taxes. They’re due tomorro (the 17th) this year.

  10. Oh yaay! I recently got a dishwasher for the first time too. So wonderful- never gets old. Ours is a half size and it leaks but I still love it. haha

  11. Lynn says:

    Oh, yes, life became much better once I had a dishwasher. One of the many reasons I left my ex-husband is that, when we bought a half-million-dollar house on the coast of Maine, he didn’t think we should use the dishwasher, in case the leach field couldn’t handle it. In reality, there were NO problems with the leach field and we probably used more water washing dishes by hand. Jeez….

  12. Maia says:

    I would love to have a Ms Washie. Someday. Say hi to her for me.

  13. Haddy says:

    Dishwashers are magic!! Dirty in, clean out.

    I’m enjoying my first as well, we’ve been together three years now. We have a great relationship.

  14. alice says:

    ohhh ms washie, how i covet you. i, unfortunatly, grew up in a house that always had a dish washer. so now that i’ve been living on my own for 3 years, i have grown to TRULY appreciate the magic of dishwashers. enjoy!

  15. Ella says:

    That’s a super-adorable pic of you and Ms. Washie…how much time have you gotten back from having Ms. Washie around?

  16. Rebekah says:

    Yum! I love a good stir-fry.

    Oh dishwashers are a wonderful invention.

    And thanks for the link to the new store!

  17. Gina House says:

    You look ADORABLE looking at Mrs. Washie!!! Lucky you!

    Your recipe sounds yummy. My teen loves Ramen noodles. He’d even eat them raw if I let him….he’s weird, but I love him anyway. : )

    Your snow pics look great, too…our snow is finally gone, but our front yard is like a small pond. How about you?

  18. Arleta says:

    Hehe! You’re so lucky! I’d watch that dishwasher all day, too. I’ve never had one, but I want one! Yay for you!!

  19. Zonda says:

    I did the same thing when I got my first one, which was a portable also…now I would just be doing dishes for hours without it LOL! Enjoy Mrs. Washie!

Leave a Reply

