Little Victoria

It arrives in the typical Louet Box although quite a bit smaller and lighter. Upon opening the box all I saw was a bag that looked half empty. I set it on the floor and opened it up…
vic_justopenedbag
I unbuckled one belt that held her in. There is a button lever at the base that allows you to lift up the upright.
vic_inthebag
Unbuckle one more belt and the Victoria is free! Did you notice all the room in the bag. I had one full bobbin and another ounces of fiber tucked in there. If I packed it all in I believe I could pack in 2 pounds of fiber. Of course, I’m good at stuffing fiber in hiding places.

The flyer is tucked away at the bottom:
vic_flyeraway
All you need to do is slip on a bobbin and snap into it’s home.

Voila! Victoria is ready to go.
vic_herself

I like the Victoria. Overall I have to give her a thumbs up. I do have problems with her so don’t think it’s all sunshine and roses.

A wheel needs to be seen for what it’s meant for. This is a great traveling wheel. A perfect second wheel, or it could be an only wheel for someone who has little space or is on the go a lot. I have the space for a larger wheel so I can tell you right off the batt that I prefer that. I prefer the versaitility of the full size Louets. However, I like the idea that I can travel to show and have Victoria to spin on. I could go on a vacation and take Vic as a carryon. I don’t like to bring my full size wheel with me but Victoria is small enough that it would work well.

Victoria spins well. I spun 2 ounces of a thin single and Navajo plied it to a worsted weight yarn. She is geared high. This is not a wheel that I would find easy to make a bulky weight or a novelty yarn. With a small 3 ounce bobbin (which is always a peeve of mine) you wouldn’t get much bulky on there anyway.

The drive is flyer driven with a brake on the bobbin. This is a set up that I’m not used to. It took a bit to get used to and I can say that I prefer the flyer driven. Ok, over all I prefer double drive but if I can’t have that I prefer bobbin driven wheels. I think this is just a personal preference issue. Once I was used to the little differences and had the brake band adjusted properly, I was ok with it and made some nice even yarn.
vic_yarnflutterby

I was able to sit in my usual spining spot on the couch. This is a plus, I like my spot. I figured with the difference in size I wouldn’t be able to do this. Husbeast’s comment upon seeing Victoria was “this one hasn’t grown up yet”. Next to my S51DT, it does look like the toddler version. Don’t get me wrong, that’s only it’s look. It’s not rinky dinky. The base is balanced well and I think it really is a stable well thought out wheel.

The treadle is just slightly larger than my foot:
vic_treadle
This is not a problem for me. I don’t mind if my foot doesn’t quite fit a treadle but I figured it was worth mentioning because I know it can be a peeve of others.

The flyer is different
vic_flyer
I thought at first it was something unique to the Victoria. I set up another wheel yesterday and the flyers have all changed. I’ll be getting in some new flyers because I adore this new type of hook. They are fantastic. They slide up and down. There is a stop at the end but if you turn it just right, it does come off. I’ll carry more of these too. I can see myself losing them.

In the picture you can also see the little leather handle. I carried this baby all over the place. The handle is comfy to carry it by and the wheel is just plain light.

Back to the bag. The bag has handles, a carry strap or a back pack. there is a front zipper pocket and the back zips to hide the backpack straps. The bag was made as well as the wheel. They really did take into mind what you might need.

I welcome anyone that has comments about the wheel to add them. Or if you have questions that you want answered about it. I’d be happy to answer them. I’m hoping to take a chance to review a bunch of wheels like this. Almost all wheels have strengths and flaws. Knowing what they are will help everyone make a good decision about what to get. I know there are many people that can’t try a wheel before buying.

This entry was posted in spinning, wheel review. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Little Victoria

  1. PuppyMomma says:

    I had problems with the brake band. Didn’t like the stuff they used for it. But otherwise, I think its a wheel I’d own if I wanted to travel.

    But the real comment is…I like that fiber!

    And the rug.

  2. Chante says:

    I like the fiber too (I’m headed over to the store right now to check if it’s there).

    I don’t really have any comments about the Victoria. My first wheel has scotch tension so it wasn’t that hard for me to get adjusted to it. Plus my first wheel is an Ashford Traddy so I’m also used to the small bobbins. The only minor detail that I could have done without was attaching the little plastic treadle bar cap to the wheel. For some reason this took (takes?) me a long time to get on and off. It may just be me but that was the only fiddly thing about it.

    Other than that, I luv my wheel. Very light, very fast and oh so portable. I can’t wait for the weather to get better so I can take her out in the park.

  3. Beth says:

    When you say the flyers have all changed, do you mean there are new flyers for the bobbin-driven S10/S15/S17 too? Or just flyer-driven wheels? ‘Cause I like the new hook – it’s really appealing. I have this weird thing that happens as I start spinning (sometimes), not sure what causes it, but the tension seems to change between the bobbin-hooks-oriface and the single winds further down the bobbin and not as neatly. Doesn’t always happen but I bet it wouldn’t happen at all with that new flyer hook setup. What do you think?

  4. Sara says:

    Oh gosh is that wheel pretty!

  5. ErickaJo says:

    I’ve been wanting to try this wheel. I love my Louet S51DT, and it’s not a horrible to haul around, but I love the thought of having a wheel that could fit in an overhead compartment! I’m not big on the hatbox wheels.

    I wonder about those new flyers… if it’s not broke, I try not to tinker, but still… If too many people tell me they like them more, I might end up getting one and hoping that Chris doesn’t notice ;)

    Thanks for the review!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Thank you for the review. I’ve been intrigued by the Louet. Someday when I’m ready for a second wheel…

  7. Jennifer says:

    I love my Victoria! However, in the 3 months I’ve had it, I’ve now broken the footman connector and completely snapped the scotch tension, requiring a line and spring replacement. Either I’m just really hard on it, or the durability is different than the bigger wheels.

    I also have a heck of a time plying on it. I haven’t tried again since I’ve replaced the line and spring on the scotch tension, so perhaps it will be better now. I couldn’t get plyed yarn to wind on to save my life. I’ve been plying from 2 Victoria bobbins onto my S-17, which, based on bobbin size works far better anyway. It would just be nice to be able to feel like I had a decent plying machine with one setup.

    And as for the flyer, I like it. A lot. It seems to be very useful for filling the bobbin more evenly. I don’t have huge ruts of empty space that I find on my S-17 bobbins in between the hooks.

    Just my $0.02

  8. Amy says:

    Thanks for the review. I have been curious about Vicky for a while. I couldn’t decide between her or my Little Gem. I think I made the right choice. Now I just have to decide if I want to have my LG upstairs and another bigger wheel downstairs?

  9. Thanks for the info- I love my Victoria. She is my first wheel and I haven’t had a problem with her at all. I am spinning pretty thinly though- had to try really hard to get that 2 ply DK weight I just posted about.

    She is great for apartment living though. Very easy to learn on also.

  10. Josiane says:

    Thank you for the review! If some of your readers are interested in some more information about this wheel, Abby Franquemont has also reviewed the Victoria a while ago: http://www.abbysyarns.com/wordpress/?p=26

  11. Julia says:

    Ooo, Very Nice! Thanks for the review! I have a Joy already,and it travel well, but I would love to try out the Victoria!

  12. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for the review. I was considering one but bought a Fricke folding due to money at the time. With a bag and a few accessories, I could have just bought the Victoria. But, I like the Fricke so far now that I took off the Delta flyer.

    But, questions, like Beth, I wonder if the new flyers will fit on the older S10’s. I love my S10 but like the look of the new flyer.

    One other question, do you sell the drive bands for the Louets and the Fricke’s?

    I was at a spinning demo Saturday and the demonstrator pulled out some gorgeous Spunky fiber.

  13. carrie says:

    I like the size of the new wheel. I have a limited amount of space, and if I get a spinning wheel, it shall have to be a small one. Thank you for the very in-depth review. I think she is very pretty, and looks like she’ll do her best by you =)

Leave a Reply

