Stuff it

This is a really easy and versatile side or meal. Plus it looks good if you don’t broil it too much.
stuffedacornsquash
The recipe will make a meal for 2 or sides for 4
Squash
1 lg or 2 sm acorn squash
olive oil
Cut the squash in half – scoop out the seeds and goop – brush over the innards with olive oil and set skin side down on a baking sheet, bake at 350 until you can pierce the squash easily with a fork. You can use other squash or a pumpkin. I prefer the Acorn because it’s not too fleshy and it’s just the right size.

Stuffing:
2 cups cooked brown rice
1/4 cup cooked wild rice
1 med onion
6 ounces of chopped mushrooms
Garlic, s&p, Soy sauce
Saute the onions, garlic and mushrooms, mix all other ingredients in and fill the squash halves. This is my basic recipe for rice stuffing. If you are looking for a protein or iron boost, add tofu or omit the wild rice and add in Lentils. This stuffing is also good with chopped spinache.

Once the halves are filled with your stuffing, add cheese (soy cheeese is what I used) or not, place under the broiler for a bit. Watch them or you’ll end up with black spots like mine. They were still good to eat, just didn’t look quite so pretty.

Did any one make the Crab Enchilada’s from HERE last week? I made them. I don’t have a picture of how they came out. We substituted the soy alternatives for the dairy and it was so good! Boogie Baby loved them enough to lick her plate.
bbeatscrabench
She looks drugged doesn’t she? It’s that the enchilada’s were so darn good.

KNITTING…
I’m still working on that brown sweater. I have one more piece to go and then I can get to seeming.

SPINNING…
I brought home a Victoria from the shop over the weekend. I wanted to give it a once, twice and thrice over. My next post I’ll have written up my review for this little gal.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes, spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stuff it

  1. Julie says:

    I love the picture of Boogie Baby :)

  2. LaBean says:

    Whoa whoa whoa… brown sweater? You just STARTED! You move fast!!

    Stuffed Squash. I need to get on the ball with showing my kids new foods. Sounds good. I probably will sub the lentils for rice.. not sure how I feel about rice IN stuff(unless it’s maki rolls or pudding :D).

    You know, This is where my brain leaves my body, cause I thought the shop WAS your house :)) No really. It just seemed the practical thing to do. Lots of small business owners do that here: have their shop on the first level and live on the upper levels. Wow. Learn something new every day.

  3. Amy says:

    I haven’t tried stuffed squash, but a family favorite is stuffed roasted peppers. I will give the squash a try!

    What a sweety baby!

    I can’t wait to hear your review of the Victoria. She is so very intriguing

  4. Mary says:

    What a great ad for your cooking!

  5. husbeast says:

    Yeah, I heard they were good…

  6. JenCW says:

    Freakin cute kid!! I’ve said it before. Yeah, she looks like hubby, but I think this one has your eyes.

    I may even make the crab enchiladas. I love enchilada, so toss in some crab and I will probably like it even more.

    Take care!

  7. Monika says:

    I love you baby pics!

  8. Beth says:

    I just got to see a Victoria in person this weekend. It’s TINY. Too bad it doesn’t take the same bobbins as other Louets.

  9. Gina House says:

    Boogie Baby is beautiful and oh, so cute licking the plate! My little guy would only do that if the plate had vanilla ice cream on it!

  10. Katie says:

    Amy, you have to go check out a t-shirt!

    http://www.knottygirls.com/jenla.blog/

    It’s a yarn skull and crossbones (gotta scroll down near the end of the post)!

  11. Arleta says:

    Oh my gosh! That picture is great! Hehehe!

    Wonder if my picky eater would like it as much. I love the recipes you share. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

