Picnic

The air was tons warmer over the weekend. The giant snow banks are gone and the sun is working at melting the rest of it. This is the time of year that gets me really excited thinking about hot weather and hot weather food. I made iced tea and a big pot of pasta salad. My idea with the pasta salad was to make it like my Mom’s but Vegan and GF friendly. Her pasta salad features egg which I replaced with tofu. Normally I would have crumbled the tofu but it makes it hard for the baby creature to eat so in my version I cubed it.
pastasalad_gfv

PASTA SALAD
Brown Rice noodles (I like rotini) – you need about 4-6 ounces.
1/4 cup Red onions – chopped
1/4 cup of a Green vegetable – ideas – Peas, chopped asparagus, broccoli
1/2 package Tofu – crumbled or cubed if you have baby creatures.
Amounts of the following vary to taste:
Dijon mustard**
Nayonaise**
ginger, S&P, soy sauce, corriander

** If you you can get the vegan version of Dinonaise it’s awesome and perfoct for dishes like this.

Cook the noodles. Cooking brown rice noodles is a little tricky. If you over cook them, they’re not just a little limp like regular noodles, they become slimey and rather gross. Follow the directions on the package, or time them. I put mine in for 7 minutes. Rememeber, they continue to cook after you drain them unless you drop them into cold water. While doing that, saute the onions and then the Tofu with it. Season with a bit of soy sauce, ginger, and corriander.

Then combine everything.
Put them in a big bowl and take them to your picnic. This is one of those dishes that is well suited to being served at room temperature.

I’ve started a new knitting project. I’ll have to save that for later. I need to go open the shop now.

This entry was posted in recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Picnic

  1. katrin says:

    noodle salads are an all-time-favorite! they are so versatile and there are so many, many yummy receipes!

    YUMMY!!! XD

  2. Sara says:

    You have the most delicious recipes… you should put them all in a book and sell them at your shop!

  3. Susan says:

    Mmmmm, that looks good! I have got to try that. I think I might try eating it hot, but since tofu is a frightening concept for the rest of my family, I will have lots left over and will be able to eat it cold/room temperature, too.

  4. Julie says:

    I agree with Sara! Your recipes always look so yummy. I’m definitely going to make this one.

  5. Amy says:

    Oh, that looks so yummy! I have been getting the warm weather bug too. I have stocked up on lemonade and I have been eyeing the sun tea jar.

  6. Annalea says:

    I’m excited to try this when it warms up here. Thanks so much for the recipe. :o) Oh, and we like Veganaise. If you buy the kind made with grapeseed oil, it’s even better.

  7. Tonia says:

    Yumm that looks really good. Too bad I can’t do the tofu thing. :( Enjoy it twice as much for me. :)

  8. Arleta says:

    Mmmm. That looks good.

    Love the knitting from your last post, too. I think more color more better! :)

  9. Rebekah says:

    Oh I love pasta salads in the summer, like you said nothing sounds better then a good salad in the heat of the day.

    Question, do you find it hard for your kids to get the amount of protein they need being vegan? I’ve always wondered that. I’m obviously not a vegetarian or a vegan but I’m very interested in it, espeically for the health benefits.

Leave a Reply

