Green and Not Green

First the Not Green

Spanish Rice is something that my Mom used to make. The recipe I use today is very different than the one she used to make us as kids but it’s just as good. It’s also incredibly easy
recipe_spanishrice

2 cups cooked brown rice
1 16 ounce jar of Salsa
1/2 cup of cooked Black Beans
1/2 cup kernel corn
Soy Cheddar Cheese
optional – cubed tofu

Preheat oven to 350F
Mix everything together except the Cheese. Personally I don’t like the tofu in the mix but the Baby Creature of the house really likes it so I put it in there. Everything is all mixed up and placed into a casserole dish. Top with the cheese (if you are avoiding soy, you can use Mochi instead). Cover and bake until it starts to get bubbly – about 30-45 minutes. Uncover and put back in the oven to let the cheese crisp up a bit – 10 to 15 minutes.

This is also pretty good with tofutti sour cream instead of the cheese. But put the tofutti sour cream after you’re done cooking just before you serve the rice. My recipe serves 4 people or 2 really hungry people.

On to the GREEN
The yarn that was punishing me from yesterday is sweating it out in a plastic bag. I’m done with it, it’s found a new home and I’m through with it. I dyed a new batch of that color early Saturday just after posting and was able to start casting on Sunday morning.
wip_punishmegreen_1
But that’s not the whole story. If we skipped all day Saturday you would be missing my terrible plight of the finding of the green. I felt the strong need on Saturday to cast on green socks. I needed it. It was for some reason important. My little knit brain got obsessed with the idea of green socks.
I cast these on:
wip_stripestella_1
It’s self striping Regia yarn that I was going to do Stella’s Razor Edge socks with them. After knitting the garter band, and realizing green had yet to show up…. I got bored. I needed green and while this has a stripe of green, it just wasn’t enough…. MORE GREEN

I cast on the 2nd Vineyard sock:
wip_vineyard_2ndsockstart
It has green in it. I think it even has more green than the striped Regias. Still, I was pining away for the “Punish Me Green” socks. I needed those. I needed all green.

In my sadness for the green, I gave up. I finished one RPM sock in the wonderful Cherry Slush from Union Center It’s not green but I can forgive it.
wip_rpm_cherryslush

It’s a pretty sock and it will go great with the shoes.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Green and Not Green

  1. Joni says:

    You’re so funny, sock hopping looking for just the right fix. I do that too. Don’t you feel sorry for poeple who can’t just go make a new one when they tangle up their yarn? ;) That is a very pretty green.
    Your rpm is fun! Can’t wait to see the shoe-meets-clog pic.

  2. Heather says:

    “I felt the strong need on Saturday to cast on green socks. I needed it. It was for some reason important. My little knit brain got obsessed with the idea of green socks.”
    Oh how i identified with that statement! How many of our projects start out with just that same feeling? And then there is the peace that comes over once it is cast-on, or the dye-pot simmers, or the fabric slides through the machine….aaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
    Can’t wait to see the finished socks!

  3. Arleta says:

    That recipe sounds good! I might have to try it sometime soon.

    I am so jealous of your shoes! They’re so cool. Lucky socks! LOL

  4. Jennifer says:

    I love the RPM! It will be perfect with the shoes.

  5. Weaver says:

    I’m jealous of your green!!! They look beautiful! guess I’ll go weave now ;) I’m thinking that I won’t find my perfect green sock yarn until I have you dye it for me. Soon, very soon. :)

  6. Amy says:

    When an Idea bangs around in your head like that, it can be physicaly painful not to start that project. That is a great green too!

  7. pippi says:

    Where are the ‘shrooms???
    You are cheating! (water, rice and shrooms!)
    ;0

    MWAH!
    XO!
    NWH!

  8. Gina House says:

    Wow! Super sock blog! I have to admit that my favorite is the first green one….that shade of green is so spring-y and fresh. Oh, and the rice looks YUMMMY! (oh, yeah, and I also talked a bit about you on my newest podcast….I know, I know…can’t help it….I can’t wait to buy some more Spunky fiber!!!…just savin’ up)

  9. Norma says:

    Mmmm, that rice dish sounds so good right now. whining: I’m hunnnngrryyyy!

  10. DeeAnn says:

    Love the greens! Definitely obsession quality ;-)

    Never added corn or tofu but sounds like one of my favorite dishes – with black olive slices on top. Dang it, your blog always makes me hungry! :)

  11. Sara says:

    That rice looks amazing… I just might have to whip up a batch of this over the weekend.

    And I hear you about having to use a certain color… mine right now is orange- I am going to be really bummed when I finish the pair of socks I am working on right now!

Leave a Reply

