Tattoo Gnocchi

I know it’s an odd title but there is a story behind it. You’re in luck, it’s a short story.
The talented tatooist, Jennifer Moore, and I often talk about food when I go in for my tattoo appointments. We’re on similarly restrictive diets, so it’s always good to throw out recipes and ideas with another. We eventually got on the subject of Gnocchi and together we came up with this recipe.
See, short.

Sweet potato Gnocchi (vegan and GF)
2 large sweet potatoes – cooked and mashed.
1 flax seed “egg” *
1 cup rice/spelt/flax/buckwheat flour mixed with 1 tsp baking powder**
1 tsp sea salt
1/4 tsp fresh ground nutmeg

*Flax seed can replace an egg but you need to use it right off, it’s not something you cna make a bunch of and save it for later. Grind/pulverize 3 Tbs of flax seeds, then mix with 3-5 TBS of water. Let it sit for about 15 minutes, it will have the gelatinous texture of an egg white.

**As you know, all the different flours have a different flavor, so give your favorite one a try or try a new one. I used Buckwheat flour and it was really good. I mixed in 1 tsp of baking powder because flours that aren’t wheat based sometimes seem flat, I wanted there to be a touch of air in them, so I added a bit of the baking powder – you can leave it out, it’s not crucial.

Mix all dry ingredients together and set aside. Make a well in center of potatoes and cover all over with flour mixture. Place the flax “egg” in the center of well and using a fork, stir into flour and potatoes. After it’s all mixed well, kneading gently until you form a ball that is dry to the touch. Gentle is key here, don’t over knead or be too rough, ot it will turn out a little rubbery.

Roll out into a worm shape about an inch in diameter then cut into 1 inch chunks. roll these or flick pieces with a fork to create that Gnocchi look (or if you’re lazy like me, just chop up the pieces 1/2 inch chunks and call it good). Drop the pieces into boiling water and cook until they float. When the gnocchi float remove them with a slotted spoon and dip into cool water to stop them from cooking. Toss them with your favorite sauce or topping and serve.

I know it’s a little time consuming, but it’s worth it. Even the girls ate it last night so it sounds like a restrictive recipe but it’s good, and that’s what counts. They ate it with a little bit of Parmesian Regiano. I fried up some vegetables to go with it. Originally it was discussed that a simple topping of fresh basil would be good. I didn’t have fresh basil, so I went with sauted onions, garlic, and mushrooms. I also added in a bit more sea salt and some Oregano to my topping.

Next subject….
I have no knitting for you today. I’ve been trying to finish up that commissioned project. I have about 3 hours of knitting, and 1 hour of pattern editing to do and I’ll be done. Fingers crossed it will be done in the next 2 days I can go back to obsessing about the socks.

Friday Miss Frecklegirl didn’t think that the “Hot Cup of Hoffee” was a good thank you. Well, it wasn’t my favorite video so I’m posting my favorite. I’ve posted it before and I think it’s good enough to post again. I’m hooked on a feeling. How’s that?

I’m not sure if the comments are working again. They stopped over the weekend so we’ll see what happens. I’m close to giving up and installing Haloscan on the site.

This entry was posted in life, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tattoo Gnocchi

  1. Pingback: » Tattoo Gnocchi

  2. Arleta says:

    That sounds pretty good. I had no idea you could do that with flax seed.

    Hope you comments are working again!!

  3. Adrian says:

    Oh, man, that looks very good. Sweet potatoes are my favorite. Sweet Potato Pot Pie is the next thing I need to try.

    If your comments aren’t being mailed to you, you can respond by email. Go to Manage, Comments, then just click on the email for each comment. It’s super weird that it is happening at all, though. I’ve never had a single glitch with WP comments.

  4. Tanya says:

    Good luck wrapping up your project. It will be nice for you to move on to other obsessions :) Thanks as always for the great recipe. I’ve learned so much about vegan cooking just by reading your blog.

    T

  5. Weaver says:

    Your recipes are always hits here, can’t wait to try this one too!

  6. Amy says:

    Good luck finishing the comission! I hate having a project hanging over me when there are other projects I want to be working on.

  7. Joni says:

    It never occurred to me that I could make gnocchi from scratch–I just always assumed that without a pasta machine, I was destined to have to buy all my pasta. Silly! We love gnocchi, and yours sounds so much better than the frozen stuff. I hope to try this soon, thank you!!

    So, because you don’t have enough to do (ha ha ha!), have you thought about writing a cookbook?

  8. Oh, that sounds really good.

    I could not turn away from that video. I dunno if that is a good thing, but there it is. ;) hahaha

  9. Nan says:

    just returned from loading Argile Cow onto the truck. She should be with you on Wed. Take good care of her

  10. Gina House says:

    Wow! The gnocci sounds like something else! Love that flax! Dying to see how the comissioned project is coming along. Do you feel less happy knitting that than a knitting project for yourself? The few times I’ve done something like that, I kept thinking to myself, “I could be knitting on MY project!” Hopefully, you’re having fun, though!

  11. Mmm…I haven’t had gnocchi in years! That looks yummy!

  12. Brenda says:

    Jennifer did a tattoo for me a couple of years ago, she was great. I posted about it last week after Scout did. You should show us yours!! And the gnocchi looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

