The Shop

I know a couple of you have been curious about this…..

The shop is open. Although I’m not ready for a “Grand Opening” It’s mostly set up and there is actually quite a bit of fiber and yarn there.

I suppose I haven’t really made a huge announcement because it’s small (about the size of a double booth at a fiber show). I don’t have the remodel done, heck it hasn’t even really been started. The remodel will make the space HUGE and there will be a giant dye kitchen.

Obviously the pictures don’t show all that is there. I have a few more pots of spindles, 3 more tubs of fiber, 2 more tubs of yarn, 3 more wheels that are set up and 2 flip looms that aren’t shown.

Right now I’m open Mon, Wed, and Saturday 10am-3pm or by appointment. I’m working most days just not always at this location. I need to be at the other location dyeing. Which is why I need to build a new dye kitchen at the shop location then I’ll be there at least 5-6 days each week. I’m hoping that within 6 months or so I’ll be able to have it done. I’m not sure if I’m being too ambitious but I’m going to sure try to get all of it done. Then when the shop is bigger I can have a spinning group and classes. Even without it done I might do some classes out on the patio. The patio is nice for doing some dyeing or fleece prep. I’ll make sure to keep everyone posted. I’ve also signed up for a bunch of shows, I’m just waiting to hear if I’ve been accepted.

While we’re on the subject of shops, some of you may have figured out that I’m selling to a few of your local shops. Check it out HERE to see where you can find me off the web.

This entry was posted in Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to The Shop

  1. Joni says:

    It’s glorious, Amy! I would be in soooo much trouble if I lived nearby.

  2. Gina House says:

    Oh, everything looks gorgeous so far! My knitting group, the ManchVegas Knitters, will HAVE to make a trip to see the new store! Another trip to Maine!! Woo-hoo! I love the spindle and fiber section!

  3. PuppyMomma says:

    Hoooweee! Look at all those spindles!

  4. Karen says:

    Why oh why can’t you live in CT? It looks wonderful!

  5. k8 says:

    Man — you’re living my dream, albeit on the opposite coast from where I hope to eventually open my yarn shop/dye kitchen. Very cool, and good luck with it all!

  6. pippi says:

    It looks so great love!!!
    Don’t forget, my offer to help with the remodel still stands!!! I can swing a hammer, sweep and paint.. (and I’ve been known to do other things as well.)
    I’m sooooooooo happy for you!

    XXXOOO!

  7. Amy says:

    That store would melt my credit cards! It is a very good thing that I live all the way in the Southwest. If you ever have an urge to expand to Arizona, I would be more than happy to open a franchize.

  8. margene says:

    YAY for Amy! The place looks great and sounds like it will be even more wonderful when you get everything finished! Congrats!

  9. Lisa says:

    Ooooh so pretty! I wish I could come visit, but alas Michigan is a tad far for a weekend visit, and my sweet dh who frequently takes business trips hasn’t made it to Maine yet for one (and it doesn’t look like he will). Darn it!

  10. Jennifer says:

    Hey Amy! Congratulations on the shop, and the upcoming dye kitchen! This is all so awesome, and I wish you the very best!

    Hope to see you in 2007!

  11. Arleta says:

    Oh wow! I need to plan a vacation around coming to visit your shop! Awesome!!

  12. Rebekah says:

    How exciting! I only wished I llived close enough to visit. Maybe some day.

  13. Wendy says:

    Yay! I’m so excited for you! May all your remodeling and dye kitchen construction go like beautiful smooth buttah, and your shop be a happy place of peaceful creativity. Everything looks beautiful.

  14. Nonnahs says:

    Yay! Congrats on your shop opening! It looks wonderful. Best of luck with everything!

  15. Tanya says:

    HUGE congrats! How exciting. The ladies that I went on the yarn crawl with are planning a trip to Maine this summer (I can’t go because we already have too many trips planned). I’ll have to see if you store is close to where they’re staying and send them in. Best of luck!

    Tanya

  16. *THUNDEROUS APPLAUSE*

    I’m so happy for you, it looks like you have just done wonders! YAY!

  17. Congratulations! You are really getting there!

    I just know it is going to be a big success.

  18. del says:

    Ahhh, you are so LUCKY!!! It looks great so far, like a knitter’s dream.

  19. Wow…oh wowie-wow!!! I know it’s small, but I really want to just move in and live there. Nice job! I probably should gather up a gaggle of knitters ‘n such for a road trip…

  20. Katie says:

    Good for you!!

  21. Dianna says:

    I’m with Simeon – I can swing a hammer, and have even been known to do some wiring of light fixtures and have done plumber’s tape…. just let me know! And I echo the congratulations on the reworked space!

  22. DeeAnn says:

    Woman, I am so excited for you!!! If it was a little bit shorter of a commute I’d let you put me to work in a heartbeat :) If you need to commision anything at longer distances, just holler.

    Wooo Hooo!!! Congratulations Amy!!

  23. Sara says:

    *squee* I can’t wait to come down and visit!

  24. Bad Hippie says:

    It looks wonderful! Think the husband will agree to a trip to Maine for our belated honeymoon?

  25. Heather says:

    uhg! Lisbon is an hour from Naples! Drat! We camp in Naples every summer, but I don’t think hubby will let me escape to go that far. hmmm…any child-friendly attractions near you?

  26. Lynn says:

    Hmmm, you’re only three hours from me, now let me see, if I start driving at 7 AM Saturday, I can be there when you open! Yay!

    Oh. Poop. I have to go to a knitters’ retreat this weekend near home – eating, drinking, laughing, knitting, spinning, and learning to dye sock yarn on Saturday (then I’ll understand just how difficult it is to do what you do). OK, I guess you’re off the hook for THIS Saturday. Maybe when I get my tax return….

    And congratulations! You’re a wonderfully creative person, and it’s just a joy to see you succeeding so gloriously!

  27. Norma says:

    Yay for you, Sweetpea. I can imagine how exhausting this all is. Remember to take care of yourself. XO

  28. Hannah says:

    Oh your shop looks gorgeous enough to tempt me to swim over from England just to fondle your yarn. I wish we had shops anywhere near that yummy over here.

Leave a Reply

