Good Bean

I love a good baked bean but they’re overloaded with sugar. Maybe that’s why I like them so much. If you look at a baked bean recipe, it’s just a ton of sugar. I’m done with that processed sugar stuff so I’m trying to find a new baked bean. I’ve combined Ranch Beans and Baked Beans without processed sugar to get my “Good Beans”

1 16oz bag of Navy beans
Water
1 6oz can of Tomato Paste
4 Tbs Apple Cider Vinegar
1 large onion chopped fine
3-6 cloves of garlic chopped fine
1 tsp mustard powder
1.5 tsp Chili Powder
(optional if you like sweet) 1/4 cup of Maple Syrup or Barley Malt Syrup

Soak the beans over night. Discard the water and wash the beans, then place back into your pot or slowcooker. Mix all the other ingredients together.Mix this into the beans. Cover with water and cook on low for 6-7 hours. Beans are this easy. It’s all in the prep and the patience.

On the fiber front

New wheels arrived.
Some Louets have been added to stock. There are 4 Baynes wheels here. Two are getting their finish so I’ll have a picture of them soon. I’m going to review the Schacht Reeves. The first in the series of the wheels. I want to spen some time with the wheels before I review them so I’ll be doing the ones that I have in the shop and if I get my hands on other ones, I’ll review those too.

I always thought they were nice but putting one together and seeing the workman ship was extraordinary. Even my Dad had to stop and pet the wheel. He’s not into spinning but he’s been a fine woodworker for as long as I can remember. I keep threatening to show the pretty pretty furniture he’s made for me. He’s been working on cabinetry for my living room and I promise once that’s done, I’ll post it. Someday I’ll be getting him to make a custom wheel. I bet he’s already designing it in his head.

Back to subject…
This beauty:

Click and it will get bigger
I spent some quality time Saturday working with it. I’ll start at the beginning. Putting it together was easy. I followed the instructions but I didn’t really need it. It was obvious where everything went and how it all went together. I am impressed with all the wooden screws and plugs. Then the brass bit for the treadles is so gorgeous. Everything is balanced and it spins fast and even.

I was told the double treadle might feel odd but it doesn’t. I do sit a little closer to the orifice than usual but the double treadle is still really nice and easy. I have the wheel set up as a double drive although you can change it to a single drive with a brak band. I spun some BFL to start it out, that’s what I have in the shop basket for people to use to test wheels so I gave it a go. BFL of course is easy. I was spinning a nice easy balanced lace weight yarn. I figured I’d give this wheel a real test and got my stash of Cashmere out. Easy lace weight cashmere. It was fantastic.

The one part where I think this wheel would fail is bulky novelty yarn. I think you could do that on this wheel but it’s just not suited for it. The bobbin will probably hold 3-4 ounces and obviously with bulky, that won’t get you very far. I think if you like to make fine and even yarn then this wheel is worth looking into.

I also have a Schacht Reeves 24 inch wheel in stock but I have yet to set it up. The shop is still a tad small (we’re working on it) but I’ll have it set up to bring to the next fiber show with me.

This entry was posted in recipes, spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Good Bean

  1. Joni says:

    That’s a nice-looking wheel! Right behind it, is that a glimpse into your brick ‘n mortar? (I’m dying, really. It’s awesome to see all the rovings hanging together like that.)

    I thought beans wouldn’t cook with tomato in them. I believe you though, and we’re a bean-eating family! So I will definitely have to try your recipe. We’re trying to eat better, and I would be happy to try the beans without all the junky sugar. :) I’m going to soak beans tonight, and cook them tomorrow… I’ll let you know how everyone likes it! :)

  2. Heather says:

    oh, great — and you cook, too! lol My kitchen is rarely used for that function anymore, now that I have found dyeing, and the dining room table usually cannot be found under the craft rubble. Can’t wait for my sweater yarn to arrive! Thanks for getting it done so quickly!

  3. Bad Hippie says:

    You know, that’s a cool recipe! I betcha some of the cheaper canned beans have high fructose corn syrup, too. And with a corn allergy, that’s out! It’s nice to have a good alternative that’s crock-pot friendly.

    Today’s bread day! And perhaps some knitting, too – but only after work is done.

  4. Jennifer says:

    What a gorgeous wheel!

  5. Gina House says:

    That wheel is amazing!!! I think I’m outgrowing my Joy and looking for a bigger wheel for at home…not sure what to get. I love the look of this one! How much does one go for?

    Those beans look mighty tasty!!!

  6. Suzie says:

    hehe a bean recipe and then a subtitle of “on the fiber front” you crack me up…….

    Or perhaps I am easily amused and pun-sensitive?

  7. Tanya says:

    Mmmm, the beans sound really good. I gave up Splenda for Lent and am trying to oust most of the processed sugar too. Its harder than I thought it would be but worth it. I’m adding this one to my recipe file.

    Love all of those gorgeous rovings behind the wheel.

    T

  8. Karen says:

    That wheel is beautiful! And the beans look pretty yummy too. I haven’t had good luck with making beans from scratch.

  9. margene says:

    Oh, you’re making me drool!

  10. Brenda says:

    The wheel is beautiful! And I’m just learning to spin and am in the market for a wheel, so this is something to drool over. Maybe when I get a little more advanced…

  11. Amy says:

    beayootiful wheel and the fiber behind it looks so fluffy! My Dad is a woodworker too and I am beginning to think he is looking more forward to seeing my wheel on my summer trip than me ;D

  12. Adrian says:

    Oh, the wheel. And your shop! I can see your shop! Rad rug, lady. :)

  13. That is a lovely wheel…

    Is that the SHOP? Love how you have the display- pegged wall is neat!

Leave a Reply

