There I was

driving home thinking of yarn. I always think of yarn or knitting these days when my mind has an idle moment. It’s better than the food it used to think of so we embrace the idle yarn moments. Eventually my thoughts crossed into the realm of sock yarn. You see I’m way behind all the giftees in socks, they all have more socks than me so I need some. In fact I need 2 pair just to catch up to them. But what socks do I want?

I love my thick socks. I make socks for myself mostly from handspun or Sport/DK weight. My favorite shoes (or at least the ones I wear all winter long) are these clunky things from Gripfast. They’re a little wide so the thick socks keep my feet snug in them, I like that. Plus the thicker ones are just a little warmer and no one wants cold Boogie feet.

There in my idle moment it had been decided. I would knit more thick socks for myself. Most specifically I was thinking of this yarn that I had just spun:

The dots would be snow which it’s doing pretty fiercely right now, LOVE IT!

Then I get home and there are boxes waiting for me. 3 Boxes from Baynes wheels (yes the shop will have them all set up tomorrow) and a box of shoes. This all ties in, hang on. So I’m wearing my newest blue socks from handspun and I try them on. Shoes don’t fit. They are the cutest things on earth (unless you talk to husbeast who thinks they’re ugly). I take off my socks and they fit. I try on a thin pair of socks made with fingering weight, they still fit. I grab a pair of sport weight socks, they don’t fit again.

In a split second I changed my mind about the perfect socks weight for me. I need more thin socks. Really, wouldn’t you knit new socks for these?:

Yes, I’ll admit they are silly. But how can a girl pass up clogs with a knit skull upper. Really! You can’t expect me to pass it up. In fact I got really obsessive over these shoes once I found they existed but I don’t need to be telling that crazy story. I swear my family is ready to throw me in the boobie hatch already. You can find these on Ebay, Amazon and Zappos. But most sizes and colors are already gone.

I have a picture of the February club yarn. Most everyone, except international clubbers, should have their stuff by now. I’ll have more info at the club blog

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to There I was

  1. Carla says:

    I understand how muggle family members can go crazy hearing such stories. Mine nearly went insane with my obsession over the sheep Birkenstock clogs. But, PUHLEESE, do tell where you found these pirate clogs? Prettttty PUHLEESE?

  2. margene says:

    I’m so happy to have signed up for the Spunky Club in time to get such a great colorway> I’ll be watching my mailbox every month for a nice surprise.
    Your pirate shoes are perfect! I might even be inticed with a pair. Shoes should be fun and comfortable.

  3. I need socks, too. Unfortunately I just bought this new spindle from a certain someone and I can’t stop playing with it long enough to actually knit a pair…

    Skull shoes are a must-have and the socks should be tailored to fit. I have the thick socks for my Frye boots and the thin ones for my more delicate and girly-type shoes. The perfect sock is defined by the perfect shoe.

  4. Joni says:

    Omg, the clogs are the best! I love them. I can see why you’ve been obsessed with them!

  5. Julie says:

    Those shoes are great!

  6. Jennifer says:

    I love the February colorway. It’s beautiful and the fiber is so soft.

    Very cool clogs too!

  7. Arleta says:

    I think I’d go without socks if I could wear those clogs. They are great!!

  8. Amy says:

    those are the coolest shoes I have ever seen! *runs off to check if my size is still in stock*

  9. janine says:

    Oooh did I hear Baynes wheels!
    Will you be offering them on the website?

  10. Brenda says:

    The shoes are great! I have different thickness socks for different shoes. It probably stems from buying shoes because I like them and then making them fit with the perfect sock. Enjoy the snow, we’re getting buried right now!

  11. Leigh Ann says:

    I bought a pair of Mary Janes with scalloped holes in the toes just so I could show off my hand-knits through said holes, so that’s pretty sad in its own right.

  12. anj says:

    CLOGS!!!! OMG fabulous!. I love them, theya re SO YOU.

    And I see you totally making some socks just for these lovelies. Really cool.

    Did you see the new magknits has like 4 sock patterns?? perhaps one of those socks are destined for YOU!

    PS love the club blog. I should send you pics of my stuff I’ve spun.

  13. Sara says:

    Oh my goodness… I LOVE those shoes! Hmm… I wonder if a pair of fuzzy feet could be made in a similar pattern??

  14. Bethe says:

    Love and adore the skully clogs. Can’t seem to find them in my size. Dammit. I had a hell of a time finding the sheep birkies in my size though, too. Sock to shoe pairing is very important and one of the joys of being able to knit your own socks. =)

    I haven’t spun the Feb. fiber yet, but the Jan. came out great!

  15. Tanya says:

    Wouldn’t it be nice if there was a funny farm for fiber fiends? We could all sit in our corners and rock and knit free from the stares and chiding of the non-fiber world – tee hee!

    Love the shoes. I can see why you had to have them.

    T

  16. Hannah says:

    Hee! I love the shoes! Husbeast obviously has limited fashion sense

  17. Heather says:

    O.M.G. those shoes are awesome! I have to find a pair! I have been on a quest for clogs with peep holes in the front that will show off my socks. The one pair I have are getting pretty beat!

  18. Inky says:

    arrgghh = hate you!! had to buy those shoes. they are too cute. thanks for the enabling, i wasn’t able to find black in my size, but did find the pink and brown, and in a disgusting girlie way, those will do fine.

    arrrgghhh!!!

  19. del says:

    OMGosh, TOO cute! Yes, you should definitely knit more socks that will fit in those.

  20. Those clogs are adorable. :)

    I wanna knit myself some socks pronto after reading this post!

  21. Gina House says:

    Adorable clogs!!!! And, that yarn….so fresh and serene!

  22. Karen says:

    Those clogs are so you! I’m glad you were able to get a pair that fit you…wearing thinner socks will be worth it!

  23. rita says:

    Of course you had to have the right socks to go with those shoes! I’ve always been one to buy shoes and then find something to wear with them. Birks have been my preferred brand for the last 13 years, but about 6 weeks ago I discovered Mion. *fans self* They are sooo comfy, and they show a lot of my hand-knit socks.

  24. Hello people says:

    Thanks boys2a0dab36f24bc300367a3cf2e9cdbc38

Leave a Reply

