Spectrum

I love Project spectrum. I think it hits me right in my subconscious. I’m minding my own business and WHAM! I realize that I’m knitting and spinning with the colors of the month. It’s not like I planned to knit all with blue, it’s just sort of happened. Really, I’m not a “blue” sort of gal so when everything is coming up blue then you know it’s got to be some other force at play here.

I finished these on SPA weekend.

I know it’s pretty poor blogging that I didn’t mention them before.
They’re jsut plain socks made from my handspun. Wool blend, nylon and silk noils. They are incredibly soft and hopefully the nylon will help them last forever.

While we’re on socks

I’m working on finishing these for a gift. There isn’t much left to do so you’d think I’d have them done. Not like I haven’t been in the same spot for a year or so.

This is the sweater I’ve been working on.

Which has just been put on hold so I can work on this:

Which is a commissioned project and so that’s all I can tell you about it.

I’ve been spinning quite a bit too. Much of that has been in theme as well but I’m saving that for another day. I need to get to work and get that update done in the SHOP. I know there are a few of you (and I’m not naming names, you know who you are) that have been waiting very patiently all month for this update. I’m expecting it to be done sometime in the afternoon. So you can have a leisurely morning and start stalking after lunch, or just wait for the notifying email…

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Spectrum

  1. Sara says:

    I LOVE the socks from your homespun… they look fantastic!

  2. Joni says:

    I’m so silly–I promised my son lots of computer time today. (he’s a 4-year-old with a new Blue’s Clue’s game to play) I remembered when I woke up this morning, Oh wait! The update! I hope he’s not playing when the update goes live. lol

    Amy, I love the blue socks. Maybe that type of blend, if you ever get time with your drum carder? (well, all that plus a little sparkle is always nice) I have coooold toes. ;)

  3. Oh, I’m sort of addicted to the color blue. :)
    While sorting through my stash, I’ve found that 90% of it is blue, unless it was purchased for a specific project with specific non-blue color requirements. :)

  4. Suzie says:

    Stalking yarn shops.

    What an imagination.

    I would *never* do such a thing.

  5. Jennifer says:

    Gorgeous, gorgeous blues.

  6. Amy says:

    beautiful blues! *bouncing in my seat for the update*

  7. Dianna says:

    I’ve seen that same yarn (the secret project yarn) on another blog in the past 24 hours or so….now where was it?

    I’ve been having fun with the spindles I got from you at SPA…. most people learn to spindle then go to a wheel. I’ve done the reverse, but both have their zen…. I love the way the spindles tell you what sort of yarn they want to make!

  8. marta says:

    OMG That is an incredible photo. It just made me think of The Shipping News…not the movie but the book.

  9. Mmmm…blue! I love blue. Always have. And you’ve done it proud!

  10. Arleta says:

    Wow! That is a great picture.

    I love the colors of the secret-ish project. Of course, I’m a pool girl. Love the pooling. :D

  11. Tanya says:

    Yes, you seem to a have a number of fiber stalkers. I guess it could be worse. And handspun socks are never JUST plain socks, m’dear.

    Tanya

  12. katrin says:

    beautiful socks! and i really like the first picture – it´s kind of “moody” :)

  13. Heather says:

    Funny — I’ve been noticing a theme in my spinning and knitting, too! Blues, purples and greens. You’ll have to cruise on over to my blog in the next day or so. I’m almost done with my first sock done from your Brain Freeze roving and IT IS AMAZING. I am so thrilled!

  14. Gina House says:

    Love the blue handspun socks! I think my handspun pair (made with your Swamp Monster fiber) are my most comfortable pair ever…I agree…I like the thicker socks better. My thinner ones (opal and such) seem to wear out so much more quickly.

    The commissioned project yarn is so cool!!!!

Leave a Reply

