Corruption

I love corrupting new people.
I know you do too.

The biggest coup of the weekend was that after spending a day with you guys, my Mom now knits!
She has spent lots of time with me, wears the socks I make and weeks winding yarn for the business. Yet, she has had no desire. None what so ever. One day with you guys – ONE DAY – and it’s all over. Check it out:

She did that in one day. Monday I taught her to knit. Tuesday she showed up with what she calls a “few inches”. She finished a whole ball of Noro Silk Garden! So I showed her the spit splice and she’s well into the 2nd skein now.

There is another family member that has been knitting.
Girl beast.
She’s been knitting on a corker for a while and over the holidays she started a hat on one of the round knitting looms. Just last week she said she wanted to knit with 2 needles. Ok, so I set her up to make a scarf. She did a few rows and ripped it out.
Girlbeast – “I don’t want to knit a scarf”
Me – “Then what do you want to knit?”
Girlbeast – “I want to make a sweater.”
Me – “A sweater? You know that’s a big project right?”
Girlbeast – “Yeah, I think I’ll make one for Baby Sister then it won’t be so big”.
Me – “OK, let’s go hunt down the yarn you wan to use.”

So we did
And here she is knitting on the back of the sweater:

Not to be out done, Baby Boogie is into the spinning thing. We always knew she was into the spinning thing. Or at least in love with all the pretty spindles and the wheels. The other day I had her treadling with me. Making the wheel spin is great fun. Now everytime she sees me spinning she needs to help treadle.

This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Corruption

  1. katrin says:

    oooooh, i was missing so much – didn´t notice you moved because my rss didn´t work anymore.. *sigh*

    it´s so wonderful your two “little ones” are actually enjoying your hobbies!amazing how soon children can be attracted to handwork and crafts, and even if they might change from knitting to something else with time they´ll always remember and treasure the time you spent with them, teaching them your stuff. go on with it!

  2. marta says:

    ok…you and husbeast are going to have to beat the suitors for girlbeast off with a stick! In a word: smolder. Can’t wait to see her work.

  3. Julie says:

    What a look Girlbeast has on her face. It’s like she’s saying “Of course I want to knit a sweater; scarves are for beginners!”

    YAY for you for letting her do the sweater, too!

  4. Kate says:

    Wow… you are in trouble with those two: competition for your yarn stash and your wheel? good thing you own a yarn company. when’s the *cough* brick and mortar *cough* opening (I heard oh-so-many rumors at SPA and have bribed Dan with a trip to Little Dan’s BBQ if you open a shop ).

    :) Kate

  5. LaBean says:

    ohhhh how adorable to have little one treadling. I’d try that but then I’d never get any spinning peace and surely she’d be on the wheel when I’m not looking..
    Ain’t that how it always goes? All this time and BAM one day another is brought into ‘the fold’. Hey, better late than never!

  6. Jennifer says:

    Gotta start them early!

  7. Joni says:

    So. Exciting. I love to see how you’ve infected both the older and younger generations of you family! I’m going to show my son the picture of Girlbeast knitting–maybe it will inspire him to sit still long enough to learn. (Or, maybe if I bribe him with Legos–they work for everything else.)

  8. Amy says:

    Isn’t corruption a beautiful thing! I love giving my best friend yarn and helping her with her knitting stitches :D

    The next generation of fiber artists is getting a great start. My son has been trying to knit and crochet for about 6 months, but he doesn’t have the patience. My little girl likes to help spin by pushing on the back side of the treadles.

  9. margene says:

    Look what you’ve done! Three new fiber enthusiasts in on weekend!!

  10. Dianna says:

    I thought I heard you asking her about knitting! Great job! There can’t be too many knitters and spinners in the world!

  11. Amanda says:

    Ooohh, that is a great picture of you and Baby Boogie. How fun that you are spinning together. My little Bit loves to spin too but hers is more the type that makes you dizzy, sitnspin, twisting the swings, etc.

  12. Bad HIppie says:

    Too…cute…for…words… !

    Must convince HWSRN to have a child, quick!

  13. Jaimi says:

    Yay for new knitters! I think I’m going to be teaching the Boyfriend during spring break :-)

    Oh, and I’ve fallen in love with your hair color.

  14. Karen says:

    That’s great your Mom is knitting! My Mom loves hand knit things but prefers that I do the knitting for her. And your girls were bound to catch the fiber bug sooner or later… it just turned out to be very sooner! ;)

  15. Rebekah says:

    You corrupter you! That’s wonderful. I don’t think I could ever get my mom two pick up two sticks and yarn, so that’s okay, s he’ll just stay cooking.

  16. Tanya says:

    Talk about keeping the trade in the entire Boogie family. What great pictures!

    Tanya

  17. Katie says:

    Maybe it will work out – BabyBoogie will spin the yarn and GirlBeast will knit it up! That way you don’t have to sacrifce any of your stash! And how cool to get your mom suckered in, too!

  18. Yay for Mom! I’m so glad that she had someone to mentor her early on so that she didn’t have to learn with Red Heart on the streets like so many of us. Oh, to have begun with Noro instead of having to travel the scratchy path…

    BabyBoogie and GirlBeast look like they have it all under control. Must be a genetic thing. :)

  19. Donna says:

    Great pics! Son loves to knit – he’s 9. He says all the girls gather around to see what he’s working on during indoor recess days. I guess that might be what “they” mean when “they” say “A boy who knits is never cold.”

  20. Marnie says:

    Man, that’s some killer family crafting; a force to be reckoned with. I’m sure this isn’t the last of their crafting we’ll see :)

  21. Wendy says:

    One thing I’m thankful for is teaching my mom to knit–go Moms! And go daughters! (Does she treadle in time? That’s got to be a great developmental thing, right?)

  22. Arleta says:

    Yay! I love the corruption. hehe

    My Lil’ one is knitting with the same needles as Girlbeast. She chose a scarf, though. Whatever makes you happy!

    The spinning pic is so cute! Maybe it’s the Libra thing. I want to spin, too.

  23. Adrian says:

    Ha! I managed to corrupt my mom, too, but she only knits when she’s around me. It’s kind of like people who only smoke at parties. Sounds like you did a much better job with your mom.

    I can’t tell if girlbeast is going to knit with those needles or poke my eye out.

  24. Lisak says:

    Oh, that is just cruel to start someone out on Silk Garden. She is hooked….. and ruined for anything less.

  25. Amy O' says:

    Yeah Mom! Great post… you corrupter, you! I agree with the post above – good for you for letting her try a sweater! Can’t wait to see the Feb Fiber Club!

    Pirate Girl

  26. Kate says:

    My youngest has been bugging me to teach her too. I’ll get to it soon. Your kids are absolutely adorable!!! Love your blog too. :)

  27. Emily says:

    Well, Silk Garden would make anyone become a knitter. Good job finally corrupting her!

  28. Gina House says:

    I absolutely love the pic of you and your little sweetheart at the spinning wheel! Ben only likes to stick his little fingers in mine….or pull the yarn off the bobbin!

Leave a Reply

