The Sandwich

The Sandwich can be a work of art. Sure it’s a quick lunch, an easy meal. Sometimes though, the sandwich is magnificent and well worth the extra time you spent on it. I have several different sandwiches I regularly like to make. All start with the base of homemade bread. Without the homemade bread, they simply wouldn’t be as good.

The Grilled Cheese.
If you use the soy vegan cheese or you use the regular dairy kind, the key is the homemade white bread.
I do this one in several different combinations. My favorite by far is the Jalapeno cheddar vegan cheese. It’s probably my favorite because it has a ton of flavor and it’s quick. If I make a grilled cheese for myself with other cheese, I try to combine a couple of cheese or I’ll add ina slice or two of tomato.

You know how to make a grilled cheese right? I probably don’t need to write this out but someone will ask… heat up the skillet, Butter one side of each of the bread slices, put on the skillet a slice of bread (buttered side down), place your fillings on that piece, top with the other slice of bread, buttered side up. When one side is done, flip over.

The Ultimate Tomato Sandwich

Doesn’t it look good up there.
You start with the Rye bread I had the recipe for last week. I give it a toasting in the toaster before it hits the broiler, just to make sure the bread is crunchy underneath. Saute onions and garlic, place these on the bread, place a large tomato slice over the onions, top with Feta or Soy substitute. Broil til it starts to get melty and brown.

Talk about a good sandwich.

These Monday recipes really make me hungry all over again. you can bet I’ll be baking some bread later so I can make sandwiches all week. Plus bread is good to bring to SPA in case I get stuck in my booth.

Have you heard??

Rebekka is making a crazy afghan. All shapes and all sizes of squares in wool are needed. Go check out her blog for more info. I’m going to do my best to put together a few bright squares.

Little FO’s
I found 2 little projects that had been sitting in my closet for a while.
Booties:

These had been knitted before Boogie Baby was born, I jsut never sewed them up and crocheted an edging. Bad of me I know. They’re done now. They don’t fit boogie baby of course but I’m sure someone will have a baby soon that will need booties. I probably should make a sweater to match, then I’ll really be ahead of the game for the next friend that gets knocked up.

Kidlet Tank:

This is the saddest of the 2. This was knit all but the I cord edge and straps way back when I first created the Kidlet tank pattern. I think the pattern was made in 2003 or 4. I’m hoping for 2004, three years of languishing is a tad better than 4. I love this tank. I think I need to make an adult version for myself this year. If I do, you’ll be the first to know.

I put the zipper into my sweater over the weekend and took photographs of the process. As soon as I get the tutorial written out, I’ll put it up here.

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Sandwich

  1. pippi says:

    Yummy Yummy!
    You know something, 9 out of 10 times, I burn the HELL out of my grilled cheese.
    WTF?
    Something is clearly wrong with me.

    Cute baby boogie tank!!!
    Happy Monday to ya!

    XO!

  2. Weaver says:

    Yea for a new tute!!! I was hoping you’d tell/show us how you do the zipper.

    I may have to dig out the bread maker now. any sandwich with such gorgeous onions on it is totally for me.

    Congrats on the finished projects! they look great.

  3. Jennifer says:

    That sandwich looks delicious!

  4. Donna says:

    We love your kidlet tank – Grace is wearing it all winter over turtlenecks. I even caught her wearing it under another shirt as an undershirt. I made it on the big side so I think we’ll get more time out of it too. I blogged about it, perhaps it was August.

  5. Amanda says:

    Ooohhh the little baby boogie is starting to look like her big old grown upish sister! It’s crazy when that happens, I remember quite clearly when my Bitty started to look like a kid and not so much like my little baybay.

  6. Sara says:

    Oh my stars… that sandwich looks WONDERFUL. You know… I sometimes have a hard time making a simple grilled cheese because I will get distracted by one of the kidlets, put the top piece of bread buttered side down, and then wonder why in the world it keeps sticking to the pan when I flip to that side. A culinary genius I am not!

  7. Rebekah says:

    Oh yum, I agree with everyone that sandwich looks yummy.

    Now the funniest thing I saw one day was on the back of a Miracle Whip Jar, it actually had a recipe for a turkey sandwich. Just a plain Jane Turkey sandwich. We about died laughing, it even explained in detail where to put the bread.

    Thanks for mentioning the project!

  8. mmm.. I love grilled cheese. I have been thinking of trying soy cheese- do you like any particular brand?

    I have been unearthing knitted objects around my house too- like little found treasure! :)

  9. Barbara says:

    I am so happy I just went to the new yarn shop that opened near me and I was thrilled to see them sell Spunky Eclectic. Yeah!!!

  10. Arleta says:

    Mmm. Now that’s a sandwich!

    Baby Boogie sure is getting big. What a doll.

Leave a Reply

