House warming party

And you’re all invited. It’s ok if you forgot to bring a gift, next time I see you I’ll hit you up for a bottle of wine. I’ve been baking bread. Warm baking bread is one of the most inviting smells. I didn’t want this new home to smell like plastic and circuits, fresh bread is way better. Today I’m giving up the recipes to 3 of my favorite breads.

If you have a bread machine, it makes it so easy to bake these too. I have one of the really old models that’s round. I use the machine to do the heavy work then I take it out fo rthe final rise and cook it all in a pan. It’s especially nice that way because I can bake several loaves of different bread at the same time.


Left to right – Ginger Raisin, Everyday White, Sourdough Rye

All recipes are for 2lb loafs.
I mix the warm water or with the yeast to get it going (If I’m using yeast.) I let it sit for 5 minutes while I get the rest of the ingredients together.

Ginger Raisin
1.5 tsp yeast
1/2 cup warm water
12 cup milk
4 Tbs Margarine
2 cups wheat flour
2 cups bread flour
1 tsp each cinnamon, ginger, salt
.5 tsp cloves
1 cup raisins.
3 tbs Barley malt

Everyday White
2 tsp yeast
1/4 cup warm water
1 cup milk
2 Tbs Butter or Margarine
1 tsp Salt
4 cups bread flour

Sourdough Rye
1 tsp yeast (only necessary if you want an extra fluffy bread)
1.5 cups sourdough starter
1 cup Rye flour
2 cups wheat flour
1 cup white bread flour
4 tsp Olive oil
4 tsp Caraway seeds

If you don’t have a bread machine:

Mix all the ingredients together – wet and yeast and let it stand while you mis the dry ingredients together.
Then mix it all together – You need to be able to touch this thing and it needs to keep together so if it’s too wet or too dry you can adjust with water or flour.

Flour your counter and hands (keep flour nearby in case it all gets sticky)
Knead the dough for 5-10 minutes

Set it in a warm spot – I put it in my micro – leaving the light on – my gram puts hers in the oven (the oven needs to be off) but turns on the light. Warmth helps it rise – usually 20 min to 30 min

Repeat the kneading.

Place it in a greased baking pan
Let it rise again for 20-30 min

Bake at 350 for 20 minutes or until golden.

Knitting Happened
I swear I didn’t spend my whole weekend messing with the new blog. I took much of Sunday off to work on my sweater. I’m about 2 inches from finishing the neck. Since it’s a raglan, that’s about 2 inches from finishing the sweater. I do still need to knit on button bands. I really like the band knit on afterwards as opposed to the ones knit on while working on the garment. I think they look better.

Please excuse the horrid photo. I was threatened by crazy dogs and screaming children. I’m lucky to get a photo at all.

*fingers crossed that the feeds are finally working

This entry was posted in Knitting, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to House warming party

  1. Bad HIppie says:

    That’s IT for white bread? Are you serious? No way – my bread making book and even Laurel’s Kitchen made it sound completely esoteric and complicated. Damn! We have a calamity day today (no school because of negative wind chills) and I’m not working, so I just may be making bread!

    Jeez…this is just like socks. They were all scary to knit until someone broke the directions down and showed me how easy it really is to do!

  2. Bad HIppie says:

    Wait a second…I don’t have a bread machine. Clue me in to the whole kneading and rising cycle if I’m doing this by hand!

  3. Joni says:

    I was just thinking last night about making bread again! I used to make it all the time, and then the grocery stores started carrying lots of “real” bread (no soy, no dairy even). Thanks for the inspiration–I am going to make some sort of bread to go with tonight’s dinner. :)

  4. Karen says:

    Yum. I love fresh bread! I haven’t made it in a long time.

    Love the new digs! I just emailed you a bottle of wine! ;)

  5. anj says:

    hey.. nice new digs.

    love the header.. YUMMY color.

    And the bead. UGH. I love your bread. You make the bestest. GINGER and RASIN?? I want to go home this minute and bake.

  6. Rebekah says:

    Welcome to your new home, it smells lovely. Bread is definitely inviting. I’m hoping my hubby makes bread today to go with our stew tonight.

  7. Tanya says:

    Love your new home. And thanks for the Ginger raisin recipe. I’ve been on a bread machine bread binge these days too. I made an awesome French bread in the machine last week. Where did you find barley malt? I’m not sure I’ve seen that on the grocery store shelves. Maybe my local health food store?

    Love how the sweater is looking. You must be a fast knitter. Or I’m really slow.

    Tanya

  8. Katie says:

    Oh…fresh bread! That sounds amazingly good! Now I’m gonna have to bake some myself!

    The sweater looks great, too, what fun colors!

  9. Adrian says:

    Bread!

    My thing to bake lately has been cupcakes. Your baking is so much better for you!

    This didn’t get picked up by Bloglines, for me, anyway, but that doesn’t mean squat. My posts don’t get picked up half the time. Bloglines is naughty.

  10. Adrian says:

    Also, check the title of the page. Hee!

  11. susan says:

    I really love the new site, Amy.
    The knitted fabric in your banner looks vaguely familiar. I think I know that colorway.

  12. LaBean says:

    MMM bread. Great. I’m trying to cut down. I did manage to make my own pizza the other day. It was fun, and… good upper arm exercise too! It tasted great.. the one half of it that didn’t get burnt(long story). But at least I know I can do it!

    Sweater’s coming along nicely!!

  13. Arleta says:

    Oh yum! MIL just gave us a bread maker, I should try it out. Thanks for the recipes.
    The sweater looks cute!

Leave a Reply

