Making travel palettes

A little bit ago I posted about palettes: HERE. Within that post I linked to a tutorial on how to make a custom palette out of an Altoids tin. Brilliant little idea. I knew I had to do it. I have tins laying around. Being a packrat has to be good for something right?
altoidtins

I pulled out my little tin that held Altoids gum and I made a little 12 hole palette similar to how they did in the tutorial. I was running out of the little bit of clay I had so I don’t think I gave it great partitions. It will suffice though. I thought I could do better and with a smaller little tin…. I pulled out the tiny old Altoids tin with a sliding top. I laid in the clay about 2/3rds full. Flat. Then using the end of one of my pens, I made little indentations. It’s tiny. It will only hold 8 colors but sometimes that’s all a gal needs. Especially if you know how to mix.

altoidtins-full

So what did I put in them that made me think they’re going to suit my needs?

altoidtins-full-sketch
Sour Cherry Tin:
top row: Cadmuium Yellow Deep, Yellow Ochre, Sepia, Cerulean, Prussia Blue, Cadmium Oxide Green
bottom row: Cadmium Orange, Alizarine Crimson, Mauve, Burnt Sienna, Ivory Black, Burnt Umber
Tiny Altoid Tin:
top row: Sap Green, Cerulean, Ivory Black, Burnt Umber
bottom row: Mauve, Alizarine Crimson, Cadmium Yellow, Yellow Ochre

Maybe in another post I’ll talk about the colors that I absolutely HAVE to have, the colors that are important to me, and then the colors that I fill in around it when I have room. For now, I hope you have found inspiration to make a tiny little take along kit for yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Making travel palettes

  1. Manise says:

    Very cool idea! These posts make me smile.

Leave a Reply

