Holiday Recipes

If you follow me on Pinterest then you might notice that I actually pin a fair amount of stuff and that a lot of that is food. I made a specific board for Holiday Cooking

I’ve already made a few things from this board so let me run down my recommendations.

SWEET:
choc-gingerbread
Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies. I don’t need to say more do I? I follow the recipe on this one. No subs. It’s just a darn good cookie. And hilarious when you decorate them as dead ginger people or something more explicit

Let’s not forget shortbread cookies. There are a ton of fabulous recipes out there – King Arthur has one and then there are Pinwheels that I always make as a variation of shortbread cookies. I just make my shortbread dough and I flavor parts of it. Maybe you can just make plain shortbread and dip it in chocolate.

I am going all traditional here with this last cookie. Old Fashioned Sour Cream Sugar Cookie. We like to make these and have a little decorating party:
cookie-elves

SAVORY:
For an upscale looking and just plain yummy cheese appetizer, try the Baked Brie with Balsamic Rosemary Cranberry Sauce – I made a couple of modifications. I don’t have anything particularly against buying canned bread like what’s called for here but I made a pie crust and it was lovely and crumbly. I also used Maple sugar in the cranberries instead of regular sugar. Really, it’s the rosemary that makes this one a total hit.

Here’s a dish that seems like it’s only tailgater fair but it’s really good. Really good. Jalapeno Popper Dip. The thing that makes it even better is a jar of homemade Cowboy Candy in it, instead of the plain jalapenos.

We made Butternut Squash Gnocchi with Browned butter and sage for one of the Thanksgiving meals we went to. I’ve made this a bunch of times. We couldn’t find sage in the stores so I caramelized and crisped up some onions in the browned butter and threw on some chevre. It was still mighty good.

I usually make egg rolls for Christmas Eve dinner
78 spring rolls ready to fry
I’m thinking of mixing it up making these gorgeous Pierogi with Mushrooms I might not go out of my way to find the special mushrooms and I might change up the cheese to the one that my gram has always used for her pierogi. Of course, I might have to make both pierogi and egg rolls for the holidays so I don’t get lynched.

I’m sure there are many more recipes that I have forgotten to mention.
As I keep cooking for the season and parties that pop up, I will make sure to share the really good ones.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holiday Recipes

  1. Laurie says:

    HAHAHA! the chocolate sprinkles are the perfect finishing touch. TOUCH? Did I say that? Nononono.

Leave a Reply

