PieCakin

You’ve heard of the Turducken (chicken and duck inside of a turkey). Well, this is the dessert version. Pie inside of a cake….
piecakin
I didn’t bring my camera to dinner so this shot is just a simple phone pic. It doesn’t even come close to showing you how good this thing is.

There is the Cherpumple which may be the most notable. It’s got cherry, pumpkin, and apple pies amidst spice, yellow, and white cakes. I couldn’t imagine doing a 3 layer masterpiece. One was going to challenge the folks I was feeding so it was decided that I would make a cherry pie inside of a chocolate cake. I’m going to post about how I did it and then I’m going to tell you how I’ll do it the next time because it will be different.

Before I even got started, I needed new pans. All of my cake and pie pans matched in size and really, you want enough cake around the edges so the pie doesn’t stick out. I bought one 7 inch pie tin and one 10 inch cake pan that was extra deep.
piecakein-pans

The first thing to do is to make the pie. I did not photograph the pie because that couldn’t have been described as a masterpiece. More like a master mess. I used a new recipe for the crust and it was a disaster. I can make a mean cake but I am a pie failure. Luckily this pie was going to be encased in cake and no one would be the wiser. Lets just pretend it was a gorgeous cherry pie…. the hint I have for the pie to get it out of the pan easier is to use strips of overlapping parchment paper. Strips because, well, you take a large piece and try to make it fit in there good. I would also suggest that you use a good crust that will hold it all together well. Don’t attempt a new one. make one you’re comfortable and familiar with.

Don’t remove the pie til you’re ready to throw it into the cake. Also you will also want to chill the pie well so it solidifies and makes it easier to remove and will hold together better. Make the batter the for the cake when your pie is all ready. Add about one half to two thirds of your batter to the cake pan (I’ll tell you about my cake in a moment). Put your pie in and make sure it sits in a little bit so that the batter is coming up the sides. Pour the rest of the batter in. Don’t plop it right onto your pie. I did and the pie broke up some. I thought at that point it would be a disaster but it held together better than I thought it did. Then bake it, frost, and eat.

piecakein-makin

RECIPES:

Black Magic Cake
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups white sugar
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup strong brewed coffee
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
I got this free on the net some time ago. It’s my standard chocolate cake these days. Bake it at 350 in a preheated oven. My method is to cream all the wet ingredients together and in another bowl sift or at least stir all the dry ingredients together. Add the dry to the wet but don’t over mix. Just mix until it’s all incorporated.

Vanilla Buttercream
This one is more like my standard recipe – If you’ve read my recipes in the past, you know I’m a throw it in and give it a pinch kind of gal. I start with 2 stick of salted butter, softened to room temp. I start whipping that with my stand mixer (I didn’t know what my frosting was lacking til I got my Kitchenaid). I add in 2 Tbs of milk, 1/2 teaspoon of meringue powder, 1 heaping teaspoon of vanilla extract (also good here is almond extract). And then about 2/3 of a bag of powdered sugar. I know, for those that aren’t in the US or get powdered sugar in different containers are stymied but this is how I do it. If I remember, I’ll measure it for you guys one of these times.

Ganache
This is just a standard ganache.
1 cup of heavy cream – bring to a boil remove from the stove and immediately pour of a bowl of good chocolate chopped (9 ounces). Dark bittersweet chocolate is our favorite. Whisk until it’s smooth. Let it cool for 15-20 minutes and then spread over the cake pouring in to the center and helping to go over the sides evenly.
piecakin-spreadganache

So what would I do differently?
I wouldn’t set the pie in the batter and bake it all. I would do it all separately. How? I would pour 2/3 of the batter into cake pan, then I would take my empty pie tin (the same one I’m going to use for the pie) and push that into the batter to make a divot for the pie. Fill the tin with pie beads/weights to keep it weighed down. Bake. Bake one flat cake with the remaining batter for the top and one pie. Why all separate? Partially because it would give a chance to add more frosting or jam into the middle of the cake. Partially because I think it would go together better.

I’m not sure on this alternate method of cooking and will probably need to make one in this manner. There is talk of a pumpkin pie and spice cake. This might have to happen for Thanksgiving…. or I’ll have to find an excuse to make one sooner, I’m sure. If you make one in either manner, please let me know how it turns out. Piecakin is an interesting concept and a pretty decent dessert.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PieCakin

  1. Jay says:

    Weird, your version has this long list of stuff, but the Cherpumple had a short list of box mixes and a couple of frozen pies….why is yours so difficult?!

    Seriously…doesn’t anyone actually cook any more? If it’s coming from a box or the frozen section of the grocery store then don’t bother!

  2. beth says:

    Can I have mine with no frosting?
    Also, who is this Jay person?

  3. Jay says:

    No.
    And none of your business.

  4. Mara says:

    I’m trying this recipe as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

