All Natural

It all started when the hollyhocks bloomed.
hollyhocks71207
I didn’t want to miss it this year. I always forget to pluck them until it’s too late and then I don’t have anything to dye with. Well, I got the Boogie Girl out there plucking and she got me this:
hollyhockpetals

And then I figured while I had the alum out, I should just soak a ton of fiber and go on a natural dyeing spree.

Left to right: Shetland dyed with Cochineal, Merino/Cashmere dyed with Cochineal and hollyhock, Shetland Handspun dyed with Hollyhock, Merino/Cashmere dyed with hollyhock:
nat_coch.hol
I didn’t have enough petals to get a good red, and I over heated the batch. My crock pot is a little over enthusiastic. The next time I’m waiting until I have a ton of blossoms and I’ll be sure to put in a different pot to heat. Although I do like the sagey green quite a bit.

This is Merino Cashmere with Brazilwood and Osage Orange Sawdust.
sawdustroving

This is Shetland with Cutch and Osage Orange Sawdust.
nat_cutch.osage

Here is Merino Bamboo with Cutch and Merino Cashmere with Brazilwood.
nat_cutch.bwood

I have spun the singles fo the Merino Cashmere dyed with the Brazilwood. It’s the lighter pinky color and I really like how it works up. Now I have this vision of dyeing a ton of 2 ounce samples of Merino Cashmere and making Fair Isle mittens and things. I now have a large list of colors I want to dye. I looked at mitten patterns last night and I’m ready to start. If only my yarn was as ready as I am. Then again, it’s not like I have a lot of spare time

This is my last post for the week. Boogie Nana started her craft shows this week (go visit her at the Clam festival in Yarmouth Maine) and I’ll be doing a lot of the club work by myself. The rest of the week my computer time will be mostly work. I’ll be back on Monday.

*edit* I swore that I posted it this morning only to realize that I never hit the Publish button. The girls have been jabbing at me every waking minute. If you read something that seems like jibberish – well, now you know my excuse.

This entry was posted in spinning, Spunky Eclectic. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to All Natural

  1. Tonia says:

    Great job on the natural dyeing. Isn’t it neat to see what comes out when you use things for the yard.

  2. marta says:

    The dyeing is beautiful! I’m kinda chicken to do natural dyeing…they don’t call them “mordants” for nothing. I went to a wonderful natural dye weekend at Carol Lee’s one year – I’ll never forget it. She’s true genius.

    Yummy! A Clam festival – have some for me! And, oysters and lobster, if you can get it! I love it all and it’s really, *really* hard to get anything decent here, smack-dab in land-locked Colorado.

  3. Beth S. says:

    LOVE the naturally-dyed rovings! :-) I see you’ve been using Shetland a lot… that would make a wonderful club fiber, hint hint. ;-)

    Have fun at the clam-fest! Damn, that sounds fun (and tasty.)

  4. DebbieB says:

    The cutch is my favorite. Yum.

  5. Sulafaye says:

    Way cool! Does the level to which you rock know no bounds??? Thanks for sharing, I’m off to harvest some deep purple hollyhocks!

  6. Annalea says:

    Oh, what fun . . . dyeing with natural dyes is so attractive to me. It’s on my list of things to learn when my kids are a little older. And, totally, no worries about jibberish . . . it’s understood. ;o)

  7. Amy O' says:

    Beautiful! Maybe when we move out to the country I’ll start dying too…

  8. Tanya says:

    Stunning. Absolutely stunning. I hope to do some natural dyeing next summer with some of my own flowers. Can’t wait!

  9. Joni says:

    I hope Boogie Nana has a very successful show season! And good luck to you, with all the extra club work. :) Jabbering kids…Mine are busy playing with eachother and making eachother cry this morning to be jabbering at me. I’m not sure which I prefer.

  10. Lucia says:

    They’re beautiful! What does Boogie Nana sell?

  11. Haddy says:

    Lovely. You’re my hero. When I grow up I wanna make stuff like that!

  12. Gina House says:

    HOLY COW! Those are fantastic! Oh, so soft and pinky looking! Gimme Gimme!

  13. amysbabies says:

    I love the colors you got with the natural dyes! Good luck with all the extra work :D

  14. Sheila says:

    I’ve been looking at Hollyhocks the last few weeks just wishing I had the sense to plant some last year. Now, you have inspired me. The colors in your fibers and yarns are just yummy.

  15. Amanda says:

    Wow – that is SO beautiful! Makes me really want to get natural dyeing! I have a starter kit, but it’s sitting unused right now – for some reason I’m more intimidated by the natural dyeing stuff than by the acid dyes! I can’t wait to move out of our little rowhome into a new house (hopefully by spring!) so I can plant what I’d need to harvest my own stuff!

  16. I love the natural dying, it’s so gorgeous

  17. Arleta says:

    Pretty! Those turned out so great!

  18. Natural Dyeing! Lovely color! Next year, i will planning to plant hollyhocks! So i caound dye my yarn!

    Anyway…I just start my Knitting VIDEO CAST come and see what you think!
    Also comment me what do you think my cast!

    Thanks!

  19. Rebekah says:

    That is so cool! Especially since holly hocks are one of my favorite flowers.

  20. Wendy says:

    Yay! I love the pretty colors you got!

Leave a Reply

